Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » Johnny Maestro and the Brooklyn Bridge Today » User review

Exceptional new studio recording proves that this group is still in top form.

  • Dec 17, 2008
Imagine! It has been 50 years since a young singer from Brooklyn named Johnny Maestro made his very first appearance on the Billboard Hot 100 with a tune called "Sweetest One". At that time, Johnny was the lead singer of a popular New York City doo-wop group known as the Crests. Shortly thereafter the Crests would release one of the most memorable doo-wop tunes of all-time "Sixteen Candles". For the remainder of that decade Johnny would find himself back on the charts with more hits by the Crests and with a few solo hits as well. After Johnny Maestro left the Crests in 1962 he kind of faded into oblivion until 1968 when he formed a new 11 man group he christened the Brooklyn Bridge. The Brooklyn Bridge made a splash on the charts in the late 60's and Johnny and the group have been pretty much performing together ever since.
In 2004, Johnny Maestro and the Brooklyn Bridge went back into the studio for the first time in decades to record "Today". It is an amazing recording and one of the most enjoyable discs I have heard in an awfully long time. Anyone I know who has ever seen the Brooklyn Bridge perform in concert has raved about them. Much like Jay Black of Jay and the Americans fame, 66 year old Johnny Maestro sounds as good or better today than he did when he was a young man. Take a listen to "Today" and I am sure that you will agree. You will hear several of the hits first recorded by the Crests including the aforementioned "Sixteen Candles", "The Angels Listened In", "Trouble In Paradise" "Step By Step" and "My Juanita". You also get to sample Johnny's sensational solo recording of "What A Surprise". I love that song! Also featured on this 25 track disc are 10 incredible acappella numbers that spotlight the vocal prowess of the Brooklyn Bridge as a group. I was absolutely stunned by just about all of them but most especially by the group's interpretation of The Harptones "Life Is But A Dream", The Orioles "Crying In The Chapel" and The Flamingos "I Only Have Eyes For You". I cannot believe I am saying this but these recordings are every bit as good if not better than the originals!!! Finally, "Today" presents new recordings of a number of hits made famous by the Brooklyn Bridge in the late 1960's. Hear outstanding new recordings of the group's biggest single of all time "The Worst That Could Happen" as well as "Blessed Is The Rain" and "Welcome Me Love". The set concludes with Johnny's thrilling lead vocal on the Rogers and Hammmerstein favorite "You'll Never Walk Alone".
For those who enjoy the music of the fifties and sixties "Johnny Maestro and the Brooklyn Bridge Today" would be a wonderful addition to your library. It's nice to see that after all these years in the business Johnny Maestro is finally starting to get some well deserved recognition. My wife and I had the distinct please of seeing Johnny Maestro and the Brooklyn Bridge perform in January 2008.  What an incredible performance!   What is more amazing is that Johnny Maestro sounds every bit as good as he did as a teenager.   Long live rock and roll and long live Johnny Maestro!!!  Very highly recommended!!

What did you think of this review?

Fun to Read
Post a Comment
About the reviewer
Paul Tognetti ()
Ranked #2
I guess I would qualify as a frustrated writer. My work requires very little writing and so since 1999 I have been writing reviews on non-fiction books and anthology CD's on amazon.com. I never could … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this song


New Studio Recording! The story of Johnny Maestro and The Brooklyn Bridge is one that spans virtually the entire rock era. It begins with The Crests in the latter half of the 1950s, and continues today through their new recordings and a stage show that is one of the strongest and most popular on the East Coast.

Track Listings:

       1.Sixteen Candles
  • 2.The Angels Listened In
  • 3.The Worst That Could Happen
  • 4.My Juanita
  • 5.Blessed Is The Rain
  • 6.Could This Be Magic (Acappella)
  • 7.Life Is But A Dream (Acappella)
  • 8.At My Front Door (Acappella)
  • 9.You Gave Me Peace Of Mind (Acappella)
  • 10.I Only Have Eyes For You (Acappella)
  • 11.Trouble In Paradise
  • 12.Sweetest One
  • 13.Step By Step
  • 14.Unchained Melody
  • 15.Pretty Little Angel
  • 16.Beside You (Acappella)
  • 17.Sincerely (Acappella)
  • 18.Having A Part (Acappella)
  • 19.Crying In The Chapel (Acappella)
  • 20.So Fine (Acappella)
  • 21.Welcome Me Love
  • 22.What A Surprise
  • 23.Lonely Teardrops
  • 24.I Thank The Moon
  • 25.You'll Never Walk Alone
    view wiki



    Artist: Johnny Maestro and the Brooklyn Bridge
    Label: Collectables
    Genre: Pop Vocals, 1060's
    Release Date: May 11, 2004

    © 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
    Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
    This is you!
    Ranked #
    Last login
    Member since