|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Family Guy » User review

Lois, Stewie, Peter, Brian, Meg, Chris & Brian

Animated Fox TV sitcom created by Seth MacFarlane

< read all 30 reviews

Watching Family Guy makes me think I've died and gone to heaven!

  • Dec 9, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
I love Family Guy. I don't think any other show comes close to producing such great satire and comedy as does this one.

When Family Guy first came out I instantly knew it'd be a hit. So when the show got canceled I was stunned, fearing that the FCC had finally won its war against TV's obscenities. But luckily, due to public outcry, they brought the show back, more obscene and straightforward than ever before!

I'll admit, since the Simpsons has always been one of my favorite shows, I felt a bit guilty at times when I acknowledged that Family Guy could be funnier than Homer's weekly escapades. But now I see that the shows are unique in their own light. The Simpsons, too, provides social commentary, but in a more subdued way.

Family Guy, on the other hand, doesn't really try to hide who or what they're mocking, so in a sense, it appeals to a different audience, one that doesn't mind blunt statements and vulgarity. Each episode features several themes: social commentary and a mocking of a certain group/idea/belief. Since as a species human beings are so diverse, you can imagine that it'll be a very, very long time before the show's writers ever run out of ideas for fresh episodes.

The best part of Family Guy is that you know every time you laugh, you are getting one step closer to hell. In fact, I think several episodes have alluded to that, one way or another. But hey, at least it makes this life a bit more entertaining! And, if you keep up with current events and the news, Family Guy is a real treat, as it brings a sense of comedy and lightness to the ever-changing world we live in.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
July 15, 2009
Watching Family Guy makes me think I've died and gone to heaven! But but then they realized it wasn't your time... and so they sent you back to watch it.  Yeah!
 
1
More Family Guy reviews
review by . October 27, 2009
20 minutes of pure self indulgance and cutting material as sharp as a butter knife.  Thats the best way I can sum Family Guy up.  This show ever since it returned to TV a few years ago has become just that, a pure vehicle for Seth McFarlane's love or mouthpiece for his ideas and politics.      Even before that, the show was shallow with cheap shot jokes, sappy writing, and characters that are painful clones of Fox's OTHER snimated series, the one that had …
review by . June 28, 2009
   When Family Guy first premeired in 1999, we were all taken aback by Family Guy.  As with many new adult cartoon shows, Family Guy was branded as a Simpsons knock off.  And true enough, the inspiration from The Simpsons was there.  But as the show grew it branched out in the very same season into it's own show.  It was hilarious with it's wity pop culture references and just all around fun humor.  The show eventually became so controversial and "offensive" …
review by . June 22, 2010
This show is definitly the funniest show of all time. Seth MacFarlane is a genious. Not only does it have the best comedy of any show I've ever seen, but it also has the most clever jokes. It takes stuff that happens in every day life and turns it into something histarical. I could watch the show over and over again. There are 6 seasons for you to enjoy so far, but there are more to come.  Personally I think it is the best show ever, but there are some reviews that aren not as nice. …
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
Although I find this show hilarious, I know it is offensive to some. It is defiantly a show by choice or by acquired taste. It should at least be watched before it is judged. I love it! Depending on your views some may not think it is suitable for children, that would be a personal choice.
Quick Tip by . July 26, 2010
Funny, yes. Critial forum that makes us look at ourselves, yes (not necessarily all viewers). However, some components of the show can drag on and be overdone. Also the show can become a bit formulaic.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
made of awesomeness
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
Good animated filthy comedy
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Ugh.
Quick Tip by . May 22, 2010
Can't stop laughing!!
Quick Tip by . May 22, 2010
Honestly, at times I feel obligated to watch this show just for the crude humor.
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Ranked #107
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Family Guy is an animated television sitcom, which revolves around the dysfunctional life of the Griffin Family who live in the fictional town of Quahog, Rhode Island. The family consists of parents, Peter (Seth McFarlane) and Lois (Alex Borstein), two teenagers, Chris (Seth Green) and Megan (Mila Kunis), a genius dog, Brian (Seth McFarlane), and the eccentric baby Stewie (Seth McFarlane). The show uses frequent gag jokes and irreverent humor, centering around spontaneous events and situations in the families life. Family Guy was canceled in 2000 and again in 2002, but was resurrected in 2005 due to strong DVD Sales and high viewership of re-runs. The show was created by Seth MacFarlane and currently airs on Fox, along with other television networks in syndication.

view wiki

Details

Description: Animated Comedy Show

Polls with this tv show
Lois, Stewie, Peter, Brian, Meg, Chris & Brian

Cartoon Cartoon!

by

30 Rock

TV Shows

by

30 Rock

Sitcoms

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists