|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Electronics » Reviews » iPad » User review

iPad

A tablet computer by Apple

< read all 58 reviews

iPad is the perfect laptop

  • Sep 17, 2010
Rating:
+4

 

I bought my iPad because I have an app that I'll start working on after the new operating system comes out in November.  I really had no idea that it would turn out to be my favorite computer!
 
I have: a few old Windows laptops and my four year old MacBookPro. For almost all of the things I need a laptop for, the iPad is as good as having the laptop and is often better
kkkI bought my iPad because I have an app that I'll start working on after the new operating system comes out in November.  I really had no idea that it would turn out to be my favorite computer!
 
I have: a few old Windows laptops and my four year old MacBookPro. For almost all of the things I need a laptop for, the iPad is as good as having the laptop and is often better

I bought my iPad because I have an app that I'll start working on after the new operating system comes out in November. I really had no idea that it would turn out to be my favorite computer!

For almost all of the things I need a laptop for, the iPad is as good as a laptop and is often better.

Consider the things that are important in a laptop:

Weight

My MacBook Pro weighs almost 6 lbs and my Windows laptops are even heavier.  The iPad 3G  is 1.6 lbs - that's a big difference in luggability.



Size


The iPad is small enough to carry easily, but the screen is large enough for me to work comfortably.

If I cannot make out the tiny print on some particular webpage, a quick flick of two fingers blows it up for me instantly.

I can work  with this in my lap or standing up because it is small enough and light enough to hold with one hand. The MacBook Pro  too hot for my lap and while I might be able to balance it on one hand briefly, that obviously is not safe or comfortable.

Battery Life

The iPad is beyond incredible.   I am often up at 6:00 AM and I'll use the iPad off and on all day to do my normal work (email, web browsing, writing) and when I quit at 10:00 PM, it usually still has 10% or more of its charge!

This means that when I go out to a customer, I don't even bother to bring the charger - I won't need it.  If I do have to bring a real laptop, I'll probably have to bring either the charger or a spare battery.

It's not a Toy

I've found that many people don't realize how much real work you can do on an iPad.  I am a tech guy and often need remote access to my customers machines.  I can do that with the iPad: I have VPN capability, SSH, RDP, Webex, VNC and even Citrix.   On a recent mini-vacation, I did remote work for a client all the way down the New Jersey Turnpike while my wife drove!

No Entanglements

My MacBook Pro is a great machine, but I usually have it hooked up to its Time Machine drives, an external monitor and a bigger keyboard.   If I want to go enjoy nice weather on the back porch, I have to unhook all that, and of course we have that battery life issue again.  With the iPad, I just wander wherever I want.  It's using my wireless when it can and the 3G the rest of the time.

By the way, I can get away with the $15.00 a month, 250 MB 3G plan and don't even need that all the time.   I only turn it on if I have to be out somewhere there will not be wireless access, so so far I have only spent $45.00 with them - most months I have not subscribed.  That "turn it on, turn it off" capability cuts down expenses for me.

Warts

No, it isn't perfect.  There are some things I need a real computer for and some things that are just easier on a real computer.  The new operating system due out soon will make the iPad even more useful, but I suspect it will be a long time before I could use this for everything I need to do.

That's OK.   It does more than enough to make this my favorite companion.  I like to say it is the perfect second computer, but actually it has become my primary computer - the MacBook is really my second computer now.
 

ˇ˛The iPad is small enough to carry easily, but the screen is large enough for me to work comfortably. If I cannot make out the tiny print on some particular webpage, a quick flick of two fingers blows it up for me instantly. I can work quite easily with this in my lap or even standing up. The MacBook Pro gets far too hot for my lap and is impossible to use standing up for more than a few seconds.
 
ˇ˛The iPad is small enough to carry easily, but the screen is large enough for me to work comfortably. If I cannot make out the tiny print on some particular webpage, a quick flick of two fingers blows it up for me instantly. I can work quite easily with this in my lap or even standing up. The MacBook Pro gets far too hot for my lap and is impossible to use standing up for more than a few seconds.
 
The iPad is small enough to carry easily, but the screen is large enough for me to work comfortably. If I cannot make out the tiny print on some particular webpage, a quick flick of two fingers blows it up for me instantly. I can work quite easily with this in my lap or even standing up. The MacBook Pro gets far too hot for my lap and is impossible to use standing up for more than a few seconds.
The iPad is small enough to carry easily, but the screen is large enough for me to work comfortably. If I cannot make out the tiny print on some particular webpage, a quick flick of two fingers blows it up for me instantly. I can work quite easily with this in my lap or even standing up. The MacBook Pro gets far too hot for my lap and is impossible to use standing up for more than a few seconds.
 
I have: a few old Windows laptops and my four year old MacBookPro. For almost all of the things I need a laptop for, the iPad is as good as having the laptop and is often better.
 
I bought my iPad because I have an app that I'll start working on after the new operating system comes out in November.  I really had no idea that it would turn out to be my favorite computer!
 
I have: a few old Windows laptops and my four year old MacBookPro. For almost all of the things I need a laptop for, the iPad is as good as having the laptop and is often better

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
September 30, 2010
Nice review! I've been thinking about getting my mom one of these for her birthday. And now I think I'm sold! Thanks for the advice:)
 
September 19, 2010
Oh wow, that's quite an endorsement for the iPad! I've been thinking about getting it for months but still haven't got to it. Just not sure what I could really do with it, other than having fun on it :-) but your review certainly puts things in perspective! Thanks!
September 19, 2010
Well, you do what you do with a "real" computer except it's lighter and smaller and the battery lasts longer. You need to go to an Apple store and play with one - or find a friend who will let you borrow one for a day!
 
September 17, 2010
Great review! I'm in the market for an iPad. I could really see myself using one, especially to just browse the internet or read some ebooks. Not too sure iBooks had as wide of a selection as the Kindle but I guess you can get the Kindle app on the iPad so that's a plus. I hope the new version comes out soon though!
September 17, 2010
Yes, you can get the Kindle app and other readers too. The new software is out soon and will be a free upgrade for all of us.
 
1
More iPad reviews
review by . April 05, 2010
posted in Ubergizmo
After a surprisingly positive experience at the Apple store (I picked up my reserved iPad at noon on Launch Day and was able to walk in and get helped immediately), I'm now 24+ hours into my iPad experience.  My initial impressions have been incredibly positive.                                               WHAT I LIKE It's really fast. (MUCH faster …
review by . April 06, 2010
The iPad, a game changer? It sure frickin' feels like it!
In the week leading up to the arrival of my iPad via UPS, I was second guessing my decision to buy it out of the gates. Not that I didn't want the iPad, I just wasn't sure what gadget gap it would fill.      As it is I have a laptop, a MediaCenter PC, an iPhone, and a Kindle, I wasn't sure where the iPad fit in. After 24 hours of intense use, the kindle is to the curb, my laptop is jealous, and the iPhone is glad it has phone (barely) capabilities. For all the reasons I …
review by . April 07, 2010
posted in iPad Buzz
Last night i just got the 32G iPad.      First off, I'll leave all the detailed fawning over the coolness of this thing to the fanboys, but will say it is super cool toy.  I just want to play with it.        But here are my issues with it.       First off, you can't even turn it on until you connect it to the apple store to buy their products... called... duh... iTunes.  When you take it out of the box there are 3 simple …
review by . January 30, 2010
It's difficult to write a review of a product that I've never used, but I'm so excited about Apple's iPad, that I couldn't help myself.      I will admit, I've been watching the rumors of the iTablet/iSlate/iBook/iPad for months, and I got swept up in the predictions that this would be the Magic Do Everything device.  So when the actual iPad was finally revealed, I was initially disappointed.  However, after some time to absorb the details, as well as take the price …
review by . November 24, 2010
iLove my iPad
April 2010 was a big month.  The iPad was finally released after months of hype and all I knew is that I wanted one.  Unfortunately, during that portion of the year and my wedding coming up, it wasn't realistic (not to mention Apple couldn't keep them in stock anyway).  Well, almost eight months later, I finally purchased my iPad!  Mind you, I got the basic 16GB model without 3G, but none the less, it's an iPad.  Need less to say, it is probably the best purchase …
review by . January 27, 2010
posted in iPad Buzz
Ok, Steve Jobs woke me up for this... I was already on the way to bed and man, the man launches an iPad? iPad?! Seriously? What's the date? Jan. 27? Why Jan. 27?      Revolutionary? Well, I'm sure it's revolutionary... well, at least the way I've to relearn to type! I can type pretty fast on the keyboard now, I don't think he demonstrated how fast someone could type on an iPad! I hope it won't be a major source of frustration! We are supposed to be ready …
review by . November 09, 2010
posted in iPad Buzz
Ipad Flight
On a recent cross-country flight with my soon-to-be two year old daughter, I discovered the true magical nature of the iPad -- its ability to keep her entertained for several hours while confined to her seat.  She spent time drawing with Adobe Ideas, reading The Cat In the Hat and watching several episodes of Yo Gabba Gabba and Dora the Explorer.        All was going well until the passenger seated at the window asked to pass by us to use the restroom.  As I closed …
review by . January 27, 2010
posted in Ubergizmo
I'm underwhelmed by this iPad thing, especially with all of the hype surrounding it.  It's no secret that I'm a well documented iPhobe, but I've tried to put that aside and be objective here.   I predict that only the most hardcore iSheep will be flocking to this overgrown iPod Touch.  I can see a future for the device and others like it, but it's not there in the present. What's wrong with it? No camera. No phone calling. Another $30/month for unlimited Internet access on top of …
review by . October 27, 2010
Best iPad Apps for Autism and Asperger’s Syndrome [ 117 ] August 16, 2010 | Tracy I am the mom of a beautiful and amazing son who just happens to have a diagnosis of High Functioning Autism.  A few months ago I read an article on Blogher called ”The iPad a Near-Miracle for my son.” It immediately caught my attention not only because of  Shannon’s beautiful writing and story, but because I am always looking for opportunities to help …
review by . January 28, 2010
Well, the Apple is finally out of the bag today as the mythical "iPad" is unveiled.  But did the public receive the news as Steve intended?  Was the "shock" good, bad, or ugly? Perhaps it's too early to tell whether the iPad will be a success or failure because time is needed to see how things look when the dust settles.   But, it's not too early to discuss first impressions... so here's the 'skinny' on the iPad.      The Good:   …
About the reviewer
Anthony Lawrence ()
Ranked #434
Owner of http://aplawrence.com      Linux andUnixadministration and troubleshooting articles, help and inspiration for freelancers and theself employed, advice onblogging, SEO andearning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
pcunix
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this product

Wiki


The iPad  is a tablet  computing device product from Apple Inc. The device was announced on January 27, 2010, at a press conference at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts  in San Francisco. The device was rumored for several months, with iSlate  and iTablet among rumored names.
The device is expected to incorporate a 10-inch (26 centimeter) multi-touch display made by Innolux, a subsidiary of Foxconn. The price is expected to be more than the iPhone but less than an Apple notebook computer.

The iPad's lowest grade model with a 16GB hard drive will run for $499 dollars with the 32 GB running for $599 and the 64GB running at $699.  Buyers will also have the opportunity to purchase the iPad with 3G connectivity with the lowest grade model starting at $629 and going up.  The Wi-Fi models will ship in late March while the 3G models will ship in April.

 Yair Reiner claims the iSlate will compete in the market against dedicated e-book devices such as the Barnes & Noble nook and the Amazon Kindle while offering 70% of revenue to publishers, the same arrangement accorded developers of the App Store. These arrangements would also extend to print publishers who currently receive less in digital work royalties from companies like Amazon.com.

Reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ISlate
view wiki

Details

Brand: Apple
Category: Tablets, Computers

Polls with this product
Aluratek LIBRE eBook Reader PRO - eBook reader -

Top eReaders!

by

Apple iPod Touch (32Gig)

Favorite travel gadgets

by

First to Review

"i What ?!?!?!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists