|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Farscape

A Sci-Fi Channel original series about an American astronaut lost in space and caught up in a galactic war.

< read all 7 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • May 10, 2011
I've been re-watching Farscape lately and it occurs to me that as fondly as I remembered it, the show is even better as time goes by. I had forgotten how well developed the characters were and the emotional weight of the story lines, not to mention the abundance of irreverent humor and pop culture references. It also made an impact on me at how cleverly conceived of some of the the episodes. This was truly an imaginative and innovative series (trademarks of The Jim Henson Co.). With all of these superlatives, it's no wonder that Farscape remains, in my humble opinion, the greatest sci-fi / fantasy television series of all.
Caption John Crichton Commander Aeryn Sun Ka D'Argo Pa'u Zotoh Zhaan Dominar Rygel XVI Chiana Scorpius Pilot Captain Bialar Crais Caption Caption Caption Caption Caption Caption Caption Caption Caption Caption Caption Caption Caption Caption Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
May 11, 2011
FARSCAPE was one of the best written shows on TV for its time. So glad that they were able to give it a suitable wrap-up with the four-hour miniseries, too.
May 11, 2011
As was I. I'd still love to see them do more with the characters. They keep promising that there will be either another miniseries, webisodes, or even a feature film. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
 
May 10, 2011
Good tip. I've only seen the first few through borrowing DVDs from my library. I should watch more, it is very well made.
May 10, 2011
The entire series was just on sale on Amazon. I'm not sure if it is still, but I was able to get it and the miniseries that tied together the loose ends for like $60 in all. Very much worth it!
May 10, 2011
Yes, sounds hot! My next purchase will probably be the original Star Trek series with the new special effects and computer graphics on it that I saw back in 2007 but at that time the price was prohibitive. And I still want that Mirnau collection. Thanks for the tips!
May 10, 2011
I just saw it for $50.00. Holy Moses!
May 10, 2011
The Murnau set is back on sale for $36.99. The sale won't last very long though. Within a week or two, I'd expect the price to go up about fifty dollars.
May 10, 2011
I just went back and got the cheap Farscape set and Season One of Star Trek! Gotta wait to payday now! Your reviews are making me broke, LOL.
May 11, 2011
Which cheap set? You mean the whole series on sale for 49.99?
May 11, 2011
Yes, 49.99, normally 149.99!
May 11, 2011
Whew. I was worried for a second there that when you said the cheap set you meant you bought the miniseries which definitely should be seen until after you've watched seasons 1-4, otherwise it would be very confusing. LOL! It's funny that the retail is listed so high... I think most places sell it for between $50 and $80.
May 11, 2011
Yeah, OK. The miniseries will have to wait anyway due to lack of funds. Still, quite a deal! I used to work a lot of evenings during that time and so missed out on Farscape.
May 11, 2011
Excuse a dumb question, but when you say miniseries you're talking about the Peacekeeper Wars 2 disc set, right? I see it's around $8 new on Amazon. I may pick that up this Friday but not watch it until I'm done with the seasons, LOL.
May 12, 2011
Yep. And there are also graphic novels that take place after "The Peacekeeper Wars". I'm still hoping for another miniseries of movie. That'd just about make up for all the crap that Sy Fy shows these days. I miss the old Sci-Fi.
 
May 10, 2011
nice QT! and nice going with the photos LOL!
May 10, 2011
I wanted to show off the diversity of the characters. You know, I think "Farscape" had the sexiest aliens in history... even more than in "Star Trek" and "Avatar".
May 10, 2011
why do you think I own the season sets?
May 10, 2011
I just bought the whole series, so I'm have a blast reliving the early part of this past decade. I'd forgotten how many homages and references there were to other shows and movies. I caught a Nosferatu joke I hadn't noticed the first time as well as a hilarious yet subtle reference to Monty Python.
 
1
More Farscape reviews
review by . April 03, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
A Truly Epic Space Science Fiction Saga
I’m of the opinion that the word “epic” is fairly overused when attempting to describe most science fiction space operas.  Yet here in retrospection, I find myself quite unable to coin a more fitting term to describe the endlessly twisting romp that is the Farscape saga. Let’s begin this review by immediately dismissing one of the most ridiculous and laughable criticisms I’ve encountered surrounding the property: the fact that many of the creatures inhabiting …
Quick Tip by . October 01, 2011
posted in Forbidden Planet
Caption
   FarScape is one of the most original Sci-Fi series to come along in the new millenium. I would put it up there with Dr. Who, Star Trek, Babylon 5, Fire, and even the Star Wars movies. Worth checking out!
Quick Tip by . December 15, 2010
Farscape is one of those shows that I wish I had more time to enjoy. Of the few episodes I've managed to watch, I've enjoyed them thoroughly.
Quick Tip by . August 05, 2010
posted in Forbidden Planet
Caption
Sadly ended before its time. One of the most innovative Sci-Fi shows ever to grace the small screen. Fortunately all 4 seasons and the movie are on DVD and can be found at a good price.
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Fantastic SciFi series about an astronaut on the other side of the galaxy and the crazy people and exotic worlds he meets. Died before it's time. As D'argo would say, FREL!
Quick Tip by . September 11, 2009
posted in Pass The Remote!
One of the best Sci-Fi shows in years!!! With humor, action, and intelligent plotlines, this show put Sci-Fi on the top in the early 2000s.
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki



American astronaut John Crichton finds himself thrown across the universe when an experimental mission goes bad. Crichton teams up with a group of rebels involved in an intergalactic battle and begins a journey unlike anything he dreamed was possible.
view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: March 19, 1999
Description: A Sci-Fi Channel original television series about an astronaut caught up in a galactic war.
Genre: Sci-Fi
Studio: Sci-fi Channel, Hallmark Entertainment, Jim Henson Productions, A&E Home Video
Original Air Date: March 19, 1999 – March 21, 2003
DVD Release Date: November 17, 2009
Lists with this tv show
Polls with this tv show
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists