|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Apparel » Reviews » Uniqlo » User review

My weakness

Japanese clothing retailer and brand

< read all 4 reviews

UNIQLO....A Japanese Revolution

  • Jun 15, 2010
Rating:
+5

When abroad in London several years ago, I came upon this mass market retailer, UNIQLO. I never actually purchased anything instead this high tech, perfectly maintained store but continually came across the logo every time I traveled back to London. 

It wasn't until recently and a planned trip I have to Tokyo, that I began to dive more into the history of this company and their product inventory. Opening in 1984 this store had great success amongst the Japanese and was known for its high quality casual wear at remarkably low prices. If you've ever been in a UNIQLO store they merchandise their clothing a bit differently then other mass market retailers. 

They have one sample of each piece of clothing in their current collection on the main floor, where shoppers can browse through and determine if they want to then shop the entire store. Their store is full of brightly color and pristine garments that almost create a sense of intimidation. I think the quality and construction exceeds the price point and have heard nothing but rave reviews from friends about the durability of their products.

As I am beginning to pack for my journey to Tokyo, I plan to leave more then enough space to fill up on my first ever UNIQLO items. I will definitely report back on my overall opinion of the store! 

For more on college fashion, check out www.CollegeFashionista.com

UNIQLO....A Japanese Revolution UNIQLO....A Japanese Revolution UNIQLO....A Japanese Revolution

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
January 12, 2012
Have a great trip !
 
July 07, 2010
I love Uniqlo! All their women's clothing ranges are awesome and very original.
 
July 07, 2010
I love Uniqlo! All their women's clothing ranges are awesome and very original.
 
July 07, 2010
Back from Japan--Uniqlo was as great as I thought! Thanks everyone for the insight!
 
June 26, 2010
I've never heard of this line either, but the store concept and merchandising sounds cool. I'll be interested to hear how their garments fit and what you end up thinking of the quality after your first purchase. Thanks for sharing!
 
June 15, 2010
Thanks Guys for the great tips!!!!
 
June 15, 2010
There are UNIQLO outlets outside Japan, esp. in Hongkong, China and Singapore. What I love best is their jeans. You might want to try some of them on for fitting. They will alter the length for you free of charge. About 15 mins wait is all it takes! Great brand! Also, there is at least one outlet in Narita airport.
 
June 15, 2010
I dig UNIQLO for my basic pieces!  I like to think of them as the Japanese American Apparel, but with cooler stores and more selections.  These are popular in Hong Kong so whenever I go there, I'd receive a mass order for UNIQLO clothing from my friends and my brothers.  Oh, here's a tip: some UNIQLOs will hem your pants for free on the same day!  Have fun in Tokyo :)
 
1
More Uniqlo reviews
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
Uniqlo currently has pieces from their Velvet and Uniqlo collaboration in stores.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
I love Uniqlo jeans. Shopping here is great! Lots of outlets in Tokyo, Shanghai, Beijing, Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Singapore.
Quick Tip by . November 04, 2009
It's winter time & Uniqlo is the best place to head for wonderful colorful and great looking sweatshirts & jeans! Love this place!
About the reviewer
Amy Levin ()
Ranked #295
I am the Founder of the college trend reporting website CollegeFashionista.com! I gain my inspiration from the looks I have seen worn on the street by my peers. I'm all about pairing vintage one of a … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
amylevin
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this product

Wiki

Uniqlo is a Japanese casual wear designer, manufacturer and retailer.

http://www.uniqlo.co.jp/
view wiki

Tags

Clothing, Shopping, Brands, Apparel, Japan, Apparel Brands, Clothing Brands, Fashion Designers, Uniqlo, Casual Wear, Designer Collaborations

Details

Founded: Ube, Yamaguchi Prefecture 1949
Headquarters: Tokyo, Japan

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists