|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Breakfast » Reviews » Gum Tree » User review

Gum Tree

Hermosa Beach Restaurant

< read all 2 reviews

Cape Cod comes to Hermosa Beach

  • Jun 25, 2009
Rating:
+4

My new go-to breakfast spot.  Friendly staff, charming environment, and most important...fantastic food.  Fresh/organic ingredients (organic doesn't rank high on my priority list, but if it tastes as good as their food does, bring it on).  I know the Website says the owner modeled the cafe after some of his Ausie faves, but whenever i'm there, I think Cape Cod.   The fact that its a 5 minute walk from my place makes it all the better. 

http://www.gumtreela.com/cafe_about.html

exterior

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
June 26, 2009
Mambino! This review is speaking my language...Cape Cod...Australia. My goodness...you'd think this restaurant was made for me! I am def going to check this little gem out! Can't wait...great review!
 
June 25, 2009
I've only eaten here once but I loved it! I had the Virgina ham sandwich (ham, brie & wild honey mustard) on deliciously crispy bread. I also tried the Aussie inspired Lamington (sponge cake dipped in chocolate, rolled in coconut). Everything was a yummy and fresh, although a little overpriced.. but I guess that's what beach dining will cost you these days!
 
June 25, 2009
It's a small venue...4 tables inside and 4 tables outside (i think). Secret definitely isn't out (yet)...as we haven't waited for more than 4 minutes on the 2 occasions we ate there.
June 26, 2009
there are a lot of 4's in this comment... it's making me skeptical. ;-)... i'm really surprised you haven't eaten there 4 times.
June 26, 2009
Give me a few more days...
 
June 25, 2009
We need another breakfast spot to mix in to our semi-permanent rotation of the North End and Le Pain Quotidienne. Talk to me re: wait times.
 
June 25, 2009
We're always stalking good breakfast spots in the south bay - thx for the tip! I've always hoped someone would do something with that great location & venue, it's been through some odd changes over the years.
 
1
More Gum Tree reviews
review by . June 28, 2009
posted in MBlocal
I went to try this place based 100% on the review of Gum Tree written by @Mambino.  I read the review on a Thursday and i was in Gum Tree eating on Saturday... that's one of the things i love about Lunch!  So thanks for thin inspiration @Mambino.      This place looks really cool.  It's on Pier Avenue, up the hill a bit from the all the riff raff and partying.  It has nice outside seating with a lot of umbrellas.  Looks very inviting probably the most …
About the reviewer
Mark Mamber ()
Ranked #574
Member Since: Apr 2, 2008
Last Login: Apr 14, 2010 12:46 AM UTC
About this restaurant

Wiki


238 PIER AVENUE • HERMOSA BEACH, CA 90254
(310) 376-8733

A celebrated restaurateur and Aussie native, Will has modeled our cafe after the vibrant beach cafe scene in Melbourne. Pop in for a spot of tea, a grill-pressed Virginia ham & Brie sandwich, or Lily’s favorite Aussie treat: a Lamington.

Committed to your health and the health of our environment, we strive to use organic and locally-sourced ingredients wherever possible

view wiki

Details

Polls with this restaurant
Four Daughters Kitchen

Best Breakfast

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists