|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Celebrities » Reviews » Vera Wang » User review

Vera Wang

A fashion designer from USA

< read all 2 reviews

Simple, Elegant & Sensual

  • Sep 24, 2009
Rating:
+4
Vera Wang = wedding gown? or Wedding gown >>> Vera Wang? or both?

I haven't the luxury of shopping for wedding gown, so I wouldn't know. You be the judge.
As for Vera Wang, I think she designs exquisite gowns! Especially wedding gowns. When it comes to fashion, I'm not really into plain colors, but for wedding gowns, especially for church weddings, it's nice to have simple lines and colors and then if one wishes one could later convert it into a regular dress. So much has been spent on these gowns and yet people just kept them in them in the house after the wedding and it becomes an antique. I personally don't like to store clothing that I don't wear any longer at home as homes over in Asia are tiny compared to those in America and Canada. Lack of space! Some mentioned that one could passed it down to their kids but frankly speaking, I don't think I'd want fashion from 20 years ago! 

What I'd like to see is for these gowns (esp. wedding gowns) to be designed in pieces such that they can be easily add on or converted into a different pattern. I mean even in architecture, it can now be dismantled and redesigned into different shapes or even movable parts. So, why is something as simple as clothing still can only be worn in a single design?


 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Simple, Elegant & Sensual

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
December 18, 2009
The headline of your review is so spot on about Vera Wang's pieces!  Watching those runway videos makes me wanna go wedding gown shopping... even though I'm not getting married anytime soon :P  I don't know if you have a Kohls where you are, but apparently, Lunchers are big fans of her Simply Vera line of linens and clothing there!
December 18, 2009
I know what you mean! Don't you just wish that those gorgeous gowns are not simply for weddings! I mean how come people don't dress up for theaters or churches like in the past?! That would be so cool!!! Haven't spotted any Kohls or may be I haven't really been looking. I've too much things around in the house, trying not to shop so much these days! Hehe, except for things that i can consume!
 
1
More Vera Wang reviews
Quick Tip by . September 16, 2009
posted in City Lifestyle
Simple, Elegant & Sensual. Gorgeous!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this public figure

Wiki

Vera Wang (born June 27, 1949) is an American fashion designer based in New York. She is known for her wedding gown collection.

Wang was a senior fashion editor for Vogue for sixteen years. In 1985, she left Vogue after being turned down for the editor-in-chief position currently filled by Anna Wintour and joined Ralph Lauren as a design director for two years. In 1990, she opened her own design salon in the Carlyle Hotel in New York that features her trademark bridal gowns.

Wang has made wedding gowns for Mariah Carey, Jennifer Lopez, Thalía, Jessica Simpson, Avril Lavigne, Victoria Beckham, Jennifer Garner, Sharon Stone, Sarah Michelle Gellar, Uma Thurman, Holly Hunter, Campbell Brown, Jeri Ryan and Karenna Gore among various other celebrities.

She has designed costumes for figure skaters, including Nancy Kerrigan and Michelle Kwan. Silver medalist Nancy Kerrigan wore a unique design of Vera's for the 1994 Olympics. She designed the two-piece uniforms currently worn by the Philadelphia Eagles cheerleaders.

In the Sex and the City movie, Vera Wang was featured amongst the many bridal gowns Carrie Bradshaw wore in a Vogue photo shoot.

Wang has expanded her brand name through her fragrance, jewelry, eyewear, shoe and houseware collections. On October 23, 2001, her book, Vera Wang on Weddings, was released. In June 2005, she won the CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) Womenswear Designer of the Year. On May 27, 2006, Wang was awarded the André Leon...
view wiki

Details

Country: USA
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists