|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Sashi Sushi + Saké Lounge » User review

Exterior View

A fushion sushi restaurant in Manhattan Beach, CA.

< read all 8 reviews

A Destination For Any Cccasion

  • May 3, 2010
  • by
  • posted in MBlocal
Rating:
+5

Sashi is more than just amazing sushi restaurant with alluring atmosphere. My love for Sashi comes from its unique ability to be more than just a restaurant, to offer more to Manhattan Beach than just a culinary destination.
When Sashi first opened its doors to Manhattan Beach it quickly became known to us locals as a great place for an entertaining date night or to grab a drink with friends to kick off the weekend. However, I quickly realized, along with many others, that this upscale eatery offers much more to our community than fine dining. While it is still my number one pick for a specialty cocktail (the Wildfire Martini is my favorite!) or a celebratory dinner, Sashi has become more of an everyday destination for me. 
Their “Sashi Hour” is the best way to gather with my friends and reconnect midweek over small plate trios and a glass of wine. Friends and I agree that with all of our busy schedules it’s nice that the deals last all night long, unlike other happy hours. We no longer feel such a rush to make it on time and order in a hurry; instead we can arrive and relax. Which is so easy to do in the comfy, casual lounge setting.
My boyfriend and I love to frequent the sushi bar for dinner and experience the food in a traditional way. There are always fresh daily additions to the raw section. And we also love to indulge in some of Chef Makoto’s classics, favorites include the crispy rice and spicy tuna, the MB Roll, and the black prawns tempura. Yum! 
 Even more exciting is that Sashi is developing their outdoor space into more of what our community craves; a spot to enjoy the sun accompanied by light beach fare, and afternoon cocktails.
Their cute fliers and email for the Sashi Sundays convinced my friends and myself to stop by yesterday and we are happy we did. They were featuring new small plates to the Sashi Hour menu (nice for us regulars) and the amazing drink specials! A “build your own Bloody Mary Bar” with garnishes like asparagus, hot sauce, array of olives, peppers and so much more! It was enjoyable to add all the toppings yourself. All for $6. Also we tried the Sake Sangria, probably my new favorite drink, EVER.  We enjoyed the new dishes and drinks while hanging out on the sunny patio that was set up as an outside lounge. It was perfect little Sunday and I have a feeling that patio will be calling my name every weekend!
I will add photos of the Sashi Sunday experience as soon as I upload them off of my camera!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
13
Fun to Read
16
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
May 04, 2010
Nice review. I just ate at Sashi last night and I have to say, Chef Makoto is firing on all cylinders right now. Everything was perfect, from an ice cream/sorbet-ish amuse bouch that tasted like caramel kettle corn or something, to the old standbys (crispy rice spicy tuna, tempura prawns, etc.), everything was off the charts. Just an all around great meal. I'm looking forward to checking out the Sashi Sundays for sure.
 
May 03, 2010
Ooooh, I love the sound of Sashi Hour! Most happy hours are over by the time I get there, so I always appreciate ones that last longer and if all night -- even better! I really like the crispy rice and spicy tuna and the MB roll as well, as I wrote about in my Sashi review.  Thanks for sharing! :)
 
May 03, 2010
Thanks the review Amy... solid first review!! Glad to see Sashi getting some love in my Manhattan Beach Local community. btw, I saw your 4dk quick tip too and i agree... i was actually there for lunch today!
 
1
More Sashi Sushi + Saké Lounge reviews
review by . September 05, 2009
posted in MBlocal
Sashi
Being more a fan of traditionally made sushi, I tend not to dig Japanese fusion joints too much, especially since most are really just gimmicky and overpriced.  However, for Sashi, I'm going to have to make an exception, because behind the fancy schmancy decor and the somewhat hefty prices, there's actually substance.  From the quality of the ingredients to the creativity of each dish and the way it is executed, almost everything is perfection.      Decor   …
review by . March 09, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Glamorous, hip setting. Great sushi. Makoto, Sashi's executive chef learned under Morimoto, who apparently is the greatest iron chef of all time (I'm not sure what this means, but people who watch Iron Chef are extremely impressed with this fact). This place is such a scene that they have a sake sommelier, for chrissakes.  If you want to look at beautiful people, eat some delicious sushi, and/or have a cocktail, this is a great spot.  On to the specifics:      Food   …
Quick Tip by . March 19, 2011
posted in MBlocal
Hip local sushi restaurant that is always busy and always sensational. The menu offers boutique sushi rolls, sushi, sashimi, robata, soups, entrees (Chilean sea bass is to die for) and specials. The happy hour is also killer-week nights and Sundays!
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2011
posted in MBlocal
Sushi is excellent - though ideally you just want to go on chef's menu / recommendations - I never do as well ordering on my own. Great for a group or celebration. Very clubby vibe, so fun for a night on the town if you're into that.
review by . September 14, 2010
posted in MBlocal
This place is beautiful inside and they're presentation is spectacular. Nice place to go to impress an out of South Bay date. The non-sushi menu is decent but the sushi leaves a bit to be desired and the prices are very high. Looks nice though.     
Quick Tip by . May 12, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Have eaten at Sashi 3 times in the past 2 weeks after a long hiatus. It was unbelievably good in all aspects. Moved my rating from 4 to 5.
Quick Tip by . March 07, 2010
posted in MBlocal
great food. chef makoto is always mixing up something new, so it's always exciting to get in there and see what's he's come up with.
About the reviewer
Amy Cusack ()
Ranked #838
Member Since: Apr 19, 2010
Last Login: Jun 29, 2010 07:01 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
amylogancusack
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Hearing a warm friendly voice when you call for a reservation. Feeling a sense of energy as you enter a space. Taking your first bite of a dish that is as delicious as it is beautiful. 

Like traveling to a faraway yet favorite place, we believe eating out should satisfy both your curiosity and your comfort.

Here, Chef Makoto takes you on a flavorful adventure with every visit. Committed to organic and locally grown ingredients whenever possible, Makoto’s new-Japanese style combines fresh ingredients and influences from many cultures into new dishes that will delight your palate and your eyes. 

In the end, the most memorable meals are those that inspire good conversation and a yearning to return. We want this to be your Sashi experience.
view wiki

Details

Address: 451 Manhattan Beach Blvd Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone: 310-545-0400
Cuisine: Sushi, Japanese Fusion

Polls with this restaurant
Beaches

Manhattan Beach Restaurants

by

Fusion Sushi

Best Sushi in Manhattan Beach

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists