|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Comics

Magazines with a text and graphic panel format, covering many genres, from children to adult-related themes.

< read all 8 reviews

A Quick Tip by woopak_the_thrill

  • Oct 2, 2013
I have to say, once you really get into it, it is a hard habit to break....yeah, even harder than quitting smoking.

Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
15
Post a Comment
October 28, 2013
One of the best habits I have.
 
October 08, 2013
Oh, God, no kidding.
 
October 07, 2013
Good illustrations!
 
October 03, 2013
I may be sounding old, but I just can't get into the current comics. I pick them up now and then and try to read them but I find them nowhere as interesting as what was put out 1970 - 1990. I think it is the reliance more on the visual. Older comics had more dialogue and narrative (and better storylines?).
October 03, 2013
in a way I do agree with you...the art just isn't the same. It is fancier and yet it feels a little shallow. The stories tend to lean towards development of sales and marketing, and what could be 1 issue ends up becoming two. This is why I do take a hiatus from them here and there.
October 08, 2013
I think it depends on what you're reading. Granted, older stuff tended to be, yes, talkier; but that narrative style didn't always work with the character or the property. I'd have to say that, sure, the stuff from the late 70's through the late 80's was pretty stellar stuff; but I'm the first to say that there's an awful lot of overrated tripe there as well. (I say this as someone who has been actively reading comics since 1970.) I stopped reading regularly in the mid-90's, mostly because I reached a point after about 25 years (or so) that everything seemed to be blending together in terms of look, styles, and storytelling. I still read pretty heavily, though -- a few publishers send me stuff for free, and I pick up a few titles here and there.
 
1
More Comic Books reviews
Quick Tip by . August 30, 2010
Comics are great. Silly stories, escapist fantasy and lots of variety.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
Comics are great, but there are too many boring or bad ones out there hiding the good ones. Search and dig deep through them before you write off this medium of story telling.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
I will admit that I am a bit of a comic book nerd. The thought and the color, everything has been done in such a way to keep you coming back. Sometimes you can still catch me reading the latest on Batman.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
I love comic books! I don't collect them, but I enjoy reading them whenever I do get my hands on some.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
There is a place for comics. They are a bit different than the Archie and Super man of old. I loved them as a kid, but have out grown them now.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Yah, comic books are pretty neat.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
A graphic upon which medium?? Can my sandwich be a 'comics'? Is the air a 'comics'? Is our government comprised of nothing but 'comics'? Ha-ha. Throw me on the cyber watchdog list for that one!
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #1
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this product

Wiki

A comic book (often shortened to simply comic and sometimes called a funny book, comic paper or comic magazine) is a magazine made up of narrative artwork, virtually always accompanied by dialog (usually in word balloons, emblematic of the comic book artform) and often including brief descriptive prose. The first comic book appeared in the United States of America in 1934, reprinting the earlier newspaper comic strips, which established many of the story-telling devices used in comics today. The term "comic book" arose because the first comic books reprinted humor comic strips, but despite their name, comic books do not necessarily operate in humorous mode; most modern comic books tell stories in a variety of genres. The Japanese and European comic book markets demonstrate this clearly. In the United States the super-hero genre dominates the market, even though other genres also exist.

Comics (from the Greek κωμικόςkōmikos "of or pertaining to comedy" from κῶμος - kōmos "revel, komos",[1] via the Latin cōmicus) is a graphic medium in which images are utilized in order to convey a sequential narrative; the term, derived from massive early use to convey comic themes, came to be applied to all uses of this medium including those which are far from comic. It is the sequential nature of the pictures, and the ...

view wiki

Details

Category: Comic Books

Polls with this product
Comic Books Ultimate X Men Vol. 2 Return To Weapon X Trade Paperback

"Rate these Top Comic Books"

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists