|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Sriracha (Rooster Sauce)

Sriracha is the generic name for a Thai hot sauce named after the seaside city of Si Racha, in the Chonburi Province of central Thailand

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by LindsayT

  • Apr 17, 2010
  • by
I put this in absolutely everything! This is the one thing I MUST have in my kitchen at all times! It's so versatile!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
2
Post a Comment
More Sriracha Sauce reviews
Quick Tip by . August 07, 2010
Some Boston Market restaurants (U.S.) keep sriracha sauce on their condiments counter. This is a sauce that I you won't mind taking into a restaurant when they don't have it. it makes dumplings pop, and pizza and chicken sizzle.
Quick Tip by . April 01, 2010
posted in Chileheads
I love Sriracha! I'm with everyone else -- I put it on everything! Pizza, sushi, sandwiches, tacos, etc.
Quick Tip by . March 30, 2010
posted in Chileheads
goes on anything but a papercut
Quick Tip by . September 15, 2009
Didn't realize that Sriracha is Thai. Awesome in soups and for making spicy tuna anything!
review by . March 29, 2009
Wow! This is the bomb of all chili sauces. It is wicked hot and has a great flavor. The chili sauce flavor is tinged with the garlic and vinegar and it's just fabulous to jack up soups to a spicy fiery hot treat. I haven't tasted a chili sauce this good before, as most have no real flavor beyond the heat. This stuff is flavorful and spicy. Love it.
review by . March 07, 2009
I give it a high rating cause it is hot and it tases good on anything.  I use it on Tuesdays and Thursdays when I go to this asia fusion spot.  It is awesome on rice and with vegetables.  I love it and require it!
review by . December 15, 2008
If I could give this 10 stars, I would.  I LOVE this sauce. Let me say it again, I LOVE this sauce. I actually don't call it by it's real name "Sriracha", it's so formal and all I always say it wrong anyhow.  I call it "Hot Cock" you know, because of the rooster on the bottle.     This sauce is magic.  It is more magical than ketchup and it is more magical than ranch dressing (I will never understand why people like that stuff.) You can put it on anything. Asian …
About the reviewer
Lindsay Thompson ()
Ranked #378
Member Since: Apr 4, 2009
Last Login: Sep 22, 2010 11:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
LindsayT
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this product

Wiki


Sriracha is the generic name for a Thai hot sauce named after the seaside city of Si Racha, in the Chonburi Province of central Thailand, where it was first produced for dishes served at local seafood restaurants. It is a paste typically made from sun-ripened chili peppers, vinegar, garlic, sugar and salt. An Americanized puree, primarily produced by Huy Fong Foods, is drastically different from the Thai pastes. It has become a common condiment in the United States.

The flavor of both Thai and popular non-Thai versions is dominated by its central ingredient, hot chilies. To achieve a blend of hot, sweet, and spicy, other items such as sugar, salt, garlic, and vinegar are typically added. Traditional Thai Sriracha tends to be tangier, sweeter, and thinner than non-Thai, which is often thicker in texture. Versions featuring lemon grass, ginger, galanga and other exotic flavors have been introduced as well.

Originally exclusively a fresh sauce domestically consumed, Sriracha sold as a prepared product typically contains preservatives such as potassium sorbate, sodium bisulfite, and citric acid.

Sriracha is frequently found as a dipping sauce, particularly for seafood. Beyond its native boundaries Sriracha serves as a general-purpose hot sauce in a variety of cuisines, appearing anywhere from a condiment for Vietnamese phở to a topping for sushi rolls and pizza in the United States. It is occasionally used in lieu of ketchup, as on buffalo wings, French fries, or eggs. It is ...
view wiki

Details

Brand: Sriracha
Category: Condiments, Hot Sauces

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists