|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Subway » User review

Subway

Franchise fast food restaurant that primarily sells sandwiches and salads

< read all 6 reviews

Their five-dollar footlongs saved them.

  • Dec 12, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+2
Subway, for a long time, was down in the negatives in my book. It was just plain nasty! But then along came Jared, who claimed to have lost 245 pounds simply by eating only Subway sandwiches, and suddenly the restaurant chain rocketed back into success! Not in my books, though. It took a while for them to truly start incorporating fresh ingredient choices, like spinach and bell peppers. But the icing on the cake was when they introduced five-dollar footlongs.

Now, you can get a really good deal for just $5 (plus tax). And, the best part is, you can customize any sandwich that they offer for $5 in any way you want. For example, today I ordered the oven-roasted chicken breast sandwich. I made it healthier by getting it on  whole-wheat bread, then adding lettuce, spinach, bell peppers, red onions, tomatoes, and cucumbers. It was like eating a salad inside a sandwich!

You can tell they've come a long way since my childhood when they really had a bad reputation. Now, they're viewed as a healthy option, and I agree. While they're still not as good as Togo's or independent cafes, Subway offers a quick and cheap option for those who desire something lighter and better for their colon.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
December 12, 2008
Way back in high school, I used to work at a Subway. There's something very ... clinical about eating there, like I'm at a doctor's waiting room or something. What I can also say is: If you're looking for something healthy, stay far far away from the meatball sub. You don't want to know how bad that thing is for you.
 
1
More Subway reviews
review by . October 01, 2009
Subway sandwich
In college, the lunch choices near campus were pretty grim. Pizza place that only got busy after 12am? No. Sbarro? Absolutely not. Food Court chinese food? UGH. Burrito? Maybe, but not every day.      I found myself at Subway a lot during this time of my life. Sandwiches never seem to get boring to me, and for $5 (or $2.99 if you only want a 6"-er!) you can ask your "sandwich artist" (such a silly term they use) to load up on everything. It was key for me to get …
review by . September 10, 2010
I'm a big dude.  Not in the "I work out five hours a day and have tickets to the gun show" big, I'm more along the lines of "I stay up way too late at night and like chips and salsa--sue me" big.  With that said, I will admit that I'm trying to lose weight.  I've been a member of a gym for quite some time now and have worn the heels of my shoes out on plenty of ellipticals.  I'm currently on my second run through the Insanity workout and …
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
Although other places offer more food for five dollars, Subway is one of the few "fast food" places with vegan-friendly options.
Quick Tip by . November 25, 2009
when i lived in chi-town this restaurant made me lose 10 pounds and I saved much money this meal is great for health
Quick Tip by . October 01, 2009
I can dig Subway. This is as healthy as fast food's gonna get!
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Ranked #108
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

Subway restaurants, owned by Doctor's Associates, Inc, is a chain of fast-food sandwich restaurants in over 88 countries worldwide. It was started in 1965 by Fred De Luca who, at age 17, opened his first sandwich shop as a means to raise money for college.

In addition to serving submarine-style sandwiches, Subway sells salads and a small assortment of baked goods (mostly cookies). Their growth and success has widely been attributed to the rise of a large health-conscious clientele that has shunned traditional fast-foods such as McDonald's and Burger King.

As of 2008, Subway was the third-largest fast-food franchise on the planet, just behind Yum! Brands and McDonald's. It is currently the world's fastest-growing franchise. 
view wiki

Details

Polls with this restaurant
Arby's

Fast Food

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists