|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Beer » Reviews » El Gringo (Manhattan Beach) » User review

Great food and even better catering!

  • Jan 14, 2011
Rating:
+4
The restaurants:

They have a few locations, but i prefer the original in Hermosa Beach on 26th street or so.  This was our 4th of July tradition for 8 years in a row.  

When i'm craving some chips and spicy salsa and a beer, El Gringo is my go to. It's low key and very casual, but the food is great. Machaca and Eggs is my favorite #13 on the menu.  It's the best Machaca and Eggs I've ever had, and i've sampled quite a few. I can't really evaluate the rest of the menu because I literally have Machaca and Eggs every time... it's that good. I recently had them cater a party at my house.

The Catering:

Their catering service is called GUAC (Gringo Urban Assault Catering). It's an intimidating name, but it's really just a taco cart... but a darn good one at that!! All you have to do is tell them how many people and what type of meats you want (choices: chicken, fish, carnitas, or carne asada) and they handle everything else except drinks. I'd recommend carnitas and carne asada for sure. But if you want to be really boutique, ask them for the J.R. special... you guessed it... Machaca and Eggs. It's not on the catering menu and my last party was the first time they had ever done it. It was a HUGE success and it was gone fast. I had left overs of everything else (which they nicely packed up for us) but not a serving of Machaca and Eggs in sight. Bummer.

Were they affordable? Yes. About $9/per person
Will I use them again? Hell yes.
Were they easy to work with? Almost too easy... thought i was forgetting something, but they didn't.
Would I recommend them:  Absolutely.

It's a local company, based here in the South Bay and I could see them expanded their business further if they desired.  Good luck El Gringo!
Great food and even better catering! Great food and even better catering!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
More El Gringo (Manhattan Beach) reviews
Quick Tip by . January 18, 2011
Great food, fast and friendly service but the portions are huge, their tacos are the size of burritos.
Quick Tip by . January 18, 2011
If you're craving the greasy, cheese-laden variety of mexican - you'll love it! Ridiculously huge portions too. The Xcholti soup is the BEST, especially if you have a cold.
review by . March 05, 2010
posted in MBlocal
I was originally going to title this review "Machaca N Eggs, the cornerstone of any nutritious breakfast (or lunch, or dinner)" because I think El Gringo has some of the best Machaca anywhere (and this is coming from someone who's sampled Machaca everywhere from the finest restuarants in Cuernavaca to the gulliest stands in LA, from the Taqueria's of Guadalajara, to the fishing camps of Baja, from the ... well, you get the picture).  But I changed the title, because I didn't …
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
posted in MBlocal
i love machaca and eggs and El Gringo has the best in the southbay. maybe all of SoCal. love it.
Quick Tip by . March 05, 2010
posted in MBlocal
huge fan of the Xcholti soup! my go-to when feeling under the weather. great local vibe at all of their locations several so bay locations
Quick Tip by . August 31, 2009
I agree! Thanx for the adivice! Had the Machiaca&Eggs yesterday for the first time and it was good! Real good!
Quick Tip by . August 31, 2009
Best Machaca and Eggs i've ever had, and i've tried a lot. Made my top restaurant list too. I had 7 straight 4th of july dinners at HB store
About the reviewer
J.R. Johnson ()
Ranked #32
If you're looking for some more company related stuff about me... it's on my bio page here.      Also, here's a family surf video from our recent wedding. Family = good … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jrjohnson
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

El Gringo is authentic Mexican food served in a home town environment. It was established in Hermosa Beach, California in 1986. Local restaurateur Bill Graw had a vision when he saw the Hermosa Beach landmark El Gringo for sale in 2001. Authentic Mexican food and good service, along with a home town environment is what people want, he thought. Since then, El Gringo Mexican Restaurant has become wildly popular with locals and visitors alike. 
view wiki

Details

Address: 921 N Sepulveda Blvd Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone: (310) 372-6080
Hours: 11am - 9pm Daily
Website: www.elgringo.com
Cuisine: Mexican
Price: $$
Attire: Casual
Polls with this restaurant
Amigos Tacos

Best Taco

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists