|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Lost » User review

Lost

An American television series that is currently in its final season

< read all 18 reviews

Do shows get any better than this? No!

  • Jun 4, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
I love LOST. Without a doubt it is my favorite television show ever. Trust me that's quite a feat from a girl whose past favorites have included The Nanny and Ab Fab.

The show has so much to offer beyond what is merely watched in the weekly hour, it allows for deep thought, profound conversations and reading theory blogs at 2AM while your husband wonders if marriage was the right choice...ah but I digress... let's talk about the show!

The feature that makes Lost so good to me is the character development. The viewer learns so much about each character. Most episodes take you back into the lives of each castaway pre crash. You learn not only the nuances of their personalities but also why they are who they are. We learn about their parents, lovers and friends. We learn about the highs and lows that life has offered them. We begin to relate to these people and genuinely feel as if we know them.

Along with character development, the flashbacks allow us to learn how each character is related to their fellow castaways. The writers did an amazing job on developing this intertwined net of people. Some begin to realize they are connected, and some will never know. It is simply captivating to watch the story lines and character connections develop. They really focused on this during season 1 and 2, but every now and then we still learn more and more.

I also love learning more about the Island. This mysterious Island that is far more than land in the pacific, it is an island that does not have latitude or longitudes points, and that no GPS device will take you to. It harbors many secrets and every episode we learn morw about the Island, yet feel as confused as ever. All in all, the Island is simply another vital character on the show.

Another aspect of the show that I adore are the references to popular culture which live in the show. For example the names of many of the characters refer to famous authors and philosophers: Kate Austen, John Locke, Jeremy Bentham, Charlotte Lewis etc... These name references are very applicable to the behavior of the characters themselves. I love that! Also the Hanso Foundations and the Darma Initiative are business that are part of character plots on Lost, but also have been incorporated into pop culture with their own commercials, websites and billboards. This allows for an interactive viewer experience which I think adds so much to the show. Easter eggs for us to find!

Many may criticize that Lost is not very real, but we know it isn't. Although not Science Fiction, it does have a big element of Fantasy. This element seems to grow as seasons progress.

If you haven't already been lucky enough to watch and enjoy this show, start now, you will thank me later!
The Cast LOGO

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
January 21, 2009
@writer0213 - love the pun! @ReahMJ - I've been wanting to get into this show for the LONGEST time, I think I might do it now although I'm a lot of seasons behind.... that won't do anything for my GRE score haha =(
 
December 09, 2008
I'm an addict of the show. I think if people start watching, they should start at the beginning or they'll just be "lost" (no pun intended). I'm so anxious for the next season.
 
1
More Lost reviews
review by . December 20, 2010
There are blogs out there that are entirely devoted to the series of Lost. An examination of the characters, the mythology, how the entire world connects. I thought that by doing a post on the series would be a discredit to what others were doing. I was saddened to hear that people didn't like the series finale of Lost. This post will not change the minds of people who did not like it, but rather provide a defense as there was no other way to end the series.    If you plan on …
Quick Tip by . February 20, 2012
There will never be a show as good at this, but I can not still to this day get over the ending
review by . February 19, 2010
This is the final season of Lost.        When JJ Abrams and the other main writers started out the show, they had one vision.... how it would end.  Do you know of any show like that?  Most shows start out with the pilot, then if ratings are good enough, they'll go on for season after season.  Then after ratings die down, they'll finally attempt to conclude the mess of spaghetti they tangled through all the seasons.      But Lost is different.  …
Quick Tip by . August 16, 2010
Very well done and I loved the episodes with the hidden meanings explained. Sorry to see it end.
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
Good until I realized they weren't going to tie up any loose ends, but just wave some smoke and mirrors instead. Not thought provoking, not interesting.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
couldn't stop watching!
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
I really never followed the show, so I was a bit "lost" jumping in at the end of the series. It looked interesting and hope to catch re-runs
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
It was a long journey and sometimes frustrating to watch but is one of the best "Sci-Fi" television series ever created.
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
By far, the best show on televison. Additing, witty, and suspenseful!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Not sure about the finale, but I LOVE this show.
About the reviewer
Rhea ()
Ranked #358
I love Hello Kitty, Social Media and all things Entertainment.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RheaMJ
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Lost is an American serial drama television series. It follows the lives of plane crash survivors on a mysterious tropical island, after a commercial passenger jet flying between Sydney, Australia and Los Angeles, United States crashes somewhere in the South Pacific. Each episode typically features a primary storyline on the island as well as a secondary storyline from another point in a character's life. The series was created by Damon Lindelof, J. J. Abrams and Jeffrey Lieber, and is filmed primarily on location in Oahu, Hawaii. The pilot episode was first broadcast on September 22, 2004. Since then, four seasons have aired. The series is produced by ABC Studios, Bad Robot Productions and Grass Skirt Productions and airs on the ABC Network in the United States. Its soundtrack is composed by Michael Giacchino. The current executive producers are Abrams, Lindelof, Bryan Burk, Jack Bender and Carlton Cuse. Due to its large ensemble cast and the cost of filming in Hawaii, the series is one of the most expensive on television.

Critically acclaimed and a popular success, Lost garnered an average of 16 million viewers per episode on ABC during its first year. It has won numerous industry awards including the Emmy Award for Outstanding Drama Series in 2005, Best American Import at the British Academy Television Awards in 2005, the Golden Globe for Best Drama in 2006 and a Screen Actors Guild Award for Outstanding Ensemble in a Drama Series. Reflecting its devoted fan base, the ...

view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: 2004

Polls with this tv show
30 Rock

TV Shows

by

The best shows on T.V.

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists