|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Jersey Shore » User review

Jersey Shore

A television series on MTV that follows 8 housemates spending their summer on the Jersey Shore.

< read all 7 reviews

"Get Ready For A Whole New Crazy"

  • Dec 7, 2009
Rating:
+5

Where do I begin? This is the BEST trash "reality TV" show that's been on air since I don't know when! In 2003, the MTV series "True Life" aired an episode called "I Have A Summer Share" which introduced the world to the Jersey Shore and what one of the "stars" called "the world's biggest meat market" with a bunch of incredibly tanned, f-bomb dropping, violent, obnoxiously drunk and mostly Sicilian/Italian Americans. For that episode, MTV had sky-high ratings, so high in fact, that they aired another episode for the same series called "I'm A Jersey Shore Girl" which scored even higher ratings. After 6 years, MTV finally gave the Jersey Shore its own show and I friggin' love it!

The 8 cast members are:
-Mike "The Situation"- I'm still trying to figure out why this is his nickname but, he hilariously had tons of tourist girls getting "I Love The Situation" printed on hot pink bootie short underwear. There's a story going around that his abs are so "insane" that they become a "situation".
-Pauly D - a DJ, allegedly the most famous one in Rhode Island and if you have NO CLUE what a Guido is, he fits that stereotype perfectly.
Vinny- he may be the most normal one in the house but, that's not saying much. He'll dance with anyone and is definitely there for the fun, not the drama.
Ronnie- a meathead with a faux hawk, he reminds me of every tool I've ever met.
Angelina "Jolie"- she's a self-proclaimed cock blocker, lazy, and if she's not getting any male attention, she'll start some drama.
Sami "Sweetheart"- She has both Mike and Ronnie fighting over her and she started it by kissing both in one night. But, she let Mike know, she's into Ronnie- you know there's going to be some good drama with two roomies hooking up.
Nicole "Snookie"- is the spoiled princess by far. She had this guy that she took home throw up while she was trying to seduce him and she still walked him home, what a gal.
Jenni "JWOWW"- ahhh...the one girl in the house with a boyfriend that swore she'd NEVER hook up with Pauly because she didn't want to mess up what she has and....you guessed it, she hooks up with him. You have to have one in every "roomie reality show".

The 2-hour premiere had such jewels as "Yo, I will cut your hair while you're sleeping", "I feel like eating ham and drinking water. Ham....(then, blowing out her cheeks)" and  "Don't bring dirty girls back to the house."

Why it took the "brains" over at MTV six looooong years to share Jersey Shore gloriousness with us, is beyond me. But, I'm so grateful that they did. They had some hardships, Italian American groups protested the show saying it is discriminatory against Italian Americans, Domino's Pizza pulled out as an advertiser, and the head of the Jersey Shore Tourist Board is pissed- they think that people will look at this show and not want to come to the Shore. Puhleeeeease. Are you friggin' kiddin' me? First, Italian Americans don't have a problem with mob movies that show Italians slitting throats, snorting coke and burying people in the desert? Get outta here. Secondly, who would watch this show and think that that's how everyone in the Jersey Shore is? Fuggedaboutit. Jersey Shore's here and I've already added it to my DVR list. I can't wait until the next show...what jewels will come then?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
28
Well-Organized
22
Post a Comment
December 12, 2009
ha-ha! whenever I see "jersey shore" I think about the shark attacks LOL! Not too big on reality TV (save for Ghost Hunters) but I'll keep this in mind. Thanks, Sam!
 
December 08, 2009
I saw an interview today on the news with some Italian guy who is trying to get the show taken of the air because it promotes a negative outlook about Italians from NJ. I guess I gotta start watching this show to see what all the fuss is about.
December 09, 2009
Oh yeah...like I said in the review- these same Italians don't seem to have a problem with mobster movies which glorify drug use, gang life, and violence. As someone who's a little Italian and pretty much grew up with an Italian family, I'd find that MUCH more offensive.
 
December 08, 2009
I'm all for the lighthearted humor in this show, however I am SEVERELY against the image it's giving NJ! We already get so much slack! also, let it be known that most of the cast members are from Staten Island. Uh, using trashy people to give NJ an inaccurate and more-trashy persona? PLEASE, MTV.
December 08, 2009
I found it interesting that most of these people actually aren't from NJ. But, nether the less, its like the opposite of the Real World, instead of putting 8 different types of people together in a new place, they put 8 of the same people in their natural habitat. Pretty entertaining.
December 09, 2009
I KNEW I was going to get it from either you or @LisaLisa. And yes, there's only one girl from NJ and it's the one I like! I don't think people are going to watch this and think everyone in NJ is like that, I actually think everyone in Staten Island is like that but, not so much Jersey ;p
 
December 07, 2009
Oh man, I so remember "True Life: I'm a Jersey Girl"!  It was aired with a series that featured topics like, "I Have AIDS", "I'm Schizophrenic", and "I'm a Teenage Mother", etc.  Who knew that being a Jersey girl was such a conundrum? 

You're right, what took MTV so long?  Or is this the descent of humanity :P  I hope they stream this on the internet.... :D
December 08, 2009
Yes. Its on MTV.com. I had to watch it and it was highly entertaining.
December 09, 2009
Isn't it though?
December 09, 2009
Haha, oh boy..... :D
 
1
More Jersey Shore reviews
review by . February 03, 2010
All Sorts of Ridiculousness
Who knew that a heavy dose of self-tanned, worked out, Ed Hardy decked out, potty mouthed, uninhibited, self-professed guidos and guidettes could be so entertaining?        When I first watched the True Life Jersey Shores series that spawned this series, I couldn't believe that people like that existed, which is one of the reasons why I was so captivated with it, because it let us get into the minds of people who behaved in such ways.  The people on the show seemed …
Quick Tip by . November 12, 2011
posted in Pass The Remote!
It's TV shows like this that sometimes make me loathe humanity if shit like this is popular. All this show consists of is a bunch of entitled 20 somethings of Italian descent with forcibly-tanned skin that only care abouit partying and getting laid. If I were of Italian heritage, I'd smack somebody if they associated me with these piles of garbage. Also, the fact that they associate each other as "guidos" really makes them bad caricatures. The only good things about Jersey Shore is that South Park …
review by . January 13, 2010
Beat the Beat
Look- the words Guido and Guidette may not be the most PC words historically... but then again, neither are tanning beds and aquanet. That said, MTV's Jersey Shore combines all these fantastically unPC concepts into an hour of television that has the profound effect of being able to take your mind off of anything. Anything. You won't think of a single problem you have as you watch a 4'9 Snookie get closed-fist-punched clear off of a bar stool (please note: 4'9 is legally a midget... sorry, shnooks). …
Quick Tip by . January 18, 2010
posted in That's Beat
shows like this make me want to sell my TV and move to a jungle hut somewhere
Quick Tip by . January 14, 2010
I know this show is trash, but why do I always look forward to the next episode & why do I think it's so good? Because it's so bad?
Quick Tip by . December 08, 2009
so ridiculous.
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #15
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Download Jersey Shore Episodes

Jersey Shore is a television series on MTV that follows 8 housemates spending their summer on the Jersey Shore. In it, the show examines the lives of young adults living and vacationing on the various resort towns in the northern part of the Jersey Shore, more specifically the town of Seaside Heights, where they live in a common living space and help to run a t-shirt store. The show plays upon the stereotype of the guido, prompting criticism from groups such as the National Italian American Foundation and from some people living in the area.

On this week's episode of Jersey Shore, Ronnie finally gets what was coming to him after Sam finds the "the note" documenting his run-ins with other ladies. And Snooki is now swingin' single — watch out forJersey Shore Season 2 Episode 5
 

view wiki

Details

Polls with this tv show
America's Got Talent Judges

What is your favorite summer reality show?

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists