|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Pets » Reviews » FURminator deShedding Tool » User review

This razor like dog brush actually works!

  • Nov 19, 2009
Rating:
+4
I recently got a new dog and was worried about her shedding in the house.  A sales person at a local pet store recommended Furminator as a substitute for a brush.  I was a little skeptical about its effectiveness, but after seeing such high ratings and great reviews about it, I thought I would try it.  This goes normally for $49 (for medium), but I found a $25 deal at drugstores.com.

When you "brush" the dog with this tool, it grabs lots of hair, supposedly all the inner loose hair, without grabbing the outer coat.  Since it is not a "brush", as you brush your dog, you will just see crumps of hair on the floor.  It looks almost as if you are shaving the dog.

When I first tried this, I still saw hair on our floor.  Not knowing how much dogs normally shed, I thought this didn't live up to the hype.  And then two weeks later after giving my dog a bath (my dog was spayed, so I had to wait 2 weeks for the bath), I noticed a ton of loose hair on her.  I could literally see loose hair falling as I pet her.  In horror, I grabbed the Furminator and brushed her for 10 minutes or so and collected a tennis ball size of hair.  I still saw hair on the floor after that, but there was no visible loose hair on her, and definitely much less hair on the floor.

Con is that my dog is not too crazy about my using this tool on her.  I really need to hold her down or give her a bone to brush her down.  Even with a bone, after 5-10 minutes, she is done.  She is much better with regular brush, so I'm not sure if this tool feels a little uncomfortable for her.

Now I need to find a vacuum cleaner that works well on hardwood floor and pet hair.  :-)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
22
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
22
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
February 18, 2012
Pets shed a lot of hair and a tool like this should help keep both the pet and the house cleaner.
 
September 07, 2010
Once we got over the initial purchase (it was about $50 back then), we discovered it is, by far, the best dog (and cat) brush on the market. Neither our dog nor our cat mind being brushed with it, but it has to be done outside - the amount of hair and hair "run off" is nothing short of amazing.
 
November 20, 2009
Nice review. Congrats on the new K9!! I have been using this for years along with a Shedding Blade. I purchased the large about five years ago when it first hit the market in our area, think it ran about $59.99 or so. Pretty good tool, comparable to a shedding blade. I have long hair and short hair dogs and it works on both. I am not a big fan of over bathing dogs, so I use the shedding tools regularly to clean their coat and remove the excess fur. I like the product very much, my only problem with shedding tools is that you can use them for two hours and fur will keep on coming off the dogs. It's like a big bowl of oatmeal, feels like you never make a dent in it now matter how many spoonfuls you eat. Originally my Pit hated the brush and not that he needed it much, but now he loves it acts like he is getting a massage. If you are going to get a vacuum for carpet/hardwood floors that gets pet hair gotta get a Dyson. Good review take care.
 
November 20, 2009
I don't have a dog, but I want to buy this product because I like the name so much. I mean, the FURminator deShedding tool? That's gold.
 
November 19, 2009
I don't have a dog, but I have a few friends who do who could use this FURminator... I never leave their houses without fur all over my clothes! Thanks for sharing :)
 
November 19, 2009
I'm definitely willing to give this a try. It only takes a week and we have hair-balls rolling around the floor like tumbleweeds from an old Western movie.
November 20, 2009
LOL. It's only $10.99 at Amazon!
November 20, 2009
Yeah that makes me sick payed over $60 w/tax for mine years ago.
 
1
About the reviewer
Jennifer ()
Ranked #114
On my spare time, I love to see and experience new things; hence traveling and eating are one of my favorite things to do. I like abstract art (love Mark Rothko's works), classical music, interior design, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jyaanga
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this product

Wiki

For th medium sized FURminator:
  • Innovative grooming tool for long- and short-haired dogs and cats
  • 1-2/3-inch stainless-steel edge quickly and easily removes loose undercoat hair
  • Decreases shedding up to 90 percent for about 4 to 6 weeks
  • Leaves a shiny and healthy topcoat; comfortable, ergonomic grip handle
  • Measures 6 by 1 by 2-2/3 inches

view wiki

Details

Brand: FURminator
Category: Home & Garden

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists