|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Digital Cameras » Reviews » Canon PowerShot SD750 / IXUS 75 Digital Camera » User review

Professional Photos from an Amateur's Camera

  • Dec 9, 2008
Rating:
+5
The functions of the Canon SD750 seem to be endless.  Just when I think that I know everything that there is to know about this camera, I discover something new.  The jist of it is that the SD750 has three easy-to-set shooting modes: video, manual still, and automatic still, and within each of those three modes comes their own set of settings and modes as well.  For instance, when set to shoot videos, one can choose the size of the video as well as the frame rate.  When shooting stills manually, one can choose to use handy functions such as digital macro or stitch-assist, and when set to automatic, one can take advantage of the ready-to-use settings, such as portrait, night, or fireworks mode.  It should also be noted that the size and quality of the pictures can be adjusted to fit anyone's photographic needs.

The SD750 may sound complicated with all its functions and settings, but when set to automatic, it's a breeze to use for even the most amateur of digital photographers.  When set to automatic, this camera takes great pictures, and all those other functions?  Well, they're just the icing on the cake!  Not to sound cliche, but the Canon SD750 is so easy to use, that my dear Grandma could use it, and I really do mean that.  For the more adventurous and/or experienced photographers who want to take advantage of all those functions and settings, well, you're just a few clicks away from it and it'll become second-nature to you in no time!

Enough about this camera's functions though, let's talk physical design.  The SD750 is super-sleek and ultra-compact, not to mention light weight, so it's no hassle carrying around.  In fact, this camera literally goes everywhere I go; I'm never without it.  It's so compact that it fits in my tiny Louis Vuitton pochette with plenty of room to spare, I kid you not.  Plus, relative to many other digital cameras out there, the SD750 is definitely a looker.  Sporting a silver matte finish on the front, a large LCD screen on the back, with a body that's smooth with no significant bumps, you really can't complain.

If you're in the market for a new digital camera for yourself or a technologically-illiterate friend or relative, the SD750 is definitely the camera to get.  Full of functions, yet easy to use, and, not to mention, good looking, this camera is sure to please any photographer with its professional-like, high quality photos.  Trust me, you wouldn't regret getting it.
Canon SD750

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
42
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
February 14, 2010
I gave this camera as a gift to a very good friend of mine and once I saw just how good it was, I had to buy one for myself. The resolution was just so full of clarity. Nice work, Lady D.
 
November 25, 2009
I was thinking about getting my Mom a new camera next year for her birthday... this sounds ideal. I gave her an SLR two years ago and it's never been used thanks to being too complicated and too large to fit in any reasonably-sized handbag!
 
October 07, 2009
I have this camera too! As a matter of fact, over dinner tonight, my friends and I were just talking about what great pictures my camera takes. Thanks for inspiring another Lunch review to add to my list, Devora! Great review!
October 07, 2009
Awesome!  My friends love my camera, too, bummer that it's out of production, though, because they all want one.  I actually used this camera to take pictures in my French Laundry review and people are usually impressed that they're not taken with a clunky, expensive dSLR.  Can't wait to see your pictures in your reviews, lady! :)
 
July 19, 2009
Ummm...I just lost this camera and I loved it and now I have to read about how great it is from you? Thanks! =) This is a really great camera and it's compact and tough. I love(d) it as my pocket friendly camera when my big 'ole DSLR would just get in the way. Oh yeah, the review is very good too. Nice work!
July 20, 2009
Thanks, Jeff! :)  I'm sorry that you lost your camera!  I know two people who have somehow lost this camera, too, and they're heartbroken because it appears to be discontinued!  I got my parents the similar, and newer SD1100 about a year ago.  It's working great for them, but I know that it's no SD750.  @taniagail loves the SD780 though.  Seems like an updated version of the SD750!

Yes, I love these miniature Canon cameras because they fit right into my purse!  I love my SLR, but I absolutely hate lugging it around!

July 20, 2009
I need to do something. Vegas looms at the end of the week and I simply can't lug the DSLR (Canon 40D) around.
July 20, 2009
Vegas?   Nice!  I would Newegg it.  They always have the best deals on electronics and ship really fast.  It even got a shout out from @dtroung in his guide to buying consumer electronics online.

By the way, I'm jealous of your Canon 40D!

August 24, 2009
Finally had to replace this baby with the SD780 this weekend. Had an event that I wanted pictures of and didn't wanna lug the 40D. Review of 780 coming up after a little more use...stay tuned!
August 24, 2009
I just saw your micro review of that camera! 12MP? That's intense! Looking forward to seeing the pics :)
 
1
More Canon PowerShot SD750 / IXUS 7... reviews
Quick Tip by . March 14, 2010
My Canon and I have been together for 3+ years and we're still going strong!
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
posted in Ubergizmo
Had this camera for 2 years now & still think it's amazing! Used it to take all the pics in this review: http://lunch.com/t/yms
review by . February 27, 2009
This may come as a bit of a shock, but I've owned THREE of these cameras.  The first one was stolen out of my luggage after a business trip flight.  The second one was left in a rental car after a business trip.  The third one... well, it's been dropped a bunch of times but still works just fine.    Takes great photos, easy to use, and loaded with features that are simple enough for the casual user to figure out.    The LCD screen is big, bright …
review by . April 01, 2008
I bought this camera as a gift for someone else, but I use it a lot and I love it! The pictures always come out great - clear even though I have shaky hands - and it has a lot of features that I actually use.  My favorite is the one that allows me to take 5 quick pictures at once -- it's made for a lot of hilarious picture sets.
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this product

Wiki

Canon's iconic ELPH design achieves a stunning new evolution with the PowerShot SD750 Digital ELPH. Utterly simple edge lines and cut surfaces gleam subtly with high-grade finishes; now offered in a choice of silver or black and silver. Of course, style means little without substance, and here the SD750 Digital ELPH more than delivers. 7.1 megapixels and DIGIC III create magnificent images, while exciting advanced technologies include Face Detection, Red-eye Correction, and time lapse movies. Always sized to go, the SD750 Digital ELPH is now extra-durable, with a tough scratch-resistant coating on its anti-reflective, brilliantly colorful 3.0-inch LCD screen.
view wiki

Details

Resolution: 7.4 Megapixel
Camera Type: Compact
Memory Type: Multimedia Card • SD Card • SDHC Card
LCD Panel Size: 3 in.
Interface Type: Mini-USB
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists