|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Home » Reviews » Simply Vera by Vera Wang Bath Towel and Washcloth » User review

Simply Vera by Vera Wang Bath Towel and Washcloth

Bamboo-looped fabric in the towel and washcloth provides incredible absorbency and durability.

< read all 2 reviews

Great towels, but they HATE benzoyl peroxide!

  • Nov 30, 2011
  • by
Rating:
+4
I loved these towels when I bought them. Very soft, plush and large. I bought 8 sets on Black Friday. Washed them on warm before using them. Then I went to use one of the sage washcloths this morning. I but a dime-sized amount of facial cleanser on the washcloth and washed my face. Within seconds I noticed the sage color had turned to a tannish color. I thought maybe there was make up on it, so I rinsed it thouroughly and hung it to dry. When I returned, it was even worse. The tan color had turned to an ugly shade of orange.

After looking at the ingredients on the facial cleanser, I noticed it contained benzoyl peroxide, which bleached the color right out of my washcloth..ughh!  Oddly, that has never happened with any of my "cheap" washcloths, maybe because they've been washed hundreds of times and they have nothing left to give?!  I considered returning all 8 sets of towels, but I really love the plushness of these towels..  I've decided to return 4 of the washcloths and exchange the for white ones that I CAN bleach.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
November 30, 2011
Oh, that's terrible! Was it just the facial cleanser that did that, or does water do that, too? Maybe you can keep a larger bath towel just for showering if you really like it that much... Thanks for sharing this. I'll keep that in mind the next time I'm at Kohl's!
November 30, 2011
It seems to be just the cleanser. I'm considering returning all of the wash cloths and getting white ones to replace them. I'm not sure if that would be any better or if the cleanser would turn them yellow or something. I really love the towels. It kills me to have to find new ones. How do I know the next brand won't do the same thing?
November 30, 2011
Hopefully, it's just these ones! I've never experienced or heard of such an issue with towels before. Given your experience though, you probably wouldn't have a problem returning them. Did you check to see if there were any ingredients in your face wash that could be causing this?
November 30, 2011
It has benzoyl peroxide in it. But my old cheap towels hold their color just fine when I use it.
November 30, 2011
Ahhhh yeah, the benzoyl peroxide will do it. Now that I think about it, I do recall a friend telling me that her use of the Proactiv skin care system caused stains in her towel. She Googled it and said that that was the culprit. I don't know what brand of towel she used though!
 
1
More Simply Vera by Vera Wang Bath ... reviews
review by . April 12, 2009
I recently hit a great sale at Kohl's department store.  Part of my "loot" was one bath towel and one washcloth from the Simply Vera line by designer Vera Wang.  The impression I got from the store display was that these towels were somehow more "green" than others, though I can't remember what gave me that impression and the Kohls.com website doesn't help much in that respect either.    The color I bought is a rich rust color called Coral, which I think would …
About the reviewer

Ranked #1839
Member Since: Nov 30, 2011
Last Login: Dec 2, 2011 02:30 PM UTC
About this product

Wiki

  • Bamboo-looped fabric provides incredible absorbency and durability.
  • Decorative offers modern-day, classic style.
  • Cotton construction feels sumptuously soft against your skin.
  • Details:
    • Cotton/
    • Machine wash
  • Pamper yourself with these spa-quality bath towels available in a range of solid shades to match your decorating needs.
  • Available at Kohl's department stores or Kohls.com
view wiki

Details

Brand: Simply Vera by Vera Wang
Category: Home and Bath

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists