|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Planet Earth » User review

Planet Earth

Explore oceans, deserts, mountains, forests and more in the interactive home of Discovery Channel's groundbreaking series.

< read all 5 reviews

The Most Remarkable on Planet Earth

  • Mar 27, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

Prepare to see your world, as you've never seen it before.

Most of us will never get the chance to see firsthand the remote, beautiful locales and majestic creatures found on Planet Earth, but, thanks to the brilliant artistry and state-of-the-art technology used to create this amazing 11-part mini-series, we can still find ourselves profoundly moved by them.

An eclectic repertoire of cinematic tools and the unrelenting passions of a dedicated crew of conservation-driven artists fuse together to produce the most remarkable look at our natural world to-date.

Planet Earth takes a look at our world through a lens of curiosity and reverence as we explore the world through more than ten different habitats and see marvelous, breathtaking examples of each from all over the planet.  On this incredible journey you will be swept up in awe at the spectacles to be found in the world's deserts, mountains, fresh waters, caves, ice worlds, plains, jungles, shallow seas, forests and the ocean deep.

There are some natural marvels in this series that are so novel, they have heretofore never been seen.  There are other natural wonders of a magnitude so epic that they cannot help but stir the strongest of emotions within.  One can find the beauty of the world simply overwhelming and existentially humbling time and time again in Planet Earth.

It is in this very attribute of Planet Earth, its approach to showcasing the beauty of the planet, that the subtle (but powerful) truths about the fragility of our planet inspire a great epiphany in the viewer.  Through the artful and munificently informative depiction of Planet Earth we garner something so much more than merely entertainment: a deep and genuine emotional understanding of and passion for our planet and the incredible biodiversity it has given rise to over the last 3.7 billion years.

That such a feat of this magnitude has been accomplished is nothing short of amazing in and of itself.

Five years in the making.  More than two thousand days of filming.  Over two-hundred different locations around the globe.

Planet Earth.


Planet Earth on the Discovery Channel

Planet Earth at BBC

DisneyNature's EARTH movie

Chimpanzee Polar Bear and cubs Desert Planet Earth

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
January 11, 2010
The first few times i watched planet earth i was memorized and borderline obsess over it still. Remarkable.
 
March 27, 2009
When I first saw this title, I thought you were reviewing Earth... not the doc series! ;) But this series looks pretty amazing in a "I never thought of it like that" kind of way. Thanks for the links too. I take it that you've also seen An Inconvenient Truth?
March 28, 2009
Ha ha, how would one review Earth? Hm? This series is amazing. Especially in the "I never thought of it like that" kind of way. It really will open your mind to see the world in a whole new way. And you're learn some pretty cool things to boot (did you know the world's largest living organism is a tree in California?). I've seen the entire series a bunch of times and still find myself astounded by it. I have seen An Inconvenient Truth!  Another great documentary.  I deeply admire Al Gore for it (among other things!).
March 31, 2009
"I like Earth. There's air and water ... the building blocks of life..." I think that's how I'd start out if I reviewed Earth! ;) Anyway, I will definitely check out your doc. On my Netflix queue.
April 02, 2009
Netflix! Yes! I need to reactivate my account. I love that service! I hope you enjoy Planet Earth; in any case, let me know what you think of it.
 
1
More Planet Earth reviews
review by . March 15, 2010
posted in Green Living
Truly spectacular!
Beautifully filmed. Not only is the entire series highly educational, it features some of the rarest species and locations which all of us may never venture in our lives. The Caves series is awesome and the work and effort the entire crew had to undergo is simply unbelievable. Not only do they endanger their own lives and health while filming, they also brought us to another world unlike this planet we are so familiar with, or, are we?               …
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2011
posted in Grist
This is an amazing series to watch. There are some parts where the environments and the behaviors of some animals seem so alien that it's hard to believe it's real. If you can, do yourself a favor and make sure you watch it in high def for the full experience.
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in Green Living
Food for thought & a feast for the eyes. Beautifully crafted & epic presentation! Simply too stunning for words!
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
posted in Green Living
Gorgeous & informative. But it's a little rough to watch, repeatedly, the death part of the circle of life.
About the reviewer
Michael ()
Ranked #1504
Member Since: Mar 26, 2009
Last Login: Apr 24, 2009 12:06 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
mwelker
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

PLANET EARTH is an award-winning BBC nature documentary mini-series that originally aired in 2006.  The series spans eleven (11) fifty minute (50 min.) episodes depicting various natural wonders and the biodiversity of our planet.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists