|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Fast Food » Reviews » Papa John's Pizza » User review

Papa John's

The third largest take-out and delivery pizza restaurant chain in the United States.

< read all 6 reviews

Fantastic Pizza, just pizza nothing flashy, just a real good Pizza.

  • Jan 31, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+4
In the mid nineties, Dominos and Pizza Hut had a chain that would give those franchises a little to worry about.  Now it's a major contender in the pizza franchise market since some chains like Round Table aren't as common, Shakeys is almost extinct and Marcos is spread out.  That somebody is Papa Johns.

Think of it this way, while Pizza Hut may still be king of the Pizza restaurants in that it's a sit down establishment, Papa Johns can have them against the ropes with better deals on Pizza and a consistency that's hard to match.

Like any other pizza chain they still offer breadsticks, chicken wings along with their pizza.  Their pizza though has an amazingly chewy crust that is a delight every time.  The pizza's are also BIG with BIG slices and it doesn't taste like they skimp on ingredients like other chains.

A let down though is, all they have is ONE kind of Pizza.  No stuffed crust, no Ultimate Deep Dish or even novelty Pizza's like The Edge or P'Zone like Pizza Hut does.  It's just, Pizza.  At least it's good Pizza.

Papa Johns didn't do much to lower my love for their product, so much as I took a closer look at the Pizza Hut product and realize that maybe I do prefer them after all.  Papa John's though is a real close second or a 1a and 1b situation.

Papa John's has a great product but could stand to experiment a little more with what they have.  Nonetheless, that's a good a Pizza!
Fantastic Pizza, just pizza nothing flashy, just a real good Pizza.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
February 02, 2010
Great review! I've had Papa John's pizza one time, and I loved it! All these pizza reviews are inspiring me to write one on Round Tables! (laughs) I keep telling myself to finish my review of "The Constant Princess" before writing others, but, alas, I get sidetracked! :)
 
February 01, 2010
Nice!  I've never tried Papa John's before, but they sound pretty good.  Have you ever had Papa Murphy's before?  I really dig them because they have different styles of pizza.  Thicker or regular crust for my gluttonous days, and a light, thin crust for my feeling-guilty-about-eating-pizza days :)
February 01, 2010
Papa Murphy's isn't bad. I do like the promotions that they ran about how it's America's fastest growing Pizza chains. Real easy when they're in half the Wal-Marts you see. No, but Papa Murphy's isn't bad. I'll have to try it again some day. Thank you.
February 02, 2010
There are Papa Murphy's inside of Walmarts?  I did not know that since I don't really have Walmarts where I live.  Well, I still have to try Papa John's if I can find one of those!
 
1
More Papa John's Pizza reviews
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Great quality pizza and cheese bread among other items on the menu.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
One of the worst pizza slices I have ever had! Better to try a New York Slice or a Deep Dish slice!
Quick Tip by . February 27, 2010
Papa John's was started here in Louisville so that's mainly what I see. OK pizza to me. I do like that every pizza includes a pepperoncini.
Quick Tip by . January 31, 2010
Great Pizza with the regular side items. Too bad they don't experiment more for different kinds of Pizza though.
review by . December 13, 2008
My boyfriend worked at Papa John's Pizza a few years back as a 2nd job just to have some extra cash.  Until that point I was always a Pizza Hut girl, I LOVED Pizza Hut!  He got a 50% discount so he'd bring home a pizza almost other night.  Papa John's is the best take out pizza I've had in a long time. Their ingredients are superb and the customer service is excellent. They're reasonaly priced and have a very good verity of speicalty pizzas. I won't ever get tired or burnt out …
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Papa John's Pizza is the third largest take-out and delivery pizza restaurant chain in the United States, behind Pizza Hut and Domino's Pizza. It is based in Louisville, Kentucky. Papa John's slogan is "Better Ingredients. Better Pizza."

There are more than 3,300 Papa John's, including over 2,600 in the U.S. and more than 500 in over 30 other countries.
view wiki

Details

Lists with this restaurant
First to Review

"Great pizza!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists