|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » American Idol - Season 8 » User review

American Idol - Season 8

Reality TV Show based on a singing competition

< read all 5 reviews

The Battle of the Soulful Christian Midwesterner and The Hard Rocking Theatre Nerd

  • May 20, 2009
Rating:
+5
Let's hope that the old cliche, good guys always finish last, is not true in this case! Who's going to win the battle for American pop stardom, well for at least three months?

THE SOULFUL CHRISTIAN MIDWESTERNER:
Kris Allen: The nice guy that's reminiscent of Jack Johnson has done amazing renditions of everything from Michael Jackson ("Remember the Time" and "Man in the Mirror) to Kanye West ("Heartless") to Garth Brooks ("To Make You Feel My Love") to Don Henley ("All She Wants To Do Is Dance") to Donna Summer ("She Works Hard For The Money"). Now if that isn't versatility, I don't know what is! Also, with every song he would switch out between playing piano, guitar or just singing.  My favorite part of the finale was his performance of my all time favorite soul song, Bill Wither's "Ain't No Sunshine":

VERSUS

THE HARD ROCKING THEATRE NERD:
Adam Lambert: The theatre nerd who turned Hollywood actor reminds me of Elvis- definitely a showman, he has the King's looks and charm. He has let his lungs rip and vocal chords fly on literally screaming renditions of everything from Michael Jackson ("Black or White") to The Rolling Stones ("Satisfaction") to Johnny Cash ("Ring of Fire") to Led Zeppelin ("Whole Lotta Love") to Aerosmith ("Cryin'"). He doesn't have the versatility that Kris has and his talent lies strictly in his screaching vocals and theatrics. He does know how to put on a show. Will America be blinded by his piercing blue eyes and lung capacity? For comparison, we'll use his performance of my second favorite soul song, the Civil Rights anthem, Sam Cooke's "A Change Gonna Come":




AND THE WINNER IS....
KRIS! Yes, I am aware that Adam has a HUGE Twitter following but, Kris has the talent. There is a difference between screaming for the sake of it ala Adam Lambert and releasing it from your soul ala Aretha Franklin. In respect to integrity, I must tell you, that I LOVE soul music. Kris clearly wins in that category- he rocked Bill Wither's "Ain't No Sunshine" and played an inspirational Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On".

Adam's best song was Tear for Fears "Mad World" but, that was it. He should've made his finale around that style. Instead, he picked an obscure song (well, to me who didn't even know who Kara DioGuardi was before this show) written by Kara to kiss some you-know-what. It didn't work for me. Let's hope that in this case, the Soulful Christian Midwestern Nice Guy finishes first.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
May 20, 2009
Great review. One thing I would say is, I think you chose to highlight a good song for Chris and a not so great song for Adam in the review. Also, I think they made them sing the Kara song (the contestants didn't choose), which was awful for both guys (however, not quite so bad for Chris). I think Adam definitely is the better singer, but good lord, his screeching was so over the top and ear piercing that my wife would run to the other room each time he unleashed the screech. It was almost as if she was a cat being tortured by an ultrasonic pitch that's inaudible to humans. Most of the time, I'd be thoroughly enjoying Adam's songs, until the screech, at which point I'd cringe and my wife would flee. Regardless of who wins, this had to be the best season ever as far as talent goes. After the likable blind guy got voted off, all the male contestants were fantastic, IMO.
May 20, 2009
I agree. The only reason that I chose to use the "A Change Gonna Come" video is to compare Adam and Kris as far as soul goes. Like I said in the review, I really liked Adam's Tear for Fears' "Mad World" that and his rendition of Nina Simone's "Feeling Good". I have a feeling that Adam will win but, I like to root for the underdog! Thanks for the comment- I didn't know that the judges made him sing the Kara song- that's really self-indulgent of her LOL!
May 20, 2009
He did another song earlier in the season where he wasn't screeching that was excellent also ... maybe One? Maybe something else.
May 20, 2009
Maybe we can find it in the Adam Lambert wiki because there's a song list there...I'm trying to remember a song where he doesn't screech LOL! My boyfriend doesn't watch it- he works at night and leaves me to my reality competition show brainlessness!
 
May 20, 2009
disagree!!! kris is boring...i'd buy his CD to put my kids to sleep. adam is mezmerizing!!!
May 20, 2009
LOL...Adam will definitely keep them up with his screaming! I have a feeling that your guy's going to win but, I like to root for the underdog and like I said in the review, I'm more of a soul girl! Thanks for your comment!
May 20, 2009
Ha. I like you weighing in with a strong take. Who does your husband like?
May 21, 2009
touche!! adam might also keep the kids up!! ;-) husband loves adam...and loves when adam screams...no joke!!! (so do i!!)
May 21, 2009
He has an amazing range- I'd probably start coughing or choking if I tried to do what he does ;P
 
May 20, 2009
Also, can I just add what the hell were they thinking for the final song? It was HORRIBLE!!!! Simon was shockingly tip lipped about his feelings on the subject, probably out of professional courtesy for Kara, but it truly was an awful some for both of them to sing.
May 20, 2009
I KNOW! I have NO CLUE! I didn't even know what it was...I mean, they should've made up for Adam's shitty Sam Cooke rendition with his Nina Simone's "Feeling Good"...OR something else. But, that song SUCKED. And it was funny how she was so touched by it...what a kiss ass!
 
May 20, 2009
I voted about 20 times for Kris. I do think that Adam is definitely the better singer, but Kris will need the American Idol title in order to fully advance his career where as Adam will not, he already is a rock star.
 
May 20, 2009
I agree with you 100% on this one. And I must admit... overwhelmed by Adam's twitter popularity, I actually picked up the phone last night to vote for Kris. Let's hope those two minutes of my time help put him on top :)
May 20, 2009
LOL...@jrytand said she text voted for him 40 times!
 
1
More American Idol - Season 8 reviews
review by . April 13, 2009
Why do I love Idol?  Watching young artists with huge dreams makes me feel happy.  Listening to interesting people with interesting stories and then watching them pour their heart and soul into a performance that may or may not make their dream come true makes me root for each one.  Having the idols friends and family members in the audience with looks of adoration and hope shows how lucky they are for that loyalty.  All of it makes for a happy time.  I watch it every week …
review by . April 22, 2008
American Idol
I have been watching American Idol religiously since season 2. My mom is the one who got me started at the end of Season 1 when Kelly Clarkson won the title. I absolutely love this show now - it is the best of reality TV. I mean you're getting the best of the best with this show.   COMEDY - You get to watch people who think they can sing make fools of themselves during pre-show auditions, it's as good as watching someone fall or trip really bad (as long as they don't get hurt). I mean, …
review by . May 09, 2008
This Season of American Idol has some of the same flaws as past seasons and some new ones that illustrate exactly what is wrong with music today.  The contestants overall seem to select sleepy songs that are more suitable for a dentist's office than escaping from the lips of a supposedly youthful and musical 16 year old. Each season has the same type of wannabe idols - a rocker, a country crooner, a heart throb, a diva with a strong voice. Where is the originality? Idol makes the same pocket-book …
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #15
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Hosted by Ryan Seacrest, this reality TV series is a competition for who will be America's next singing superstar.

Season 8 Judges – Paula Abdul, Simon Cowell, Randy Jackson and new addition, Kara DioGuardi. 

The judges critique every performance, but it's the viewing public that determines who will advance to the next round of competition and who will go home. Voting via telephone and text-messaging begins immediately after each performance show, and the results are announced during the following night's broadcast.

Eventually the competition is narrowed down to two finalists who compete for a major recording contract and the American Idol title. Past winners Kelly Clarkson, Ruben Studdard, Fantasia Barrino, Carrie Underwood, Taylor Hicks, Jordin Sparks and recently crowned David Cook have become household names and have risen to the top of the recording industry.

Emmy Award-winning AMERICAN IDOL is created and executive-produced by Simon Fuller, founder of 19 Entertainment. The series is executive-produced by Cecile Frot-Coutaz, CEO, FremantleMedia North America, Inc.; and Ken Warwick, Executive Producer, FremantleMedia North America, Inc.

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists