|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Television Shows » Reviews » Arthur » User review

Arthur

PBS children's cartoon based on Marc Brown's picture books featuring the beloved anteater

< read all 5 reviews

I still watch this children's PBS show...

  • Dec 17, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+3

OK, I have to admit: I'm in my twenties, and I still enjoy watching Arthur, the PBS cartoon based on Marc Brown's classic picture books for first and second graders, which I also used to read when I was, well, in first and second grade. I feel a bit guilty about watching this show because um, maybe it's a little regressive of me?

But in defense, Arthur is one of the few cartoons for kids these days that isn't anime and doesn't involve fighting. Instead, Arthur is just a show about a kid being a kid (though I guess the main character and his family are technically anteaters). Watching this, I find myself totally engrossed in Muffy's birthday party or Francine's school project. 

But! That's not to say that the show isn't high-minded. Arthur is almost point-for-point  a young Woody Allen — already showing signs of neurotic hand-wringing, a highly analytical nature, and a penchant for the self-reflective monologues. Don't forget about the glasses!

I like Arthur b/c all the characters on the show are well-defined. It's a very simple viewing pleasure. Give in!

Arthur

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
April 14, 2009
I still watch Arthur, myself, sometimes! It's A OK to be a kid. I also watch Sesame Street. I get a lot of my ideas that way.
 
April 14, 2009
Ah, there's nothing wrong with enjoying a kids show. It just means your young at heart is all. While I don't watch this I still have a thing for Sesame Street, The Muppets, and Mr. Rogers Neighborhood.
 
February 27, 2009
Arthur is so cute. People always say I resemble him because of my glasses. It's such a great show. I hope young kids can still get into it!
 
December 24, 2008
Yes! <3 This used to be one of my favorite cartoons back in the day haha
 
1
More Arthur reviews
review by . February 02, 2010
Simply one of the best shows a child can watch.
For anyone who has been haunted by Dora the Explorer's grating voice as she takes five minutes to count to ten in Spanish, I give you Arthur.        Amidst the multitude of children's cartoons on the air today, Arthur stands out as being one of the few that doesn't try to teach children things that they will already be taught in school. Instead of trying to teach children the alphabet, numbers, colors, and shapes, Arthur instead shows children the …
review by . February 24, 2010
In the early 90's when I was still in elementary school, I was introduced to the books of Arthur.  They were written by a man named Marc Brown.  As a student in elementary school, I was pretty impressed by them.  Then again, I was a kid--everything would've impressed me back then.  But I enjoyed the Arthur books for the same reason many kids enjoy those kinds of books.  They were simple reads where I knew all the words and, of course, they had pictures.  God how I loved …
Quick Tip by . February 23, 2010
A classic kids show that was a staple of my childhood. Buster was my fav
Quick Tip by . September 29, 2009
I just realized that every character in this series had such Southern names, but I still have mad love for it!
About the reviewer

Ranked #84
I'm a curious foodie, a devout fashion gawker, and an unrepentant print nerd. I work at one of the last mainstream commercial magazines that's still printing.      Other things … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
LingEatsCake
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Arthur is an American-Canadian educational television series for children, that airs on PBS in the United States; Radio-Canada, Knowledge and TVOKids in Canada; ABC2 in Australia and BBC One/ CBBC in the UK. It is aired internationally in 82 countries.

Arthur revolves around the lives of Arthur Timothy Read, an anthropomorphic aardvark, his friends and family, and their daily interactions with each other. The series often deals with social and health-related issues that affect young children. There is a strong emphasis on the educational value of books and libraries as well as relationships with friends and family members. The television series is based on the Arthur book series, that are illustrated and written by Marc Brown. In 1994, WGBH Boston along with the Toronto-based Cinar, now Cookie Jar Group, began production of the animated series. Arthur has consistently remained one of the highest-rated shows on PBS Kids ever since it started airing in September 1996.
view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: 2 September, 1996
Description: Children's television series
Genre: Educational, Children

Polls with this tv show
Arthur

Favorite PBS children's programs

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists