|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » American Idol - Season 8 » User review

American Idol - Season 8

Reality TV Show based on a singing competition

< read all 6 reviews

This season is TMTH, and not in a good way

  • Mar 18, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-1
I know it's been fashionable to hate on American Idol since... well, since the beginning.  But I have never been a hater.  I became a huge fan during season two, and I continue to be a fan today.  But Idol, you have let me down in so many ways.  Let me name three:

1. Idol has stopped treating viewers with respect.  I don't think anyone watching really believes that the judges just couldn't make up their minds, that "sing-offs" were necessary, or that the Top 12 just had to be expanded to a Top 13.   Give me a break, this season could have easily been narrowed to a Top 5 right from the get go.

2. The contestants this year aren't as talented or interesting as in years past, and it's not that good people didn't try out.  Leneche, the amazing girl who auditioned in Lousiville with her original song Natty?  Cory, the gothy kid who also makes his own horror movies?  Jason Castro's brothter?   All three would've spiced up the Top 12 (I mean Top 13).

3. Kara whatshername.  Idol might as well have added Elizabeth Hassleback as a judge.  Just as annoying.

But yeah, I still watch, and I avoid Facebook and Twitter and the internet from 5 PM on PST on Wednesdays, less any east coasters post spoilers.  What's wrong with me?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
April 01, 2009
Hi.....nothing's wrong with you. I still watch too. At first I didn't like Kara at all, but there's something very sincere about her....she's serious, but all in all, they definitely don't need 4 judges on that show. I have to agree with Design Dude.....Adam is absolutely killing it.....he's so consistent. So, I guess I'll just hav to stick it out until the end of the season, now that I'm this far along!
 
March 19, 2009
I know what you mean about avoiding the east coast spoilers! Maybe you could add some facts about the show in the wiki section, like the judges names, etc.
 
March 19, 2009
Hahaha, so true about "Kara whatshername"! I'm not sure why AI decided that they needed an extra judge this season.
April 08, 2009
I gather it's because they wanted to audition her as the lone "girl judge" for next season when Abdul leaves.
April 09, 2009
I also think they needed someone more relevant to the CURRENT music scene.
 
1
More American Idol - Season 8 reviews
review by . May 20, 2009
posted in Pass The Remote!
Let's hope that the old cliche, good guys always finish last, is not true in this case! Who's going to win the battle for American pop stardom, well for at least three months?    THE SOULFUL CHRISTIAN MIDWESTERNER:  Kris Allen: The nice guy that's reminiscent of Jack Johnson has done amazing renditions of everything from Michael Jackson ("Remember the Time" and "Man in the Mirror) to Kanye West ("Heartless") to Garth Brooks ("To Make You Feel My Love") to Don Henley …
review by . April 13, 2009
Why do I love Idol?  Watching young artists with huge dreams makes me feel happy.  Listening to interesting people with interesting stories and then watching them pour their heart and soul into a performance that may or may not make their dream come true makes me root for each one.  Having the idols friends and family members in the audience with looks of adoration and hope shows how lucky they are for that loyalty.  All of it makes for a happy time.  I watch it every week …
review by . April 22, 2008
American Idol
I have been watching American Idol religiously since season 2. My mom is the one who got me started at the end of Season 1 when Kelly Clarkson won the title. I absolutely love this show now - it is the best of reality TV. I mean you're getting the best of the best with this show.   COMEDY - You get to watch people who think they can sing make fools of themselves during pre-show auditions, it's as good as watching someone fall or trip really bad (as long as they don't get hurt). I mean, …
review by . May 09, 2008
This Season of American Idol has some of the same flaws as past seasons and some new ones that illustrate exactly what is wrong with music today.  The contestants overall seem to select sleepy songs that are more suitable for a dentist's office than escaping from the lips of a supposedly youthful and musical 16 year old. Each season has the same type of wannabe idols - a rocker, a country crooner, a heart throb, a diva with a strong voice. Where is the originality? Idol makes the same pocket-book …
About the reviewer

Ranked #2183
Member Since: Mar 18, 2009
Last Login: Mar 18, 2009 11:02 PM UTC
About this tv show

Wiki

Hosted by Ryan Seacrest, this reality TV series is a competition for who will be America's next singing superstar.

Season 8 Judges – Paula Abdul, Simon Cowell, Randy Jackson and new addition, Kara DioGuardi. 

The judges critique every performance, but it's the viewing public that determines who will advance to the next round of competition and who will go home. Voting via telephone and text-messaging begins immediately after each performance show, and the results are announced during the following night's broadcast.

Eventually the competition is narrowed down to two finalists who compete for a major recording contract and the American Idol title. Past winners Kelly Clarkson, Ruben Studdard, Fantasia Barrino, Carrie Underwood, Taylor Hicks, Jordin Sparks and recently crowned David Cook have become household names and have risen to the top of the recording industry.

Emmy Award-winning AMERICAN IDOL is created and executive-produced by Simon Fuller, founder of 19 Entertainment. The series is executive-produced by Cecile Frot-Coutaz, CEO, FremantleMedia North America, Inc.; and Ken Warwick, Executive Producer, FremantleMedia North America, Inc.

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists