|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Coral Reef Restaurant » User review

Coral Reef

Restaurant at Epcot in Walt Disney World

< read all 5 reviews

Coral Reef from a Family Perspective

  • Mar 6, 2010
Rating:
-1
We visited the Coral Reef for the first time in May 2009.  That day, after experiencing the Nemo ride and checking out the aquarium for a bit, we decided to head over to the Coral Reef restaurant. We were a bit early but it was fine, we just sat outside the restaurant for a bit and relaxed.




We had been looking forward to this meal for so long. I will admit, when we got inside I was a bit surprised, it wasn't the atmosphere I expected.


It was dreary inside. The dark colors coupled with dim lighting made everything seem drab. I realize it was supposed to mimic being in the ocean and well, obviously the ocean isn't bright and colorful...or is it? Ha!


This is where we sat:

Wasn't a bad seat but of course we would have loved to have been closer to the aquarium. The kids were fairly well behaved. We didn't order an appetizer as we had the dining plan and well, appetizers aren't included in the plan.

The entrees were disappointing. The portions were very small. Now, maybe because I am used to larger portions, what we were given might have been what a 'normal' portion should be? That's fine but when you have a child who is under 3 and is not able to be on the meal plan, you are told you can share entrees with them. I really didn't have anything to share with Wyatt so I wound up having to order something for him and paying out of pocket.

On the bright side, the food was tasty but for the portions, I think it was overpriced. I got Seared Sterling Salmon - with ratatouille $23.99, Fawn got Wild Mushroom Lasagna - roasted wild mushrooms, wilted arugula and spinach, fortina, parmesan, mascarpone and ricotta cheese, rustic tomato ragout $16.99 and CJ got Grilled New York Strip Steak - served with roasted potatoes, watercress and tomatoes tossed in caramelized shallot vinaigrette $30.99

For dessert, I ordered the famous 'Chocolate Wave' - served with brandied cherries $7.99


It was yummy but wow, $7.99?! Oh well, eating here was an experience I will always remember but I know we will not go back. There are so many other restaurants we would love to try and of course, we have our favorites so the Coral Reef was a once and done.

Want to know the flip side? Read More
Coral Reef from a Family Perspective

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
March 07, 2010
Kelly, It definitely felt like something was missing when we ate there.
 
March 07, 2010
I like the lunch here better than the dinner. But we skipped it last year and the menu was the same and it ws missing something the last time we dined here. It was also packed the last time we were there.
 
March 06, 2010
I think you raise some good points here that people should keep in mind whenever they eat at a Disney restaurant: 1) Are they on the Disney dining plan or not? 2) What are the portion sizes like? (I scoured the Internet for pictures of meals at various Disney restaurants before I went, so I'd have an idea of how much food comes with the typical entree. 3) What kind of atmosphere do you personally like? Everyone's going to have different needs, wants and likes. That's the benefit of reviews such as are being offered here at Lunch. Helps you get a good feel for what to expect. Thanks for the review!
March 06, 2010
I agree and I am much more detailed now when planning meals! We'll see what this year's trip brings! Personally, I think for families, buffets are the way to go!
March 06, 2010
Totally agree! All you can eat, plus enough variety to please everyone in the group. Buffets are great for families.
 
1
More Coral Reef Restaurant reviews
review by . March 01, 2010
posted in Only WDWorld
      The Coral Reef Restaurant in Future World at Epcot soared to the top of my personal "favorite restaurants with a view" list this past year.  As a solo diner, I like restaurants which provide me with something to look at while I wait for my food to arrive.  This is a beautiful restaurant, inside and out, and feels slightly more "grown up" than many Disney restaurants.  The showcase is, of course, the fish aquarium that takes up nearly …
review by . February 25, 2010
posted in Only WDWorld
         One of the best restaurants in Epcot is found, not in the World Showcase, but instead in Future World.      The Coral Reef Restaurant is actually part of The Seas With Nemo and Friends Pavilion.  Although the restaurant has nothing to do with the Pixar film Finding Nemo, it does take full advantage of the location.  The entire seating area shares a glass wall with the 5.7 million gallon salt water tank that is the showcase of the …
Quick Tip by . September 10, 2010
posted in Only WDWorld
I never thought I'd enjoy seafood away from home as much as I enjoyed it here.
Quick Tip by . March 01, 2010
posted in Only WDWorld
Ate there when I was 9! Totally forgot about this restaurant, but remember the huge aquarium and giant fish.
About the reviewer
Lisa Wampler ()
Ranked #687
I'm a dichotomy. Really. That word sums it up.   I hate heights, but I love roller coasters! Hate loud noises but adore fireworks.      I'm low maintenance, but high quality. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
UnbalancedLibra
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists