|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Chipotle » User review

Chipotle

A chain of Mexican-style restaurants

< read all 17 reviews

Great place for tacos if you're gluten-free or have food allergies

  • Feb 24, 2010
Rating:
+4

Looking for a quick and tasty lunch when you must eat gluten-free can be challenging at best. And if you’ve got small children, you know can't let them go hungry for too long or you’re really asking for it!

The Mexican food chain Chipotle recently opened in a shopping mall in my area, so I decided to give it a try. I started with my usual questions about tortillas and fryers and cross-contamination and marinades (sigh!), when to my surprise, the worker handed me an allergen card for all the items on the menu!

The allergen card lists which items contain Eggs, Fish, Gluten, Milk, Peanuts, Shellfish, Soy, Tree Nuts and Wheat. It is great that a restaurant chain has the awareness to do this, but the really great news is that the only thing on the menu that contains gluten is the flour tortilla, which is only used for burritos and soft tacos. Fryers are used only for corn tortilla chips and the crispy corn taco shells. Or you can skip the tortillas all together and order a rice bowl or a salad. Everything is yummy!

I love that you get to choose what you want as you go down the line. You can even order just 1 taco if you want, which is great for little kids! Also, quesadillas are not on the menu but can be made by request.

For those with food allergies, there are no eggs, fish, shellfish, peanuts or tree nuts used at all. Be aware that they use soybean oil in just about everything. Also be aware that there is a note/disclaimer on the allergen card that reads: “Variations may occur due to differences in suppliers, ingredient substitutions, recipe revisions, and/or food preparation at the restaurant. *Soybean oil, the only soy-based ingredient that we use, is not indicated as an allergen. If you have any concerns pertaining to consumption of soybean oil, please consult your doctor. For general information on food allergens, visit the Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network Web site at http://www.foodallergy.org.”

Reading about the company on their website, I have become impressed with their awareness and commitment to serving natural and organic food, and their mission of “Food With Integrity.” When someone told me that they were owned by McDonald’s, I just couldn’t believe it (food with integrity??) and checked up on that fact myself. Whew. They are not owned by McDonald’s. Chipotle became a subsidiary of McDonald’s in 1999, but Mcdonald’s divested completely from Chipotle and no longer has anything to do with it.

I am definitely a Chipotle Fan! I find myself going back there again and again for a quick, easy, inexpensive, tasty, kid-friendly, stress-free and gluten-free meal.

NOTE: For those who are extremely sensitive to gluten, be aware that because they do use flour tortillas to make burritos, there is a chance of cross-contamination from the touching of the tortilla with hands and utensils.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
February 24, 2010
great review Ali! aside from all the valuable allergy info, i didn't know that McDonalds was out of Chipotle. interesting. thanks!
 
February 24, 2010
Whoa, I had no idea.  This only makes me love them more!  I actually edited my description of Chipotle in my 10 Secret Menu Items At Fast Food Restaurants to reflect my new learnings from your review :)  I'm going to have to send this to all of my friends with food allergies.  Thanks for sharing, Ali!
 
1
More Chipotle reviews
review by . April 12, 2011
I have been a longtime fan of Chipotle, and their massive, two meal burritos. Lately though, I have not been able to handle a whole mass that is the Chipotle Burrito. I have sometimes tried it in a bowl, or as a salad, but it all seemed the same to me.     This week it dawned on me out of all the times I have been there, I have never ordered tacos before. Crispy tacos are one of my favorite foods, but I rarely get them since I am a vegetarian. I was a little hesitant to order …
review by . December 14, 2008
posted in Dining Out
Chipotle
Didn't anyone get the memo?  McDonalds hasn't had anything to do with Chipotle in years!  Just wanted to get that out of the way.      When I first visited Chipotle, for some reason, I expected actual Mexican food, like something I would get at my local mom and pop taqueria.  Instead, I was disappointed to find that my veggie burrito tasted more like an American deli wrap than a Mexican burrito.        There was something odd about Chipotle.  …
Quick Tip by . October 30, 2010
posted in Dining Out
Read their menu. Their vegetables are mostly organic and pesticide free. Their livestock are raised free grazing, without hormones. The price to eat a wholesome meal here is about the same as the garbage of the burger chains. I would say this is a subway of mexican styled foods. Just don't get the burrito wrap, that's where all the calories are. I get a bowl.
Quick Tip by . November 26, 2010
posted in Dining Out
I like Chipotle but think it is a little too Americanized. As long as you don't expect authentic Mexican, you will probably enjoy it.
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
This is my absolute favorite Mexican "fast-food" type place. It's addicting. Burrito bols are the best as there's not the extra calories of the burrito and it's easier to eat!
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
Usually a good fast meal that I can eat out.
Quick Tip by . February 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Yum, the burrito bowl can really hit the spot. I'm also a fan of their salty chips and guac!
Quick Tip by . November 24, 2009
I like this restaurant because it has a tasty burritos and its flavor is unique
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2009
Chipotle is kind of pricey for fast food, but their soft veggie tacos, guac, and $3.75 margaritas FTW! :)
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2009
Can't eat it too frequently, but I definitely love it when I do!
About the reviewer
Alison St. Sure ()
Ranked #152
I have been living gluten-free since 2002. All of my family is gluten-free and one daughter has severe food allergies. I write a blog SureFoodsLiving.com where I offer practical advice about living with … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
GlutenFreeAli
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Chipotle Mexican Grill is a chain of fast-casual Mexican-style restaurants best known for its large burritos and chunky guacamole. In addition, it is one of the first restaurants to successfully transition to the fast-casual style of dining. The restaurant was founded in 1993 by Steve Ells of Denver, CO (where the company is currently headquartered).

McDonald's used to have a majority share in Chipotle; however, full disinvestment was completed in October 2006. The restaurant chain employs more than 18,000 workers and currently operates in 32 US states, as well as the District of Columbia and the Canadian province of Ontario.

Today, Chipotle restaurants serve chicken, beef, and pork in burrito, bowl, or taco formats. The restaurant is also making a transition to using more healthy ingredients and naturally raised farm animals as a means of responding to a growing nationwide trend in healthier eating.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this restaurant
Baja Fresh

Americanized Mexican Food Chains

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists