|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Paciugo Gelato - Hermosa Beach » User review

Gelato Shop in Hermosa Beach, CA

< read all 1 reviews

Paciugo Gelato is just awesome!

  • Apr 19, 2009
Rating:
+5
I can't get enough Paciugo! Located next to Hermosa Beach Comedy & Magic is the South Bay's best gelato shop. Gelato and sorbet made daily with some wonderful combinations that you would not think of. Chocolate Jalapeno? Black Pepper Olive Oil? Sea Salt Caramel? All sounded odd to me at first, however all of them ended up tasting great.  My personal favorites are the Brown Sugar Waffle Cone, Crunchy Chocolate Swirl (Made with swirls of hazelnut laden Nutella!), Mint Chocolate Cookie (or Mint Chip), and Sea Salt Caramel.
Now you know what they're selling, how about who's doing the scooping? The mother/daughter proprietors Monien and Brittny have done an excellent job of hiring. The staff is always friendly, and quick to offer you countless samples which enable you to properly whittle down the broad selection. When my girlfriend and I became addicted about 10 months ago it was just as much due to the friendly staff as it was the friendly flavors. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
March 31, 2010
i haven't tried this place, but it's on the list to check out. Thanks for sharing.
 
July 03, 2009
Whoooa, all those flavors sound amazing.  And I thought that the olive oil sorbet that I had at French Laundry, and the basil ice cream that I had at Ici were weird!  Have you ever actually had the chocolate jalapeno and black pepper olive oil gelatos before?  I wonder how they taste.....

I gotta check this place out when I'm in Hermosa Beach.  Thanks for the review! :)
July 07, 2009
I've tried them both and while odd, they are definitely enjoyable. I'm not much of a chocolate lover but the chocolate jalapeno was good with a little lingering kick reminding you of the chile's presence. Black pepper olive oil is great and much better than expected. I'm completely jealous of your trip to French Laundry by the by, Thomas Keller is a genius.
 
April 29, 2009
Great review-- I am now craving this so job well done ;). That sea salt carmel seems oddly interesting. Your fav sound tasty too-- however I think Nutella makes everything taste better ;). If your a Nutella freak as well you might like this review that got me eating it in a panini!
April 29, 2009
That sounds great, I think I'll give it a whirl with some banana! Thanks for the link!
April 29, 2009
No problem! If you create some new delicious Nutella recipe-- be sure to share it with here on Lunch ;)
 
1
About the reviewer

Ranked #1281
Member Since: Apr 17, 2009
Last Login: Apr 1, 2010 01:20 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
dlamkin
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Paciugo Gelato Caffe (www.paciugo.com) freshly prepares its authentic italian gelato and sorbet each morning, serving 32 flavors daily. Based on third-generation Italian recipes, Paciugo has faithfully and authentically created over 250 flavors of gelato. Paciugo gelato is authentically made with the highest quality ingredients and no preservatives. Since Paciugo recipes has no cream or butter, the fat content is 3.5% (a little higher for flavors that contain cocoa and nuts), considerably less than ice cream, making Paciugo a more wholesome and nutritious product. The milk-based gelato is 70% lower in fat than premium ice creams, while the fruit-based product is fat free. This results in a richer taste and smoother texture versus conventional ice cream.
view wiki

Details

Address: 1034 Hermosa Ave; Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone: (310) 379-2525
Hours: Mon-Thu, Sun 11 a.m. - 10 p.m.

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists