|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Electronics » Reviews » iPad » User review

iPad

A tablet computer by Apple

< read all 58 reviews

Best iPad Apps for Autism and Asperger's Syndrome

  • Oct 27, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

Best iPad Apps for Autism and Asperger’s Syndrome

[ 117 ] August 16, 2010 | Tracy

I am the mom of a beautiful and amazing son who just happens to have a diagnosis of High Functioning Autism.  A few months ago I read an article on Blogher called ”The iPad a Near-Miracle for my son.” It immediately caught my attention not only because of  Shannon’s beautiful writing and story, but because I am always looking for opportunities to help our son succeed. 

I am blessed to have a small career here as a product reviewer, so I bravely contacted  a lovely Apple PR person about my story.  Apple was able to generously loan me an iPad for Nolan and I to try.  I am so excited that Apple is noticing us and is interested in what we say about Autism.    My hope is this will encourage the geniuses behind the iPad to develop even more resources for our children (and adults).  Early intervention is the key and the iPad is a door to the future.

This is a list of the iPad apps that Nolan really enjoyed and that I believe will help him to develop and encourage the skills that he needs to work on.  Because of early intervention, he has grown so much with his vocabulary and communication.  Most of the apps he and I liked aren’t targeted  for autism, but they are “autism friendly”.   I tried to find as many free and under $2.00 apps as I could.  The iPad isn’t the cure to Autism, it is a resource for parents that is working.   My experience with the iPad is unique to my child but I do believe that it can be helpful to many others.

We made a video demonstrating just a few apps that we enjoy.  I listed the rest below. 

STUFF FOR ADULTS

IEP Checklist-Free

Hidden Curriculum Kids- Free

Autism News Feed- $1.99

BEHAVIORAL APPS

The Angry Octopus book- $8.99  A beautifully illustrated story about how to handle anger and shows children how to calm down.  The characters are adorable too.

First Then Visual Schedule-$9.99  Transitions and focusing are difficult for my son.  First Then is great because you can carry around the schedule and it appealed more to him then other ones we have tried.  You can upload your own pictures and the images in the application’s stock library) to create a schedule. This personalization allows for schedules to be created and updated on the go, helping transition through unexpected changes in a daily routine.  I wasn’t able to download it on the iPad though. It said it needed a software update?  I tried it on my iTouch instead.  It is made for iPhone too.

iReward Chart-  $2.99     Nolan loves this.  He has been encouraged by the chart to listen better.  If I remind him of his stars he immediately changes his negative behavoir.

Autism Xpress-Free  This is a Feelings Chart showing different faces.  It is very cute and we try to mimic the faces.

The Angry Octopus book- $8.99  A beautifully illustrated story about how to handle anger and shows children how to calm down.  The characters are adorable too.

Social Skills 

Social skills stories are used to teach social skills that a neurotypical child will learn naturally.  These skills are sharing, taking turns, communicate and listen.  Using the iPad is much more appealing to Nolan to follow and learn the Social Stories.  This is the skill he needs to work on and develop the most.   He was easily frustrated sometimes but the iPad makes it fun! 

Model Me-Free   Social stories for children.  They make fantastic videos too and have a supportive community.

Social Stories  - $6.99

Look 2 Learn - $24.99

Stories2Learn -$13.99

MDR is a company that is a blessing for many parents.  They have developed the three apps listed above and I am impressed with the content and use of them.  Social Stories uses real life pictures and storiew that were very appealing to Nolan.  The pictures showed facial expressions that were easy for him to understand and follow. There are six stories that teach classroom rules, turn taking, reciprocal play and more.    Stories 2 Learn is an app that parents and educators can use to develop their own stories and download pictures, sound and text.  It can be used for visual schedules and much more.  It is the follow up to Look 2 Learn.   Look 2 Learn is for children who aren’t able to communicate using their words.  They can use this app to show what they need with pictures and pre recorded voices. 

Look in My Eyes  Garage -- $2.99  Encourages children to look in other children’s eyes, which is a difficulty for some children on the spectrum including my son.  Watch the video to see it in action.

Look in My Eyes Toys  $2.99 They offer different apps using the same theme.  This one is similar to the garage one but has the child earn toys.

Communication

Children with Asperger’s have trouble understanding language in context.  Receptive and expressive language are difficult to master.  The apps we tried I believe are helpful for different reasons.  There are many more, we just haven’t tried them yet.

ABA Receptive  $.99  Colorful and engaging flash cards are used to encourage the child to develop functional communication skills.  Nolan works on this at school and I like the app to use at home.  He enjoyed this app and the cost is great.

Larry the Talking Parrot  $4.99  Larry is adorable and repeats your words back just like Tom below.

Cat  Tom the Talking Cat FREE  (watch our video).  Nolan loves to talk to Tom and I have him tell him stories to develop those communtication skills and have fun at the same time.

MUSIC AND ART

Children respond to music and art and these apps are some that we tried.

Loopz   $1.99  Fun and a bit frustrating.  You have to follow the music and copy it from memory.  Nolan likes the music and interaction.  You can buy the game too and play it together with the app.  Developed by Mattel who makes the best toys too.

Free piano apps- FREE Virtuoso and more.  We tried Virtuoso and he loves it. (watch the video to see why)

Draw for iPad   FREE  Nolan loves to draw and this app is fun and builds on his skills.

Splatter HD – FREE  Use your fingers to splatter and draw (watch us in the video)

 

 

INTERACTIVE BOOKS

Toy Story 2 and 3 -  $8.99  These are his favorite of everything.  He will act out the stories during play time.  The graphics are amazing and Disney is my favorite.  They are interactive with games, music, and much more.

Alice in Wonderland  $8.99  An absolutely beautiful book and story.  Nolan really likes this one too.

MeeGenius-  $1.99  This is a great app because you can work with your child to  read classic stories such as Goldilocks and the Three Bears.  They can highlight words and listen to the twelve stories.  We love these classic stories.

BOOKROOM REVIEWS
GIVEAWAY

One Winner will receive the TOY STORY 3 APP,  THE ANGRY OCTOPUS BOOK AND CD, AND A $20.00 ITUNES GIFT CARD.

TO ENTER:  Comment here telling us which app you would like to try.

ADDITIONAL ENTRIES: Raise awareness for Autism and this post by doing the following:  ” Best iPad Apps for Autism Giveaway of Apps and iTunes Card @Bookroomreviews #iPad #Autism 

                                                Stumble (one entry)

                                                Twitter (one entry)

                                                Facebook (one entry)

                                                Post in Autism forums (two entries)

                                               anything else (one entry)

  • Contest ends on August 23rd at midnight.
  • Winner will be chosen by Random.Org
  • Winner will be contacted by e mail. If no response in 48 hours, another winner will be drawn
  • US and Canada and International entries. No P.O. Box
  • I follow all FTC rules and requirements and all my opinions are honest. The product was borrowed and some of the Apps were provided by the business or PR agency.

THE HUFFINGTON POST PICKED UP THIS ARTICLE FOR THEIR LIVING AND AUTISM PAGES!!!! SO FAR OVER 4,000 VIEWS ON OUR VIDEO TOO!   http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/08/18/ipa...tism-and-_n_686020.html

 
Related Posts with Thumbnails If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!
 
 

Tags: , ,

Category: Autism, Electronics/Home, Product Reviews, iPad Apps

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
30
Fun to Read
26
Well-Organized
33
Post a Comment
November 02, 2010
Thank you Tracy! I work for a compnay called Autismpro in Denver and I have shared this with all my co-workers. Wonderful!!
November 02, 2010
very cool!! Thanks John!!
November 03, 2010
Wow! thank you so much:)
November 03, 2010
You ar welcome, Tracy....Thanks for posting this. Check out our website @ autismpro.com
 
November 01, 2010
thanks so much for this! I just shared it on Facebook with my sister in law who works with autistic kids, and I'm sure will find all the info really useful. how awesome that you took the time to share all the details!
November 03, 2010
Thank you, that's great!. I know some schools and programs are getting iPads for their classrooms.
 
November 01, 2010
Wow Tracy. Great review and video. i just watched it and it was inspiring. Thank you so much for taking the time to put it together. Really great information on this subject and i'm sure there will be a lot of new products that will be coming for the iPad to help even more. I would LOVE to see a community on Lunch dedicated to sharing this type of information. If you have any interest in getting one started, we can help set it up. This is such and important topic i would love to see more of it on Lunch. lmk if i can help in anyway. thanks again.
November 03, 2010
Thank you so much! That is a great idea. I am swamped right now through Christmas, but I would love to work on that in the new year! I will be in touch.
 
1
More iPad reviews
review by . April 05, 2010
posted in Ubergizmo
After a surprisingly positive experience at the Apple store (I picked up my reserved iPad at noon on Launch Day and was able to walk in and get helped immediately), I'm now 24+ hours into my iPad experience.  My initial impressions have been incredibly positive.                                               WHAT I LIKE It's really fast. (MUCH faster …
review by . April 06, 2010
The iPad, a game changer? It sure frickin' feels like it!
In the week leading up to the arrival of my iPad via UPS, I was second guessing my decision to buy it out of the gates. Not that I didn't want the iPad, I just wasn't sure what gadget gap it would fill.      As it is I have a laptop, a MediaCenter PC, an iPhone, and a Kindle, I wasn't sure where the iPad fit in. After 24 hours of intense use, the kindle is to the curb, my laptop is jealous, and the iPhone is glad it has phone (barely) capabilities. For all the reasons I …
review by . April 07, 2010
posted in iPad Buzz
Last night i just got the 32G iPad.      First off, I'll leave all the detailed fawning over the coolness of this thing to the fanboys, but will say it is super cool toy.  I just want to play with it.        But here are my issues with it.       First off, you can't even turn it on until you connect it to the apple store to buy their products... called... duh... iTunes.  When you take it out of the box there are 3 simple …
review by . January 30, 2010
It's difficult to write a review of a product that I've never used, but I'm so excited about Apple's iPad, that I couldn't help myself.      I will admit, I've been watching the rumors of the iTablet/iSlate/iBook/iPad for months, and I got swept up in the predictions that this would be the Magic Do Everything device.  So when the actual iPad was finally revealed, I was initially disappointed.  However, after some time to absorb the details, as well as take the price …
review by . November 24, 2010
iLove my iPad
April 2010 was a big month.  The iPad was finally released after months of hype and all I knew is that I wanted one.  Unfortunately, during that portion of the year and my wedding coming up, it wasn't realistic (not to mention Apple couldn't keep them in stock anyway).  Well, almost eight months later, I finally purchased my iPad!  Mind you, I got the basic 16GB model without 3G, but none the less, it's an iPad.  Need less to say, it is probably the best purchase …
review by . January 27, 2010
posted in iPad Buzz
Ok, Steve Jobs woke me up for this... I was already on the way to bed and man, the man launches an iPad? iPad?! Seriously? What's the date? Jan. 27? Why Jan. 27?      Revolutionary? Well, I'm sure it's revolutionary... well, at least the way I've to relearn to type! I can type pretty fast on the keyboard now, I don't think he demonstrated how fast someone could type on an iPad! I hope it won't be a major source of frustration! We are supposed to be ready …
review by . November 09, 2010
posted in iPad Buzz
Ipad Flight
On a recent cross-country flight with my soon-to-be two year old daughter, I discovered the true magical nature of the iPad -- its ability to keep her entertained for several hours while confined to her seat.  She spent time drawing with Adobe Ideas, reading The Cat In the Hat and watching several episodes of Yo Gabba Gabba and Dora the Explorer.        All was going well until the passenger seated at the window asked to pass by us to use the restroom.  As I closed …
review by . January 27, 2010
posted in Ubergizmo
I'm underwhelmed by this iPad thing, especially with all of the hype surrounding it.  It's no secret that I'm a well documented iPhobe, but I've tried to put that aside and be objective here.   I predict that only the most hardcore iSheep will be flocking to this overgrown iPod Touch.  I can see a future for the device and others like it, but it's not there in the present. What's wrong with it? No camera. No phone calling. Another $30/month for unlimited Internet access on top of …
review by . January 28, 2010
Well, the Apple is finally out of the bag today as the mythical "iPad" is unveiled.  But did the public receive the news as Steve intended?  Was the "shock" good, bad, or ugly? Perhaps it's too early to tell whether the iPad will be a success or failure because time is needed to see how things look when the dust settles.   But, it's not too early to discuss first impressions... so here's the 'skinny' on the iPad.      The Good:   …
review by . April 09, 2010
The iPad Experience: great 1st gen device, definitely not for everyone.
I had made up my mind during the 2 months or so between the announcement of the Apple iPad and its release date that I was not going to get one, or so I thought. I figured the UI would be fantastic as it was running the same OS as the iPhone but with a bit more horsepower and my iPhone 3GS was a pleasure to use, jailbroken with multitasking. The key feature, or lack thereof, that swayed my decision was the fact that just like the iPhone, any video you wanted play from the device locally …
About the reviewer
Tracy Kokemuller ()
Ranked #735
Visit my Product Review and Giveaway Website http://www.bookroomreviews.com Become a Fan of Bookroom Reviews http://www.facebook.com/bookroomreviews
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Bookroomreviews
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this product

Wiki


The iPad  is a tablet  computing device product from Apple Inc. The device was announced on January 27, 2010, at a press conference at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts  in San Francisco. The device was rumored for several months, with iSlate  and iTablet among rumored names.
The device is expected to incorporate a 10-inch (26 centimeter) multi-touch display made by Innolux, a subsidiary of Foxconn. The price is expected to be more than the iPhone but less than an Apple notebook computer.

The iPad's lowest grade model with a 16GB hard drive will run for $499 dollars with the 32 GB running for $599 and the 64GB running at $699.  Buyers will also have the opportunity to purchase the iPad with 3G connectivity with the lowest grade model starting at $629 and going up.  The Wi-Fi models will ship in late March while the 3G models will ship in April.

 Yair Reiner claims the iSlate will compete in the market against dedicated e-book devices such as the Barnes & Noble nook and the Amazon Kindle while offering 70% of revenue to publishers, the same arrangement accorded developers of the App Store. These arrangements would also extend to print publishers who currently receive less in digital work royalties from companies like Amazon.com.

Reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ISlate
view wiki

Details

Brand: Apple
Category: Tablets, Computers

Polls with this product
Aluratek LIBRE eBook Reader PRO - eBook reader -

Top eReaders!

by

Apple iPod Touch (32Gig)

Favorite travel gadgets

by

First to Review

"i What ?!?!?!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists