|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Sally's Apizza » User review

Sally's Apizza

A pizzeria in the Wooster Square neighborhood of New Haven, Connecticut.

< read all 4 reviews

Sally's is ALWAYS worth the Wait!

  • Apr 11, 2010
Rating:
+5


Sally's has assembled its pizza with the finest of ingredients for years.  I have been going there since 1967 and the quality has been the same (excellent) for over 40 years.  It's a thin crusted pie with charred edges, absolutely delicious sauce (tomato or white) and perfect cheeses that melt well into the pie as well as into your mouth.  They do not have a long list of toppings but they are all of the highest quality.  When Connecticut Tomatoes are in season, they offer fresh tomato slices on your pizza...not to be missed.

Though rival Pepe's has the reputation for the 'best' Clam Pizza in New Haven, Sally's is no  slouch.  Go for the Red Clam pie with some extra garlic and you won't be disappointed.  I've also added sausage to this pizza and it takes it to a whole new level.  When the tomatoes are in season, a White Clam Pie with fresh tomato slices is heavenly.

The biggest complaint regarding Sally's is always 'the wait'.  Getting a reservation is possible but improbable unless you are from the area.  Best advice is to get there at 4:15 (yes, I know) as they open at 5:00 p.m. (give or take a few minutes).  This will get you in the 'first' seating.  You still won't get your pizza until around 6:00 on most nights.  When your waiter comes by, be ready to order.  Also, if you are expecting to have more than one soda or beer (that's all they have), order both of them or three or however many you may consume as you may never get the attention of your waiter (likely Lorenzo) again!

If you are anywhere near New Haven...just go!

 





 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
April 15, 2010
I have to agree. Sally's is worth the wait. I think going to Sally's is like stepping back in time. Thanks for your great reivew.
 
April 11, 2010
Great review and great tips!  Seriously had me drooling and sounds like it's totally worth the wait.  No wonder Sally's is at the top of @albertgrande's Top Ten Pizzas in Connecticut list.   Thanks for sharing! :)
April 12, 2010
My Pleasure!
 
1
More Sally's Apizza reviews
Quick Tip by . June 05, 2010
posted in Pizza Therapy
Truer words have not been spoken! They have a menu 'on-line' so that will help. Make sure you tell them you want mozzarella on each pizza (you may get sauce and toppings only otherwise)...AND, if you are intending on having more than one beer, order both or three or four when you place your pizza order!
Quick Tip by . June 05, 2010
posted in Pizza Therapy
I love Sally's When you go there it is like stepping back in time. You just stepped back to the '50's or 60's. There is a custom cartoon of Zonker Harris (Gary Turdeau from Doonesbury) on the wall. You can also sit under a signed protrait of Frank Sinatra. BIG TIP: Don't dilly dally when you order. Order your pizza as soon as the waiter comes to your table. And know what you want. If you are undecided you may not see the waiter agian for 45 minutes to an hour.
Quick Tip by . April 15, 2010
posted in Pizza Therapy
lol...this is where my water came from for my URS Crawfish & Andouille Sausage Pizza!!!!
About the reviewer

Ranked #1078
Member Since: Apr 11, 2010
Last Login: Jun 5, 2010 11:14 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
LauderdaleLegend
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Sally's Apizza is a pizzeria in the Wooster Square neighborhood of New Haven, Connecticut.

Sally's serves New Haven-style thin-crust apizza, which is baked in coal-fired brick ovens. By default, a New Haven pizza is a "plain" pizza topped with only tomato sauce, garlic, and hard cheeses.

The restaurant was opened in April 1938 by Salvatore Consiglio, nephew of Frank Pepe, who was the owner of Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana, another Wooster Street pizza restaurant. Sal Consiglio ran it until his death in May 1989. It is still operated in its original location by his wife Flora and their children Ruth, Richard and Robert.

Sally's is a small restaurant and residents of New Haven must wait in line outside the restaurant often for hours. Sally's walls have many photographs of Sinatra and Tony at Sinatra's height of popularity along with numerous other celebrities have dined at the establishment. There is also a gold record album from New Haven native Michael Bolton thanking Sally's in the liner notes.

Source: Wikipedia
view wiki

Details

Address: Wooster Square
Phone: (203) 624-5271
Cuisine: pizza
Attire: Casual
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists