|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Fashion » Reviews » Snuggie Fleece Blanket » User review

Snuggie Fleece Blanket As Seen On TV

A brand of sleeved blankets.

< read all 3 reviews

Before You Mock the Snuggie, Try It On

  • Dec 23, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
It's inevitable. Thousands of people will get a Snuggie this holiday season. If one of them happens to be you, don't put on your fake smile present face prematurely. Instead, put on the Snuggie.

After months of mocking the commercials, especially the animal prints (a zebra-print Snuggie?!), I found myself face to face with my very own Snuggie -- a leopard-print Snuggie. It was a gift from my boyfriend's mom.

What is it? A Snuggie is basically a blanket with arms and excess fabric around the neck to keep you cozy and warm. It promises to reduce your heating bill by keeping you warm while you can still eat, use the remote control, knit or type on a laptop (yes, I am wearing it). 

Snuggie is a particular brand of this phenomenal innovation, but you can also find Slankets, Softwear and other Snuggie-like products.

I laughed at the Snuggie, but that was before I slipped my arms into its warm embrace and curled up onto a normally chilly leather couch. I was warm. I was truly cozy. I couldn't get enough. The next day I worked from home, Web commuted, in my Snuggie.

Before receiving my Snuggie, I had even looked for one as a white elephant gift. Now that I have one, I know that it's no joke!

Snuggie Pros:
  • Comfort
  • Warmth, especially the bunched up fabric around your neck
  • Arm mobility without having to get out from under a blanket
  • Long enough to keep your toes warm
  • Dark-colored Snuggies can be worn as a wizard costume
  • Covers up holiday weight gain

Snuggie Cons:
  • Static electricity. Trust me on this!
  • High probability of tripping if you try to walk while wearing a Snuggie
  • Residual Snuggie fur and lint on your clothes.
  • Wearing a Snuggie says, "I'm not interested in bringing sexy back. Not at all."

Before you buy your Snuggie:


Think about:
  • What type of fabric? 
  • What color or design?
  • With or without pockets?
  • Whether you're willing to be alone for the rest of your life.
The only thing that could possibly make me cozier this holiday season would be a furry friend -- like a Zhu Zhu!
Working it in a Snuggie.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
36
Thought-Provoking
30
Fun to Read
36
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
December 23, 2009
Congratulations on the Zhu Zhu!
 
December 23, 2009
I have seen these advertised and wondered what they were like. Your extremely thorough review certainly sheds light on this product. Thanks for the info!
 
December 23, 2009
Debbie is right, it looks great on you. Hehe... but NO sex?!!! Forget it, lol....
 
December 23, 2009
Liz, you're making me feel like such a loser for wearing my boring, conventional robe.  You're right, I do feel alone without it ;P  Leopard print's not really my thing, but it looks great on you.  Just cut off the sleeves of your leopard print Snuggie, pin it in a little, and you'll be the most stylish of them all should you ever get called upon duty to a Snuggie Pub Crawl! ;)
December 23, 2009
Remember, Debbie, NO SEX!!!
December 23, 2009
I beg to differ, Sharrie; I think the leopard print AND the zebra print Snuggies are bringing all sorts of sexy back! :P
 
1
More Snuggie Fleece Blanket reviews
review by . January 17, 2010
Because of their ubiquitous TV ads and appearances in catalogs, Snuggies have become enormously popular and something of a cult item. The Snuggies are essentially fleece blankets with sleeves that quickly caught the public eye - for better or worse. Comedians have made jokes about them, they have been mentioned or worn on TV shows, commercial parodies are all over the Internet, people wear them to sporting events, some even wear them on pub crawls. It is easy to make fun of the Snuggie, but I was …
Quick Tip by . January 19, 2010
Seemed kinda silly at first.. but I am now converted. I love it! Perfect gift for the perpetually cold. Why doesn't it come in black?
About the reviewer

Ranked #105
Alternate motto would be "Eat dessert first."
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
trailblazer
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this product

Wiki

In late 2008 and early 2009 the "Snuggie" brand of sleeved blankets became a pop culture phenomenon, sometimes described humorously as a "cult". The Snuggie has become a camp icon.

The product became famous after a direct response commercial promoting the product was aired, leading to a mocking of the product and its commercial by comedians such as Jay Leno, Ellen DeGeneres, Bill Maher, and Jon Stewart, as well as website parodies. It was featured on television programs like Today where cast and crew donned Snuggies for a segment which was described as looking like a gospel choir. Several hundred parodies of the commercial have appeared on YouTube as well as numerous fan pages on Facebook. The slanket was also mentioned in an episode of NBC's 30 Rock entitled "The Ones." The product has also been ridiculed as a "backwards robe" or simple reinvention of the coat on radio and television talk shows in the United States. Comparisons have also been made with the Thneed - a highly-promoted, amorphous garment in the Dr Seuss story, The Lorax.

On January 30, 2009 a group organized a pub crawl wearing Snuggies in Cincinnati, OH. In the following months they went on to complete over 40 more across the nation. Later, a group organized a Snuggie pub crawl in Chicago to raise money for an African orphanage, which led to similar sanctioned and independent events throughout the United States. A worker at Americans for Tax Reform, a conservative ...
view wiki

Details

Brand: As Seen On TV
Category: Home & Garden

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists