|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Beer » Reviews » El Gringo (Manhattan Beach) » User review

Best (and most fun) Mexican Food in the South Bay

  • Mar 5, 2010
Rating:
+4
I was originally going to title this review "Machaca N Eggs, the cornerstone of any nutritious breakfast (or lunch, or dinner)" because I think El Gringo has some of the best Machaca anywhere (and this is coming from someone who's sampled Machaca everywhere from the finest restuarants in Cuernavaca to the gulliest stands in LA, from the Taqueria's of Guadalajara, to the fishing camps of Baja, from the ... well, you get the picture).  But I changed the title, because I didn't want the title to ignore what most people know, that El Gringo is a great Mexican restaurant with a lot of excellent items to choose from.  While I rarely stray away from the Machaca, when I do, I'm always satisfied.  

In addition to the Machaca, I'm a big fan of their Xcholti (pronounced "Soul-chee"), a soup with chicken, avacado, tomato and rice.  But like I said, I think everything is good, right down to the fresh salsa.

As far as my title referencing El Gringo being the most fun Mexican Food in the South Bay, I'll probably get some commetns from propronents of Panchos and some other spots, and, while the Manhattan Beach branch isn't very fun (its located in a strip mall and I really only use it for take out), the Hermosa Beach branch is extremely fun.  Kinda dingy/divy, but in an atmospheric way. I've spent many a Fourth of July on its roof top deck with a Pacifico and pitcher of Sangria.  Good times. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
March 05, 2010
You've been holding out on me. How am I supposed to expand my burrito universe when you wait until now to share into on another Mexican Restaurant gem? It all sounds good! What should I try first?
March 05, 2010
Go with the Machaca plate, then you can make your own burritos/tacos with the supplied tortillas. If you don't want to hassle with making them yourself, go with the Machaca burrito. I heart Machaca.
 
March 05, 2010
great review... many 4th of July's... it was seven in row!!!
 
1
More El Gringo (Manhattan Beach) reviews
review by . January 14, 2011
posted in MBlocal
Great food and even better catering!
The restaurants:      They have a few locations, but i prefer the original in Hermosa Beach on 26th street or so.  This was our 4th of July tradition for 8 years in a row.        When i'm craving some chips and spicy salsa and a beer, El Gringo is my go to. It's low key and very casual, but the food is great. Machaca and Eggs is my favorite #13 on the menu.  It's the best Machaca and Eggs I've ever had, and i've sampled quite …
Quick Tip by . January 18, 2011
Great food, fast and friendly service but the portions are huge, their tacos are the size of burritos.
Quick Tip by . January 18, 2011
If you're craving the greasy, cheese-laden variety of mexican - you'll love it! Ridiculously huge portions too. The Xcholti soup is the BEST, especially if you have a cold.
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
posted in MBlocal
i love machaca and eggs and El Gringo has the best in the southbay. maybe all of SoCal. love it.
Quick Tip by . March 05, 2010
posted in MBlocal
huge fan of the Xcholti soup! my go-to when feeling under the weather. great local vibe at all of their locations several so bay locations
Quick Tip by . August 31, 2009
I agree! Thanx for the adivice! Had the Machiaca&Eggs yesterday for the first time and it was good! Real good!
Quick Tip by . August 31, 2009
Best Machaca and Eggs i've ever had, and i've tried a lot. Made my top restaurant list too. I had 7 straight 4th of july dinners at HB store
About the reviewer
Brew Johnson ()
Ranked #102
I have a beard. I like to travel.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Butter
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

El Gringo is authentic Mexican food served in a home town environment. It was established in Hermosa Beach, California in 1986. Local restaurateur Bill Graw had a vision when he saw the Hermosa Beach landmark El Gringo for sale in 2001. Authentic Mexican food and good service, along with a home town environment is what people want, he thought. Since then, El Gringo Mexican Restaurant has become wildly popular with locals and visitors alike. 
view wiki

Details

Address: 921 N Sepulveda Blvd Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone: (310) 372-6080
Hours: 11am - 9pm Daily
Website: www.elgringo.com
Cuisine: Mexican
Price: $$
Attire: Casual
Polls with this restaurant
Amigos Tacos

Best Taco

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists