|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » Talk Dirty to Me » User review

Poison Talk Dirty to Me

#9 hit single by Poison in 1987.

< read all 2 reviews

Talk Dirty to Me

  • Apr 26, 2010
Rating:
+5
As a baby of the '80's, I love this type of music. Pop rock, big wild hair, and crazy outfits: I'm proud to say that I'm a huge fan even today. And like any fan, I've heard of Poison. However, my relationship to them as artists is rather vague since the only song I am truly familiar with is "Every Rose Has Its Thorns." I'm happy to say that I have discovered an early song originally released on February 18, 1987 called "Talk Dirty to Me."

Before even listening to it, the title caught my attention. I wasn't sure how kinky or risque the lyrics would be, especially since this was from the 80's, but the idea did excite me. Luckily, the song didn't disappoint. Even though it has an upbeat tempo, this is a really dirty and fun song. Who doesn't enjoy being so passionate about someone that you can't get enough of her or him? Bret Michaels sings about how this woman is driving him crazy because she looks so good and acts against the grain of what society expects of her. She's a little rebel wildcat! She drives him passionate, as referenced in the chorus, to the point that he will take her anywhere, especially if she talks dirty to him. He is willing to do anything for her because he always wants to see her, hear her, and touch her. The real beauty of this song is that the emotions are equally felt by the object of Michaels' affections.

"Talk Dirty to Me" has fun lyrics and the signature guitar sounds of an 80's rock band. There is a pretty kick-ass solo about 2:45 minutes into the song. Also, the end of the song finishes on a high note with the guitar. Basically, I can't help smiling and bobbing my head to the music. It makes me want to get up and dance all goofy, which is major success in my book for an 80's song. They were great dance songs!

As far as the music video, there was nothing too unique to the story. It started off with a phone call for Cindy. Then, the mother turns to her husband to exclaim about how "That Bret sounds like such a nice boy." Little does the mother know what her daughter is doing with this "nice boy." When Cindy picks up the phone, she tells her beau how much she wants him: "Oh Bret, I just can't wait to get my hands all over you." Then, the band takes off. The rest of the video is clips of them on the stage dancing about, head banging, and moving very sexily. There are a couple of hip thrusts and PG13 mouth action going on for those who are paying attention to the performers closely, but, all and all, it's simply a fun music video. They also were artsy with their video by including unusual camera angles and even showing the recording cameras moving across the stage for the different shots. 

The feature that stands out the most in the video, other than the band moving all over the place, are their wardrobes. Though their outfits are a bit atrocious, even for my tastes, they pull off being sexy rock stars. I would say every single one of their band members is H-O-T! Out of the entire group, Bret is the one I liked the most.

If I had been old enough when they were popular, I would have loved to attend one of their concerts and dance on the stage with them (like that would have been possible!). They sure know how to have fun, and I would have counted myself lucky to be invited to such a shindig. If you haven't listened to this song, you're missing out!
Talk Dirty to Me

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
33
Thought-Provoking
27
Fun to Read
30
Well-Organized
33
Post a Comment
October 16, 2010
sick review adrianna! very very well organized! :)
October 17, 2010
Thanks so much for reading and rating my review, Lester! I have a few more music drafts waiting for me to tackle, but I can be a bit slow with my writing, lol. :)
 
June 29, 2010
Great review and fabulous photos. Enjoyed it tremendously! And thanks for joining "Music Matters"!
June 29, 2010
Thanks, Paul! This is my first music review, so it's a little raw. I'm hoping to add more in the near future. I'm excited that you have this community. I've been looking for a music place like this for a while! Can't wait to become more active!
 
May 02, 2010
3 sets of 3 thumbs up!
May 02, 2010
(laughs) Thanks, Peter! Thumbs up are always appreciated. :)
May 02, 2010
As are compliments on profile pictures. :)
May 02, 2010
(laughs) No problemo. :)
 
May 02, 2010
Wonderful review, Adrianna! You eloquently analyzed every element of the song from its musicale to the live music video. I'd never heard of this song (or "Every Rose Has Its Thorns") until now. Thanks for the tip! If you haven't heard "Unskinny Bop", go for it! You'll bop 'til you drop!
May 02, 2010
Thanks, Peter! I'm glad you enjoyed it all. I'm going to check out the song you recommended later on. Maybe I will write a review to it too! ;)
 
April 28, 2010
Excellent review, this is one of those fun 80's tracks. I remember this one for sure, brings me back.
April 28, 2010
Thanks so much for reading my review! I'm glad it brought back some memories for you. :)
 
April 27, 2010
Good review. Never been a fan of 80s music in general, but I do remember the video for this one. Brings back memories. :-)
April 28, 2010
(laughs) I had never seen the video before reviewing the song. I figured I should look at both with my write-up. :)
 
April 27, 2010
I saw the title "Talk Dirty" so I came running LOL! great write up!!
April 27, 2010
LOL! I know! I contemplated a different title since that is the title of the song...but...it's so good! LOL! The kinkiness fits with the song. It was funny because my old high school coach called it "raunchy." Never would have thought to use that word merely because kinky sounds more fun, lol! He said my review reminded him of how old he is and how young I am. I wonder if that's good or not, lol!
May 08, 2010
I know! I feel like I need to take a shower!! LOL!
May 08, 2010
(laughs) Taking a shower every day is good for one's hygiene. :)
 
April 26, 2010
Awesome review of an awesome song, Adrianna! I hope Bret pulls through and can continue to create great music. Thanks for sharing!
April 27, 2010
Thanks for reading my review, Debbie! I hope the same. :)
 
1
More Talk Dirty to Me reviews
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
posted in Music Matters
an old song by a nearly one hit wonder. love this song every once in a while. but guitar hero butchered this, along with many other songs.
About the reviewer
Adrianna Simone ()
Ranked #18
MY GROUPS (AND COMMUNITY):      The following information was taken from the officialCafe Libri Website.   Cafe Libri (Yahoo Reading Discussion Group)is the original Cafe … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Adrianna
Your ratings:
U2
U2
rate more to improve this
About this song

Wiki

"Talk Dirty to Me" is the second single from Poison, originally from the album Look What the Cat Dragged In. It was the band's first big hit, as the first single, "Cry Tough", only charted at #97 on the UK Singles chart. This song reached #9 on the Billboard Hot 100 on May 16, 1987.[1]

Released as a single on February 18, 1987 on the Enigma label of Capitol Records, "Talk Dirty to Me" was followed by the hits "I Want Action" and "I Won't Forget You". It is also included as a playable cover track Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock, with Michaels re-recording the vocals. The B-side on this single is "Want Some, Need Some". In 2009 "Talk Dirty to Me" was named the 40th best hard rock song of all time by VH1.

view wiki

Details

Label: Enigma/Capitol
Release Date: March 14, 1987

First to Review

"Talk Dirty to Me"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists