|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Lie to Me » User review

lie to me

TV show in Fox starring Tim Roth

< read all 2 reviews

One of the best shows on TV

  • Nov 16, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Tim Roth returns to the screen after not being in the public eye for a long time and he couldn't have chosen a better show.

This show is very very good. It focuses on Dr.Lightman (played by Roth) who has set up a 'lie detection' agency (in Washington DC i think). This independant firm works with government bodies, law enforcement agencies as well as private individuals to find out the truth behind cases using pioneering lie detection techniques. One of the main techniques is reading 'micro-expressions' - the science of which was researched and developed by Lightman himself.

Most episodes follow a loose formula of dual narratives with two different cases being handled by the Lightman Group and every episode entertains with its combination of fascinating human psychology, thriller-esque plots, well defined characters (some with amusing traits) and great surprises!

The acting and writing is excellent and is the driving force behind this show. Each episode is different and plots can vary from murder mysteries to terrorism to gangster rap riffs, to politics to marital problems.

As the show develops we start to see more character development and more about their personal lives and this slow development is well balanced as it is not vital to the show but is often interesting and touching.

With the ability to make its audience surprised, elated, thrilled, amused and sad this show for me is one of the best shows on TV at the moment.

Toby
One of the best shows on TV One of the best shows on TV One of the best shows on TV One of the best shows on TV

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
February 27
You know, I could agree with all of these points, especially in that LIE TO ME was one of the better programs when it came out. Not only that, but it improved quite a bit as it went along. However, I think it's one of those shows that probably would've been better served by not having these full seasons, maybe a 10 or 13 episode run, in order to get more attention to stronger scripts.
 
November 17, 2009
Nice review. Like @dalydose, I'll have to add this on to my already crowded Tivo list (which needs some updating, btw).
 
November 16, 2009
Curse you!  Like I don't have enough shows to watch on TV and now you go and write a review that is taunting me to tune in.  :) 
November 16, 2009
Haha! It is definitely worth it! Watch it and then enjoy the hours of fun trying to read the micro-expressions and body language of all your friends and families to tell what they are thinking and if they are lying! (the credits alone give you some tips!)
 
November 16, 2009
I've never herd of this show before, what would you compare it to?
November 16, 2009
Well, it's quite unique; there are elements of CSI/24 with the thrills, agatha christie moments of 'who dunnit?' and suspense filled twists & turns akin to something like prison break... Hard one to compare really - check out the first two episodes to get an idea!
 
1
About the reviewer
Toby Chishick ()
Ranked #939
Member Since: Nov 16, 2009
Last Login: Feb 12, 2010 01:39 PM UTC
About this tv show

Wiki

The average person tells three lies in ten minutes of conversation.

DR. CAL LIGHTMAN (Tim Roth, "The Incredible Hulk," "Reservoir Dogs") can detect the truth by analyzing a person's face, body, voice and speech. When someone shrugs his shoulder, rotates his hand or raises his lower lip, Lightman knows he's lying. By analyzing facial expressions, he can read feelings - from hidden resentment to sexual attraction to jealousy. But as Lightman well knows, his scientific ability is both a blessing and a curse in his personal life, where family and friends deceive each other as readily as criminals and strangers do. Lightman is the world's leading deception expert, a scientist who studies facial expressions and involuntary body language to discover not only if you are lying but why.

From writer Samuel Baum ("The Evidence") and the executive producers of 24 and "Arrested Development" comes LIE TO ME, a compelling new drama series inspired by the scientific discoveries of Dr. Paul Ekman, a real-life specialist who can read clues embedded in the human face, body and voice to expose both the truth and lies in criminal investigations.

Lightman heads a team of experts at The Lightman Group who assist federal law enforcement, government agencies and local police with their most difficult cases. DR. GILLIAN FOSTER (Kelli Williams, "The Practice") is a gifted psychologist and Lightman's professional partner who brings balance to the partnership by looking at the bigger picture while ...

view wiki

Details

Genre: Psychological drama, Thriller, Drama/Comedy
Original Air Date: January 21st 2009

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists