|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Pokémon » User review

Pokémon

A TV Anime Series

< read all 4 reviews

Not really a fan. In fact, I'm not a fan at all.

  • Dec 11, 2008
  • by
Rating:
-4
I remember people getting so worked up over Pokéman when I was in junior high, and I never understood why. I gave it a chance and watched my fair share of episodes when I was with other friends, but I just never got into it. But I guess what it comes down to is two factors.

First, I don't care too much for that style of animation. I am not one to judge and say that one form of art is better than another. But personally, I prefer animation that strives to be realist. Given that, I'm not a fan of computer animation, but rather, I just like it when features are proportional and when what you're looking at could appear to be some sort of painting. Asian animé styles are very artistic, too, but they're just not my personal favorite.

Second, I have always been a fan of children's shows that had a blatant educational theme. Yes, I will admit this as a total nerd. I watched Bill Nye the Science Guy religiously as a kid, in addition to the Magic Schoolbus. I do believe in art for art's sake and fun for fun's sake, too, but Pokemon targets kids in such a formative period of their lives that they really could benefit from a shot that's both "cool" (as is Pokemon) and educational, too. If they want to keep it the way it is, that's fine, but my personal taste would prefer some educational value just so the kids can leave with some blantant or subliminal educational message.

As an adult, obviously my taste for cartoons has changed thanks to my obsession with The Simpsons, Family Guy, and South Park. Let's just put it this way: these days, if I'm going to watch a cartoon as an adult, it needs to have some sort of social commentary or cheap shots here and there. I'm glad Pokemon appeals to kids, but now, it's just not for me. I think that's fair to say, right?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 07, 2009
I agree with Sean. I love The Simpsons (not Family Guy) as much as the next person, but these shows are really targeted for different audiences and, given that, I'm a fan of Pokemon too. There's also the fact that Pokemon is a TV version of a video game, which I do enjoy playing as well, even as an adult. I, too, would like to hear your specific criticisms of the cartoon.
March 07, 2009
I'd completely forgotten about this review and thanks to your and Sean's comments I was inspired to actually update it to reflect my thoughts in a clearer manner. I probably saw the data point and word vomited my thoughts without giving much thought to the details I was lacking. Thanks for keeping me in check! :-)
 
March 07, 2009
While I can somewhat agree, I think it's unrealistic to view Pokemon based on merits it was never meant to stand up to in the first place. Aside from that you don't really go into what makes it a particularly bad show. Certainly the show IS for kids, but if that's the case... it probably should be reviewed as such. I used to really get into as a kid of about twelve years old or so. I certainly don't find it appealing as an adult, but given the shows target audience, it seems like something of a waste to review it as if it were an adult show. It isn't meant to compare in any sort of way with Family Guy or The Simpsons. There's nothing unfair about what you've said, I just think that a show, movie, video game, book, etc. should be reviewed based on what it is and not what it isn't. Pokemon is a kid's show, it is only fair to review it as such. Please keep in mind, I'm not trying to trash your review. I'm just wondering what exactly it is that makes the show bad. And specifically, not for adults, but to the shows targeted and intended audience. What makes it unappealing to them? I don't think that many adults are going to really like the show... which is why a review isn't based entirely on opinion but analysis as well. Your other reviews are so enchanting and detailed. I really love reading them, but I couldn't really pin point out anything here... this one seems to lack detail...
March 07, 2009
Thanks for your comments, Sean! I'd completely forgotten about this review I'd written way back when, and I should probably update it to be a little more in depth. As a kid, I always enjoyed shows that had an educational theme, and I never felt Pokemon contributed much to developing a child's knowledge. Still, there must be something said for fun for fun's sake, too. Be on the lookout for an expanded, and better, review! :-)
 
1
More Pokémon reviews
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Megahit anime show for toys and nonsense. I might have been more into this show if I was younger when it debuted but from what I saw it was annoying.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
I wanna be the very best, like no one ever was!!! My favorite fad ever. I still have my cards and video games. Season 1 of the show was the best. Still watch it every so often.
review by . December 22, 2008
Pokemon
Oh Pokemon. You used to be so popular back in the day. And the scary thing is, even now you are oh so very popular. From having an animated series that is still going on, a plethora of video games which are still being made, merchandise like no other, a popular card game.. it's no wonder how you are still in the rankings of popularity even now.     Honestly, I used to love Pokemon. I watched every episode on TV and collected the VHS tapes as they came out. I collected every card …
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Ranked #62
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki


Pokémon is a media franchise published and owned by thevideo game company Nintendo and created by Satoshi Tajiri in 1996. Originally released as a pair of interlinkable Game Boy role-playing video games developed by Game Freak, Pokémon has since become the second most successful and lucrative video game-based media franchise in the world, behind only Nintendo's own Mario series. Pokémon properties have since been merchandisedinto anime, manga, trading cards, toys, books, and other media. The franchise celebrated its tenth anniversary in 2006, and as of 28 May 2010, cumulative sales of the video games (including home console versions, such as the "Pikachu" Nintendo 64) have reached more than 200 million copies.

The name Pokémon is the romanized contraction of the Japanese brand Pocket Monsters (ポケットモンスター PokettoMonsutā?),[5] as such contractions are quite common in Japan. The term "Pokémon", in addition to referring to the Pokémon franchise itself, also collectively refers to the 649 fictional species that have made appearances in Pokémon media as of the release of the Pokémon role-playing game (RPG) for theNintendo DS, Pokémon Black and White. Like the words deer and sheep, the word "Pokémon" ...

view wiki

Details

Description: Originally a single series, Pokémon, it has since been made into four series, including Advanced Generation, subsequently Diamond and Pearl and Best Wishes, which sequentially continue the story of Pokémon, while its spin-off Pokémon Smash (formerly Weekl
Genre: Animation
Studio: OLM, Inc
Original Air Date: April 1, 1997 – ongoing

Polls with this tv show
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists