|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Baseball » Reviews » 2009 MLB All-Star Game » User review

2009 MLB All-Star Game

July 14th 2009 at Busch Stadium

< read all 3 reviews

Is There Any Other Headline? The American League Wins...Again!

  • Jul 16, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+2
 It's starting to get to a point where watching the All-Star Game just isn't fun anymore if you are a fan of a National League team.  The NL hasn't won the All-Star Game since 1996; that's 13 years!  Every year, you think to yourself, "this is going to be the year" and it really looked that way this time around, but in the end, the American League found a way to win.  The game isn't that entertaining of a show in the first place, but this year's was a big deal as President Obama (who stole the show by the way) threw out the first pitch in his Chicago White Sox jacket.  This was also the first time since the sixties that the All-Star game was held in St. Louis, which is known to be a huge baseball town.  It was also a big deal to me since the NL roster was filled with Phillies along with their manager, Charlie Manuel, at the helm.  But even with all the hype, it was a pretty big let down.

It was the bottom of the eighth and Ryan Howard of the Phillies was up at bat with two men in scoring position (second and third base) with two outs in the inning, the AL up 4-3 late.  Howard was in a situation where the pitcher, Jonathan Paplebon of the Boston Red Sox, wasn't going to give Howard anything to hit and would probably walk him to load the bases.  Paplebon was keep keeping the ball low, as in hitting the ground low.  With this great scoring chance to possibly tie or even take the game late, what does Howard do?  he swings at a pitch in the dirt, ending the inning.  Now I know that Howard strikes out a lot, but when it matters, really matters, he comes through and he didn't here and it was extremely frustrating.  Not just for me as a Phillies fan, but I'm sure for all those folks as well who were pulling for the NL to finally get an All-Star Game victory again.  Eve when the NL wins the World Series, it seems like the AL just becomes this animal when the All-Star break comes around.  The truly best part of the All-Star Game though was getting to listen to President Obama help call an inning of the game, I mean that truly was a treat.  He wasn't presidential at all and it really seemed like he was just laid back and loved talking about the game.

The only thing that I think of when the American League wins the home field advantage is that it gives the National League a better chance to win the World Series at home.  At least that's how I look at it.  This one wasn't one for the ages, but it had its special moments.  Obama's first pitch was very fun to watch as well as watching him announce an inning.  What if Obama hadn't gotten into politics?  He would have been the White Sox's play by play guy.  Not really, but oh well.  Hopefully the NL can make some magic next year, I'm keeping my fingers crossed!  2/5!
St. Louis 2009 All-Star Game Obama's first pitch

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
July 19, 2009
Funny, despite the fact that I am a huge baseball fan the All-Star game usually does not interest me. I did see the pre-game festivities....very impressive. Started to watch the game and got a phone call. Never went back. My only interest in the game was to see Tim Wakefield. ..such a nice guy and a class act all the way around. I would have been disappointed.
July 19, 2009
Ya, it really was a pretty boring game overall...
 
July 16, 2009
Man this hurts but I like this article. Im a NL fan (Go Dodgers) & to see these guys go down year after year kinda reminds me of my football season "The Raiders Lose(Again)".
 
July 16, 2009
Speaking of which, I remeber USC losing to UCLA 8 times in a row in the 90's. Ouch! :-) I too like the MLB All-Star game. It is an opportunity to showcase and connect with the history of the game. My main concern with it is that all of the players do not get a chance to play. My two Angel representatives this year didn't make onto the field. :-( Some have called for modifying the rules such that players that have been removed from the game can reenter the game later. This probably wouldn't help the situation much for pitchers, but it would help to get all the position players into the game. I would love to see that. You gotta love Carl Crawford's catch to save the game!
 
July 16, 2009
i'm an NL fan. it's killing me that we can't win one. This reminds me of the 13 years in a row that my Trojans lost to Notre Dame... that was brutal. But you have to agree that the baseball all star game is hands down the best to watch of all the all star games because these guys really want to win. The NL even intentionally walked someone... the manager came out and said he was going to do everything he could to win the game. it really made it exciting coming down the stretch with Howard pinch hitting. Even though the NL lost again i thought it was a great game to watch.
July 16, 2009
I'm totally with you. I don't watch any other All-Star game. I'm a Baseball fan through and through!
 
July 16, 2009
You can really see the interest. During the inning that the NL scored their runs, Obama was in the booth with the commentators and they virtually ignored the play on the field.
 
1
More 2009 MLB All-Star Game reviews
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2011
These things are little more than chances for fans to see if player A is really better than player B. Giving home field advantage in the World Series to the league that wins is a load of grade-a bullshit.
review by . July 16, 2009
   The game was close and should have rated as a nail biter.  Other than the Ryan Howard strikeout in the 8th and the Carl Crawford catch, you could have skipped this one.  The only excitement was the inning that the NL scored all their runs and during that time Obama visited with Messrs McCarver and Buck and the game was virtually ignored.
About the reviewer
Julian Brown ()
Ranked #33
Hi, my name is Julian Brown. I currently write for The Brotherly Game, a local Philadelphia soccer website where I cover the US Women's National Team and the local WPS Philadelphia Independence. I … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Husher315
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this sports team

Wiki


The 2009 All-Star Game was
 held at Busch Stadium in St. Louis.  As the new tradition goes, the winning League (either American or National) will gain Home field advantage for the 2009 World Series. 

The Final Score was 4-3 American League in 9 innings, giving them home field advantage for the World Series. 

The Final roster for the American League All-Star Team was as follows:

Starters: Pitchers: Reserves:
The current roster for the National League All-Star Team is as follows:

Starters:
view wiki

Details

League: American League, National League, All-Star
Ballpark: Busch Stadium
Championships: N/A
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists