|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Criminal Minds » User review

Criminal Minds

American crime drama airing on CBS

< read all 7 reviews

My New TV Obsession - A Psychological Thrill ride

  • Nov 24, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
For the past month, I have found a new TV series obsession - Criminal Minds.  I know it has been on for several years now, but have just recently started watching it, and with a passion.

The FBI's Behavioral Analysis Unit consists of many characters; Dr. Reid (Matthew Gray Gubler) who is the young genius, Rossi (Joe Mantegna) who seems to be the "fatherly" one of the group, Hotchner (Thomas Gibson) who is head of the group but is haunted by the murder of his wife caused by his job, Morgan (Shemar Moore) who is a hottie and shows true compassion, Jareau (A.J.Cook) and Prentiss (Paget Brewster) who are the 2 leading females, and Garcia (Kirsten Vangness) the quirky, brilliant, but lovable lady computer analyst.


What is so magnificent about this show is that unlike CSI or other crime shows, catching the serial killer depends on their expertise of profiling a killer, not by using science or forensics.  They truly work as a team as they converse back and forth, relying on each other's individual assets to come up with a profile of serial murderers.  The murder scenes can be rather gruesome and graphic, but the director does a wonderful job of not depending on the actual scenes to engross you - rather you are more taken with the BAU's take on the crimes, their opinions and expertise, and most of all, their compassion for the victims and their families.  You are also consumed with your own passion as to why the killer is what he is, and what has driven them to commit the crimes.  The show is brilliantly written; the crimes seem real and when the profile all comes together, it all truly makes complete sense.  I have yet to see an episode where I felt it "went over my head" - it is written where you can understand the conclusions they come to.  This show is all out serious; no "murder jokes" and best of all, no assuming someone is guilty until they find the right killer.  You also do not feel intimidated by asking yourself "Now how did he come up with that clue?" - you are riding right along with the team and you don't feel clueless.

                                                                       

 











 

There is not a whole lot of personal drama going on between the characters; personal advice and conversation between the team is short and to the point; but they have a true affection for each other that clearly shows when it is necessary.  The acting is superb by the whole cast, and they support each other enough that you feel the necessary "team work" is being completed in a professional manner.   

This series is a pure psychological thrill ride that will truly engross you from beginning to end.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
23
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
24
Post a Comment
December 02, 2010
I've heard good things about this show, Brenda. I've only watched one episode myself. It was one that had Wil Wheaton in it. Great review, though!
 
November 29, 2010
Great review! I've seen this show a couple times and really enjoyed it. I love seeing a different angle on a crime show. Profiling is really interesting! Think I'll have to tune in to it a bit more.
November 30, 2010
Thank you Bethany -- I hope you do tune in more!!
 
November 28, 2010
Thanks for reviewing my addiction, too, Brenda- I still have to write one up! I LOVE this show and usually watch it in marathon sessions and then, can't go to sleep until 1a lol...Morgan is a definite hottie. I love how this show has me thinking the entire time. Great review!
November 28, 2010
Thanks Samantha -- I watched a marathon on Black Friday; in fact there were 2 marathons going; different episodes on both channels and couldn't decide which ones to watch-it was great. Since I am just starting to watch it, I had not seen any of the ones I saw and I was up till the wee hours; this is undoubtedly the most addictive show I've ever watched. Morgan is a true hottie in every sense, and I love Reid too; just wish he would do something with his hair LOL Thanks again!!
November 28, 2010
I love Reid too- I liked his hair longer but, that could be my reminiscence of my skater boy days in high school LOL!
November 29, 2010
LOL - you and I think alike!! I like long hair too!! Reid is a perfect character for me because he's not an "irritating" genius like some characters on other shows; (I'm thinking of Goran from Law and Order Criminal Intent) - he's just too cute LOL
November 30, 2010
LOL...we DO think alike- Goran annoys me to no end, actually one of the reasons that show is my least fave L&O!
November 30, 2010
I used to like the show until I realized that one man can not be that intelligent; he knows too much about everything -- very unrealistic. Reid is a genius about certain things, he is well within his scope and is never "too smart"!!
 
November 25, 2010
Yes indeed this is a good show
November 26, 2010
It is a complete addiction for me!! Thank you for your comment Alex.
 
November 24, 2010
wow....I say thee...wow! I only see like 3-4 shows a week; seems like I am missing out on this one! Thanks, Brenda!
November 25, 2010
You would LOVE this one Woo!! Thanks sweetie.
 
1
More Criminal Minds reviews
review by . September 15, 2012
I LOVE this show! My FAVORITE TV crime show by far! It is VERY well thought-out, The Behavioral Analysis Unit focuses on the Un-Sub, (Unknown Subject) to locate and capture them. Focus is on the crime itself, the ballistics, any previous crimes that fit the current one, clues left behind and more. The show is intriguing and draws the audience's attention in. The show is well scripted, well acted, and I've been a FAN since it started! I can never get enough! You can easily lose one hour of time in …
Quick Tip by . November 28, 2010
posted in Pass The Remote!
This is my newest TV addiction- I usually end up staying up way too late just to watch the end of a 3 hour marathon session! It has a great mix of personalities to which the actors portray well so that you don't feel that you're watching a caricature. You get sucked in with the crimes (which can be a bit gruesome at times) and then, you don't stop thinking until the crime is solved. It's an interesting take on the same old cop dramas out there!
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
THIS AMERICAN CRIME DRAMA IS ACTION FILLED AND IS FULL OF HORRER AND VILOENCE. A GIRLS FRIDAY NIGHT BEST FRIEND.
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
I love this show, and I'm quite interested in criminal profiling, but really... What are the odds they almost always show up 5 seconds before someone dies? Just once I'd like them to bust in a minute too late...
Quick Tip by . October 22, 2009
I love this and have to watch series 5 online as we are about a year behind here. Have seen some quality episodes but does occasionally lag
review by . March 10, 2009
Even if you're a huge fan of crime dramas, you have to admit that all of the forensics talk and overly-complicated "analysis" of crime scenes can get old after a while. I started watching Criminal Minds a couple years ago, and it's quickly become one of my favorite shows on TV, period. Instead of focusing on a purely scientific storyline, the show's team- part of the Behavioral Analysis Unit at the FBI- instead create psychological profiles of criminals in order to solve crimes, even showing what …
About the reviewer
Brenda ()
Ranked #71
I love to read mysteries and thrillers; I am addicted to scary psychological thrillers and horror movies; "The Exorcist" and "Silence of the Lambs" being 2 of my favorites. I love … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Butterfly1961
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Criminal Minds is an American police procedural drama series that premiered September 22, 2005 on CBS. The series follows a team of profilers from the FBI's Behavioral Analysis Unit (BAU) at Quantico, Virginia. Criminal Minds differs from many criminal system procedural dramas by focusing on the criminal rather than the crime itself. The show is produced by The Mark Gordon Company in association with CBS Television Studios and ABC Studios. The original title for Criminal Minds was Quantico, and the pilot was filmed in Vancouver. In the Quantico script, Jason Gideon was named Jason Donovan.

On May 20, 2009, CBS officially renewed Criminal Minds for a fifth season, which premiered on September 23, 2009 at 9:00PM EST. New episodes air every Wednesday at 9:00PM EST on CBS, while re-runs can be seen on A&E and ION.

 

CBS announced in October 2009 that Legacy Interactive will develop a video game based on the show. The game will require players to examine crime scenes for clues to help solve murder mysteries, a spin off has also been announced.

 

Current BAU Team

 

FBI BAU Supervisory Special Agent/Unit Chief Aaron "Hotch" Hotchner

Played by Thomas Gibson, Hotch used to be a prosecutor, and was formerly assigned to the FBI Field Office in Seattle. His attempts to balance his family life and his job successfully had been an ongoing theme on the show. Shortly after he and his wife, Haley, were divorced, his family was threatened by The ...

view wiki

Details

Polls with this tv show
24

Crime Dramas

by

Bones

Best Crime Dramas

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists