|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Television Shows » Reviews » Futurama » User review

Futurama

A television show

< read all 4 reviews

How the year 3000 will be

  • Sep 9, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

Futurama is one of my all-time favorite shows. I started to get a little bit tired of The Simpsons in the late 90's so it was a perfect time to give Futurama a chance. So basically it was, goodbye 20th century, hello 31st century!

I enjoyed it for how well the show was written and found myself quoting lines from the show on a regular "dasis" (insert obscure Futurama reference).

I was pretty bummed when the show was canceled but when the DVD's came out, I purchased seasons 1-4 and continued to watch them from time to time and it never gets old. I'm just so amused by this eclectic bunch that make up the Planet Express delivery team from the year 3000. They have it all from a 90's guy, a robot, a one eyed mutant, a Chinese female intern and a Jamaican limbo champion bureaucrat.



So be sure to check it out, especially since it's back on the air with new episodes. Anyone who is interested in wacky humor with a number of 80's references will definitely enjoy this show.

Emmy Awards & Nominations for Futurama:
  • 2004 Won for Outstanding Animated Program (For Programming Less Than One Hour)
  • 2003 Nominated for Outstanding Animated Program (For Programming Less Than One Hour)
  • 2002 Won for Outstanding Animated Program (For Programming Less Than One Hour)
  • 2001 Nominated for Outstanding Animated Program (For Programming Less Than One Hour)
  • 2000 Won Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation
  • 1999 Nominated for Outstanding Animated Program (For Programming Less Than One Hour)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
October 26, 2010
One of my favorites as well
 
September 09, 2010
Nice Review! I love this show. It's so genius
September 09, 2010
Thanks! I already can't wait for the next season.
September 09, 2010
I actually just watched this show for the first time in years last week and they made some references to some relatively new topics. I couldn't believe they were still making new episodes!
 
1
More Futurama reviews
review by . May 16, 2011
(Note: I first wrote this for Epinions in 2003, and it didn't transfer over for some reason, so just bear with the hilarious outdating.)    Well everyone, Fox has finally done it. They've gotten me to agree with the majority of tasteful people about how its programs are trash and its executives, morons. I guess it was only a matter of time. After all, in the past few years, Fox has been guilty of the following atrocities:   -Letting David Duchovney walk away from The …
Quick Tip by . November 25, 2009
One of the smartest, funniest shows ever animated. Self-aware and unapologetic, it gets me every time.
Quick Tip by . August 21, 2009
Like a delectable snack, Futurama delivers bite-sized futuristic comedy in every episode.
About the reviewer
Peter Kim ()
Ranked #90
I love basketball, exercise, reading, business, movies and occasionally some brainless reality TV shows =P I am more than happy to help anyone out with anything here on Lunch and definitely looking forward … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
YungBolo
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Accidentally frozen, pizza delivery guy Fry wakes up 1,000 years in the future. He is taken in by his sole descendant, an elderly and addled scientist who owns a small cargo delivery service. Among the other crew members are Capt. Leela, accountant Hermes, intern Amy, obnoxious robot Bender and lobsterlike moocher "Dr." Zoidberg.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists