|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » We Are the World: 25 for Haiti » User review

We Are The World (remake)

A rerecording of We Are the World for it's 25th anniversary to benefit recovery in Haiti.

< read all 4 reviews

100 voices with 1 goal: Relief for Haiti.

  • Feb 6, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5


It was twenty five years ago when the biggest names in the music industry gathered together in an effort to bring aid to Africa. What they created was a global sensation that topped all the charts and raised millions for those in need.

Once again, Quincy Jones and Lionel Richie have united the biggest stars to bring aid to the victims in Haiti.

Among the stars for the remake are: Usher, Natalie Cole, and John Legend, Wyclef Jean, Sting, Fergie, Alicia Keys, and Justin Timberlake -- among others.

The anniversary was originally set to be marked on Jan. 28, but that changed when an earthquake devastated Haiti on Jan. 12. Now, proceeds from the single and video will go to Haiti relief.

If the remake is anything like the original, Haiti can expect millions of dollars to pour in and offer much needed relief to the devastated country.

The single, dubbed "We Are The World 2.0" is set for release on February 12th, with a special tribute by the Jackson family for the late King of Pop.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
February 07, 2010
Thanks for this review and for the footage! It's a wonderful tribute for an important cause, I can't wait to get it on the 12th!
 
February 07, 2010
It's really touching how so many people band together in the wake of this tragic event. I can't believe this is coming out just one month after it happened. I can't wait to get it on iTunes on Feb 12. Thanks for sharing, Justyn! :)
 
February 06, 2010
This is such a great song that brings back memories for so many people. I can't wait to hear the new version. I'm sure it's going to be beautiful. And it's nice to see people unite to help others. Thanks for sharing this, aiding the cause and supporting the people of Haiti!
 
February 06, 2010
Had not heard about this. Fabulous idea. Loved the original. Here's hoping that it generates tens of millions of dollars for those poor folks in Haiti. Thanks for sharing the info.
 
1
More We Are the World: 25 for Haiti reviews
Quick Tip by . February 13, 2010
I certainly appreciate the sentiments behind this great cause and I think helping Haiti is needed, but did they have to ruin a classic song?
Quick Tip by . February 13, 2010
#wow great video. props to all the artist including #nipsey #hussle
Quick Tip by . February 06, 2010
Great song for a great cause, as well as a lovely tribute to the late King of Pop's legacy.
About the reviewer
Justyn Joe Richardson ()
Ranked #132
My name is Justyn Richardson but I go by the name Shoyu - after joining the on-line gaming site, Pogo, I have reverted back to my childhood nickname of Tasteless Joe. I first acquired the name when I … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
shoyu1
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this song

Wiki

On January 12, 2010, at 21:53 UTC, (4:53 pm local time) Haiti was struck by a magnitude-7.0 earthquake, the country's most severe earthquake in over 200 years. The epicenter of the quake was just outside the Haitian capital Port-au-Prince. It has been estimated that the death toll could reach 200,000. Widespread damage resulted from the quake. The capital city was devastated.

Prior to the earthquake, Quincy Jones and Lionel Richie had planned to organize a re-recording of "We Are the World" on January 28, 2010 — the 25th anniversary of the original recording of the song. However, due to the devastation caused in Haiti, these plans were postponed. The new version of the song was recorded on February 1, 2010. Over 75 musicians were involved in the recording, which was held in the same place as the original. Also similar to the 1985 process, some of the participating musicians were already in Los Angeles to attend an awards ceremony: the 52nd Grammy Awards. The new version will feature updated lyrics and music, as well as a rap segment pertaining to Haiti. According to Quincy Jones, Michael Jackson's younger sister Janet will take her late brother's part in the song. The production team for the song include RedOne and musical director Ricky Minor. Haitian-American musician Wyclef Jean will also serve as a producer.

At the time of the recording, numerous artists commented on the process, the 1985 version of the song and co-writer Michael Jackson. R&B singer ...
view wiki

Tags

Music, Songs, Charity, Earthquake In Haiti, Haiti, Earthquake Relief, Song Remakes, We Are The World

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists