|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Restaurants » Reviews » Wahoo's Fish Taco » User review

Wahoos logo

Restaurant in Manhattan Beach, CA

< read all 9 reviews

My favorite Lunch spot

  • May 27, 2009
Rating:
+5
Wahoo's is the best. Delicious, healthy, comfortable, clean, with a great staff...just some of the qualities that make Wahoo's a great place for lunch or dinner. They serve Mexican food, but with a heavy Asian and Island influence. Lots of teriyaki. The namesake fish tacos are great, but I usually go with a Banzai Bowl. This is composed of rice (they recently began serving brown rice), beans, teriyaki vegetables and your choice of protein. I generally go with the fish. My wife prefers the enchiladas which come with a mild red sauce or a spicy green sauce. Both are great. For beans, they offer traditional black, or Cajon white beans. The food is healthy... the fish is grilled and not fried, the beans are not refried and everything tastes really fresh.

They serve beers, have a big kids menu and have TV's with surf footage or a game if there is one on. Also, the staff is super friendly and helpful. You order at the counter and they bring the food to the table. It is a restaurant that parents and kids both enjoy and I make it there often. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
More Wahoo's Fish Taco reviews
Quick Tip by . December 29, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Wahoos feels like i'm being healthy even though i think it's very bland for mex food. i jokingly call it "PJ Blands" but i still eat there very often. I get the chicken enchiladas with extra red sauce.
Quick Tip by . April 02, 2010
posted in MBlocal
They have some pretty good spicy fish tacos!
Quick Tip by . April 02, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Had my first lunch there today. Loved the veggie enchiladas - teriyaki sweet&delicious! Will be back.
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Wahoos feels like i'm being healthy even though i think it's very bland for mex food. i jokingly call it "PJ Blands"
Quick Tip by . March 14, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Wahoo's always seems to leave me wanting. I do enjoy the blackened chicken bowl, however.
Quick Tip by . March 05, 2010
Love the white rice / black beans / fresh salsa side with any combo plate... reminds me of Costa Rican casitas
Quick Tip by . March 05, 2010
posted in MBlocal
Took me a while to really appreciate Wahoos but I have fallen in love with their tofu tacos! Random cuisine choice but delicious!
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in MBlocal
LOVE : ) so family friendly, affordable & great healthy options like brown rice and tofu. super tasty & easy we're there every friday!
About the reviewer

Ranked #87
I am a fan of healthy living, science fiction, the opinion page, Korean food, UCLA basketball and oatmeal.      I like to read reviews of restaurants, recipes and cooking products … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drogoff
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

The Wahoo's story begins in 1988, when the three Wahoo's brothers, Wing, Ed and Mingo, combined their love of surf and food to create a restaurant with an eclectic Mexican/Brazilian/Asian menu and a Hawaiian north-shore vibe.

Wing, Ed and Mingo were born with the love of restaurants in their blood. Growing up in San Paolo, Brazil, they actually spent their early years above their parents' Chinese restaurant. After school, you could find the brothers in the restaurant peeling shrimp or washing dishes. In 1975, the family moved to Orange County, California, where their dad opened the famous Shanghai Pine Garden Chinese restaurant on Balboa Island. People such as John Wayne would frequently eat there.

The brothers grew up both in the restaurant and on the beaches. Addicted to surfing, they would travel south to Mexico to surf and there got introduced to the fish taco. Years of surfing trips to Mexico created a craving for the speciality of charbroiled fish, salsa and tortillas.

In 1988, the brothers decided to import the fish taco to Orange County, California, and give it a unique twist. They combined the fish taco with their Brazilian favorites and Asian inspired items. The brothers decorated the original restaurant with the donations of near-by surf companies and that's how Wahoo's Fish Taco was born. Wahoo's then quickly developed a loyal and steady following, to where some locals came in daily and servers automatically knew what their customer ...
view wiki

Details

Address: 1129 Manhattan Ave Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone: (310) 796-1044
Website: www.wahoos.com
Cuisine: Mexican
Price: $
Attire: Casual
Polls with this restaurant
Beaches

Manhattan Beach Restaurants

by

Amigos Tacos

Best Taco

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists