|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Apparel » Reviews » American Eagle Outfitters » User review

An American clothing retailer

< read all 6 reviews

A more conservative Abercrombie & Fitch?

  • Aug 3, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
AMERICAN EAGLE

PROS-

- Great fit for teenagers through young adults
- Preppy style all year round
- Clothes go on sale quickly
- Helpful staff
- Clean atmosphere
- Not too flashy
- Easy to use website, fast deliveries

CONS
- Stuff that says "American Eagle" written on it
- Copies clothing design from Hollister and Abercrombie & Fitch
- Everyone wears it
- Small sizes run out quickly
- Not reccommended for people over 25
- Polos in particular are of low quality.

Through my years of shopping at American Eagle, I have noticed a positive trend in its clothing line. I see less of the obnoxious "American Eagle", "AE", or eagle symbol on clothing, and more styles that remind me of J Crew. I like the more conservative, classy direction they are going in.

If you see something at American Eagle that you like but you don't think it's worth that amount, wait 2 weeks for it to go on clearance. I've done this numerous times and have seldom paid full price for something at this store.

TIP: Beware of the popular clothing items from this store because you will run into several people wearing the exact same thing. Lean more towards styles that you know you can make your own.

Overall, I believe American Eagle can provide many nice items to add to your wardrobe if you look hard enough. 
ae

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
August 03, 2009
Way to break down American Eagle Outfitters for us!  With some of the sayings that Abercrombie & Fitch print on their t-shirts, I can see how AE could be pegged as the more conservative version of them.  And thanks for the tip! :)
 
August 03, 2009
That is a great tip, because there is almost nothing worse that running into someone wearing the same outfit! And I agree on the visible branding, it ruins the clothing. I feel this way about Victoria Secret and their pj's and casual wear.
 
1
More American Eagle Outfitters reviews
review by . February 19, 2010
College Fashionistas Give American Eagle Outfitters an A+ for Affordable Hipster Chic
When you think of American Eagle Outfitters, you might remember the frumpy Birkenstock clogs, ill fitting graphic tees, and flare jeans of their past, but in recent seasons, AEO has definitely stepped it up a few notches! Their new collection offers glammed-up bedazzled ponchos, vintage distressed chambray jackets, boy-fit jeans, and tribal gladiators that you will just die for! Walking into the NEW American Eagle is like taking a trip into the vintage store of your dreams, except with WAY better …
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
Their clothing has really matured recently which makes it more appealing to 20-somethings!
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
American Eagle has the best-fitting shorts by far. And sooo reasonably priced.
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
I love American Eagle for their classic pieces. They are always great quality and fit so well!
review by . December 31, 2008
I am not a fancy person. I don't even try, because every time I try dressing out of my self-made cotton box, the result is invariably costumey or kid-playing-dress-up. Then there's the fidgeting and tugging to make sure things lay flat and pleats are straight, or my absolute favorite: "sitting pretty" so you don't wrinkle. American Eagle Outfitters is a sanctuary in cotton blend.   Definitely skewed toward beachy casual, AE clothes are simple, affordable, well-constructed, and almost never …
About the reviewer

Ranked #750
Member Since: Apr 3, 2009
Last Login: Aug 3, 2009 04:55 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
robins
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by robins
About this product

Wiki

American Eagle Outfitter is an American clothing and accessory retailer based in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. It was founded in 1977 by Mark and Jerry Silverman as a subsidiary of Retail Ventures, Inc.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this product
Club Monaco

Favorite Popular Clothing Brands

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists