|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » Gold Digger » User review

Gold Digger

#1 (10 weeks) hit single by Kanye West in 2005

< read all 2 reviews

I know this dude's ballin, and yeah that's nice

  • Dec 11, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+3
OK. I love @devora for creating this data point.

Gold Digger is one of those songs I love to hate and hate to love. It's wrong on so many levels. The Ray Charles impression? Really? No. The sexism? Na-uh. The shout-out to Geico? Seriously??? It's all so bad.

But you know when it's on in the club your booty is on the dance floor. Don't deny it. You know you've got your hand in the air shouting "We want pre-nup". What can I say? The song is catchy. It's fun. It's got a good beat and you can dance to it. In the end- isn't that all we need?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
April 08, 2009
my fave line is:"18years, 18years, and on the 18th bday found out it wasnt his" hahaha he shoulda call 888-45MAURY
 
January 03, 2009
hand in the air shouting "we want pre-nup!" HAHAH SO TRUE
 
December 12, 2008
You're right, @Etta_Strange, and I wonder how history will judge the music of today. "Gold Digger" is just a reworking of "I've Got a Woman", which itself was a reworking of "Jesus Is All The World To Me". "Gold Digger" is now being sampled by other artists. While I'm more than willing to get lost in the enjoyment as @DesignDude says, I am beginning to wonder if there's any original content left in the world.
 
December 11, 2008
DesignDude brings up a really interesting point that expands throughout more genres than Hip-Hop and even goes beyond the artistic genre of music. I think there's been that sort of tension through time. Think of Dadaists, Surreaists and pop artists like Andy Warhol. People were furious and up in arms about whether or not what they did constituted art but decades later the worth in it was found by some. There are also bigger questions: Should we take ourselves so seriously?
 
December 11, 2008
Lia, if you use the '@' symbol like on twitter, it will link to their profile. Thanks @devora for creating this data point!
 
1
More Gold Digger reviews
review by . December 20, 2008
Get your old school blues on, and shower it with some nouveau attitude.  Kanye brought the house down with this beat-thumpin', booty-bumpin', dancefloor jam, with some age-old social commentary.    Just like there will always be the playa', there will always be the notorious gold digger, who's singular focuse is being after one thing.  But, hey, while some things never change, you might as well lay some beats down as an homage to a time-old tradition.  It …
About the reviewer
Lia Lara-Tellez ()
Ranked #83
I work for a wholesale travel agency when I'm not Lunching (ok, sometimes when I am). No, this does not mean I can hook you up with a free hotel. It does mean I can hook myself up witha free hotel, so … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
liasol
Your ratings:
Nas
Nas
rate more to improve this
About this song

Wiki

"Gold Digger" is a song recorded by American rapper Kanye West featuring guest vocals by Jamie Foxx. Released as the second single from West's second album, Late Registration, "Gold Digger" peaked at number one on the US Billboard Hot 100 on September 6, 2005, becoming West's and Foxx's second number one single. It is most recognizable for the interpolation of Ray Charles' "I Got A Woman" by Foxx (who portrayed Charles in the 2004 film Ray).

The single broke a record for the most digital downloads in a week, selling over 80,000 digital downloads, and was also the fastest selling digital download of all time (both records have since been broken).  "Gold Digger" won the 2006 Grammy award for Best Solo Rap Performance.
view wiki

Details

Label: Roc-A-Fella
Release Date: July 30, 2005

Polls with this song
(Hot S**t) Country Grammar

Ridiculous Rap Songs

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists