|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Restaurants » Reviews » North End Caffe » User review

Cafe in Manhattan Beach

a restaurant in Manhattan Beach (also known as North End Cafe)

< read all 17 reviews

The North End Cafe-For hipsters and foodies alike!

  • Jul 21, 2009
Rating:
+5
If you're looking for flavor, excellent service, and a hip local Manhattan Beach atmosphere, look no further.  The North End Cafe may be small in size, but it packs a huge punch when it comes to taste. Here is the low-down as to what you'll expect when first entering this quaint cafe for breakfast.  If you go on a weekend morning between 9 and noon, there will be a line that extends the length of the kitchen. Grab a menu and get in!  A good strategy is to have one person in your party nail down a table or at least take post to be ready to pounce on the next available one that opens up.  Most tables inside or out, you'll have a gorgeous view of the water.  Once you approach the cash register, you'll order, pay, and tip right up front.  Expect to be served your beverage, then shortly thereafter, your meal...we've rarely waited longer than 10-15 minutes tops.  Nice.  

Depending on how hungry you are, you can either share or go solo with one of North Ends grilled breakfast sandwiches or savory mexican inspired egg tostadas or tacos.  The names of some of the dishes are hilarious like "Eggs from Hell" and "Huevos Divorciados".  My husband, Matt and I usually share the "Dos Burritos", a spectacular plate of two burritos stuffed with eggs, sausages, bacon, and cheese, topped with a smooth and perfectly spicy green sauce.  The co-stars of this dish are the potatoes, yum.  They have such a wonderful crunch and warm soft center that you dip into a spicy and tangy flavored sour cream (but, just a slight dip, you don't want to lose that wonderful roasted potato essence!).  If you want to eat on the lighter side, the menu includes a bowl of yogurt or granola and a very popular bowl of fresh seasonal fruit that is meant to satisfy the daily requirement for one person, but looks like it could feed an entire family.  One would travel from the Valley just to savor North Ends' delectable selection of coffees and teas, served at perfect temperature and as often as you'd like.  We've never eaten lunch at the North End Cafe, but if it's as good as their breakfast, we'll need to go soon!

The service is friendly and accommodating.  Say hello to "Nacho", North Ends' "Man Friday", who always has a kind word to share and takes care of you like you are part of his family.  Laura, the owner, is always there to take care of you, from a wobbly table to a special meal request, tattoos and coolness included.

The only negative to the North End is its popularity and, to some, its informality...this is a very small space that can be packed to the gills, unless you choose to eat outside (which of course brings you closer to those amazing views).  The best advice to avoid the crowds is to take your chances.  The food is worth the crowd and worth the relatively short wait.
Outside seating

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
19
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
20
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
February 08, 2010
That was a great writeup and I love Dos Burritos. I should add that if anyone is looking for a "J.R. sighting", go to the North End Cafe, there's a good chance you'll catch him. If you do, just ask him about the menu, I think he has tried everything.
 
July 21, 2009
Great review!  I get so jealous of all the great breakfast places you guys have in Cali.  There is a place like that here where I live in Ardmore, PA that get filled to the brim, but has amazing breakfast and that's pretty much all you go for. You might actually enjoy @drogoff's review of what he thinks might be the best breakfast burrito ever!  I also wanted to let you know that you can share your reviews on other sites like Facebook and Twitter using the Share box at the top of your review!
 
July 21, 2009
i'm starving now... i can't believe you haven't been there for lunch yet... their sandwiches are just as boutique as their breakfasts. I've even tried their dinner too, but they close early so i miss it most of the time.... hmmmmm... if i leave the office early tonight i'm grabbing dinner there. i need to write a review... just added another one to the list.
 
July 21, 2009
yum, I agree - I actually went there this past Sunday for breakfast before some surfing in El Porto. I had the Roman Toast (perfectly grilled bread filled with ham, mushroom caponata & mozzarella, with italian scrambled eggs on the side) Everything was cooked perfectly and the whole group enjoyed their food. We were in and out pretty quick and the staff was really helpful in finding us a table - I'll be back :)
 
July 21, 2009
Great review! I have been here for lunch several times, but never breakfast. The line out the door is a bit intimidating. If it is only 10-15 min...I think I can give it a try. Thanks for posting.
 
1
More North End Caffe reviews
review by . January 15, 2011
posted in MBlocal
Hidden Gem of the South Bay
North End Caffe is the best spot in Manhattan Beach to get a killer breakfast! North End is a privately owned, 'real food' type joint. When I mean they serve real food..it means they skimp on nothing about the grub. Huge portions, homemade, well-thought, super high quality ingredient combinations and first come, first serve seating. This place is packed all the time (especially during brunch on weekends) so come prepared to fight for a table.     Restaurants: favorite menu …
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2011
posted in MBlocal
Great breakfast sandwiches - I often eat them for lunch.
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2011
posted in MBlocal
They now have beer and wine here. makes this an even more compelling option for dinner! Check out the specials board on the back wall. Recently, that's all i look at.
Quick Tip by . December 29, 2010
posted in MBlocal
great food, but be prepared to struggle finding a seat. Since they were featured on the Food Network, the place it packed on weekend for breakfast and lunch. I can't recommend one item over another because they are all boutique and delicious on their own way. Check out the special board, experiment and try something new!!
Quick Tip by . October 30, 2010
The Laird is a healthy, tasty option for breakfast. Egg whites, tortilla and guacamole! Ole!
review by . September 10, 2010
   I just got finished with another flawless meal at the North End Cafe in Manhattan Beach. It's been about 6 months that I've deprived myself of my favorite breakfast on earth! The breakfast tacos never fail to be anything but perfect. Beyond flavorful, more than filling, and no guilt after eating the whole plate..........including the amazing seasoned potatoes! Thank you North End for being walking distance from me!
Quick Tip by . March 31, 2010
posted in MBlocal
It's all about the Vaughn sandwich!
Quick Tip by . March 31, 2010
Great food. Haven't had a meal miss yet. The Vaughn and The Shellback keep me coming back on a regular basis
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
posted in MBlocal
My favorite restaurant for breakfast/lunch in Manhattan Beach! unbelievable sandwich selection -- My fav: shellback
Quick Tip by . March 14, 2010
posted in MBlocal
My personal fav breakfast item ? The Tani: egg, turkey, cheese, guac, tortilla. Unique and delicious.
About the reviewer

Ranked #1027
Member Since: Jul 20, 2009
Last Login: Jul 21, 2009 01:13 AM UTC
About this restaurant

Wiki

North End Caffe in Manhattan Beach serves breakfast and brunch and has a variety of sandwiches and paninis. They also carry a large selection of coffees and teas.

they now serve dinner too!!

Address
3421 Highland Ave
Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
(310) 546-4782
www.northendcaffe.net
view wiki

Details

Address: 3421 Highland Ave Manhattan Beach, CA 90266

Polls with this restaurant
Four Daughters Kitchen

Best Breakfast

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists