|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Home » Reviews » Simply Vera by Vera Wang Bath Towel and Washcloth » User review

Simply Vera by Vera Wang Bath Towel and Washcloth

Bamboo-looped fabric in the towel and washcloth provides incredible absorbency and durability.

< read all 2 reviews

Nice-quality towel but very heavy!

  • Apr 12, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
I recently hit a great sale at Kohl's department store.  Part of my "loot" was one bath towel and one washcloth from the Simply Vera line by designer Vera Wang.  The impression I got from the store display was that these towels were somehow more "green" than others, though I can't remember what gave me that impression and the Kohls.com website doesn't help much in that respect either.

The color I bought is a rich rust color called Coral, which I think would more accurately be called Terra Cotta.  The bath towel is large--about 60" long and about 26-28" wide.  I would consider it a bath sheet by my definition, but this Simply Vera line also includes a bath sheet which measures an asounding 33X68"!  The washcloth is average size.

The towel is very heavy--almost 2 pounds completely dry--but is very soft, thick and absorbent.  They say it is spa quality and it does give that luxurious feel.  I have to say, though, that by the time I finished drying off from my shower, I was quite ready to put the towel on the towel rack because, now that it was wet, it was even heavier!

After the first washing, I noticed some minor pilling on the towel but, given the deep rich color, it may have just picked up some lint from lighter towels that were in the same load.

According to the Kohls website, prices of this line range from $12-36.  However, as of this writing (Easter Sunday), they are having a "buy 1 and get 1 for $1" sale.

You can find them here:
http://www.kohls.com/kohlsStore/bedandbath/b...ra+Wang+Bath+Towels.jsp

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
March 28, 2010
I don't get to Kohls much anymore because I moved from the DC area to a small town 2 years ago when I retired and there isn't a Kohls here; but a friend and I went to the "big city" yesterday specifically to shop at Kohls. They were having a big sale. I'd had it in the back of my mind to get another of the Vera Wang towels...so I went to see if they were on sale, and they were. I got a beautiful steel blue towel and washcloth. I would swear that the new one is softer than this one that I reviewed a while back. Still nice & heavy, though.
 
March 07, 2010
Thanks for the response. Obesity is causing larger towels.... certainly makes sense!
 
November 11, 2009
I love large towels and so do my mom. Did you ever find out why the Vera Wang brand was "green"?
 
November 05, 2009
Great review! Never thought I would be interested in towels :-)
 
November 01, 2009
I found this review of towels and needed to ask: why are bath towels longer and wider than they used to be? Even lowly Walmart has enormous bath towels which fill up my washing machine (30x56). I certainly want some of these lovely, thick Vera Wang towels for guests, but for everyday use I want some smaller ones. Is there some economic reason that anyone can think of to have increased the size of basic bath towels?
March 07, 2010
Americans are more obese than ever. Bigger people = bigger towels. :) When I was at my highest weight, an old standard size bath towel wouldn't wrap around me, so I started to invest in the larger size. Now that's all I buy cuz I've just gotten used to them. They sure do fill up the washer though, don't they?
 
October 21, 2009
I love, love, love this review. I'm such a sucker for quality bathroom products. Just in the nic of time too, we are in the market for some new bath towels. Thanks for all of the helpful info Sheri!
 
April 12, 2009
I didn't know Vera Wang's line also did bath accessories! Pilling has been a major issue w/ the towels I got at Target. I have a magenta towel, so after a shower, I always get so much pink lint all over me. Let me know if pilling becomes a bigger issue with your Vera towels. Now if only Isabel Toledo can get her own diffusion line!
April 13, 2009
I had the same thing happen to me with some navy blue towels. I gave them away after 1 or 2 uses as I was tired of picking dark lint off my body! LOL The Simply Vera towel is definitely not transferring any lint to me. I just noticed a little pilling after it came out of the dryer.
April 13, 2009
Good to know. And a new excuse to check out VW's line at Kohl's. Thanks!
April 16, 2009
I didn't know Vera Wang had a bath accessories line, either! I have a magenta towel as well, that I purchased at Costco.  I used it for about a year and for that entire year, my house was constantly filled with hot pink dust!  I didn't mind though; I loved having a hot pink towel in my bathroom :P
March 22, 2010
Just bought two simply vera bath towels. Yes they are heavy -- will let you know how they dry and how they come out after the first wash. There is a great sale on these towels but i dont want to stock up till i try out two. the green is a bit drab, but i am concerned about getting whilte towels.. Any thoughts? erica
March 22, 2010
Hope you will enjoy them, elmomax. I find myself selecting that 1 Simply Vera towel out of the pile quite often as it is so thick and luxe. I have a trip to Kohl's planned this Saturday, so if the price is right, I may pick up another 1 or 2.
March 22, 2010
P.S. As for your concern about getting white towels, I'm not sure why. From an aesthetic sense? Or because you're concerned they will not stay white? I am not a white towel person either, actually. The only ones I own are cheap KMart ones I bought to use on my dog (wiping her feet, dry after bath, etc.). Yet I have a friend who pretty much ONLY buys white towels. So who knows. :)
 
1
More Simply Vera by Vera Wang Bath ... reviews
review by . November 30, 2011
I loved these towels when I bought them. Very soft, plush and large. I bought 8 sets on Black Friday. Washed them on warm before using them. Then I went to use one of the sage washcloths this morning. I but a dime-sized amount of facial cleanser on the washcloth and washed my face. Within seconds I noticed the sage color had turned to a tannish color. I thought maybe there was make up on it, so I rinsed it thouroughly and hung it to dry. When I returned, it was even worse. The tan color had turned …
About the reviewer
Sheri ()
Ranked #71
I have been a customer reviewer on Amazon.com for well over a decade and an Amazon Vine reviewer since the program began. I enjoy writing product reviews that will help customers make a buying decision. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sheri_in_Reho
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this product

Wiki

  • Bamboo-looped fabric provides incredible absorbency and durability.
  • Decorative offers modern-day, classic style.
  • Cotton construction feels sumptuously soft against your skin.
  • Details:
    • Cotton/
    • Machine wash
  • Pamper yourself with these spa-quality bath towels available in a range of solid shades to match your decorating needs.
  • Available at Kohl's department stores or Kohls.com
view wiki

Details

Brand: Simply Vera by Vera Wang
Category: Home and Bath

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists