|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Television Shows » Reviews » Pushing Daisies » User review

Pushing Daisies - AMAZING, as short-lived as it was..

  • May 9, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
If you're a die-hard romantic and you have not seen or heard of the TV show, Pushing Daisies, I strongly urge you to check it out right now. A TV series created by Bryan Fuller and first aired in October 2007, has become one of my most loved series ever. Even though it was nominated for a whopping 12 Emmys for it's first season, it was sadly cancelled after it's second season, due to falling ratings(something which astounds me)..

The basic premise of this story revolves around wonderfully well-written characters and is set in such a fantastical colourful world, with the romantic antics between the main couple being central to the storyline.

Ned, a simple piemaker of The Pie Hole, has an astonishing gift. He can wake the dead with a single touch. This gift does come with a price though, as whatever he reawakens can only stay alive for 1 minute before someone or something else or equal life value(human for human, bird for bird, etc) dies in it's place. Another down side is that once Ned touches the reawakened to 'kill' them again, there is no way he can bring it back to life with his magic touch.

The series starts off with us finding out that Ned is working with a private investigator, Emerson Cod, waking up murder victims and asking them who killed them. When a case comes to them involving the death of Lonely Tourist Charlotte Charles, whom we find out is a childhood sweetheart of Ned's, Ned takes it into his own hands to keep Charlotte, or Chuck, as he likes to call her, alive, letting someone else die in her place. They swiftly become a couple after this happens, but cannot in any way touch each other for fear of Chuck dying again, forever.

From then on, we are brought into a wonderful storybook world filled with characters that seem to have come out of a children's storybook but still having more adult issues in their lives. This is all the while being filled with gruesome murders for our main characters to solve and to top it off, the cast is filled with musical stars like Kristin Chenoweth(a personal favourite of mine), Ellen Greene and Raul Esparza, who tend to burst into song at random moments throughout the course of the story!

And even though the foundation of the entire series is kind of morbid(a guy being able to wake the dead and all...) and even with gruesome deaths being depicted whenever Ned wakes the dead, one cannot help but take it light-heartedly and laugh at the predicaments these murder victims have gotten themselves into.. Like a fried chicken entreprenuer who gets deep fried in his own vat of hot oil or a woman who gets fried on her lighthouse light and dies resembled a fried egg!

I personally find this series one of the most original, smart and well-thought out TV series of the whole lot I have seen, and I have seen a LOT! From the storybook narrative over the episodes by Jim Dale, one even being told completely in rhyme, to the bright and happy colours and cinematic photography used it every episode, one cannot help but love some aspect of this brilliant and utterly amazing TV show.

It will be sorely missed and I will just have to be content with the 2 short seasons that we have been given..
The Cast!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
25
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
May 09, 2009
Bravo! Great review and use of the wiki section to outline some of the show's facts! For some reason I never watched this show, but you write a convincing review so I might have to try and find it. Is the series syndicated or on DVD  yet? I guess I didn't get into this for the same reason I can't stand Desperate Housewives-- just seems to far "out there."  But who knows? Maybe I'll get sucked in and enjoy this one.
May 09, 2009
The first season came out in DVD not long ago! :) And there're only 9 episodes in the season, so it shouldn't be all that hard to follow! :D
May 10, 2009
Great-- sounds like the making for one lazy Sunday!
 
1
More Pushing Daisies reviews
review by . November 26, 2010
posted in The HuB
4 stars: Life than death than life again
What if you had the power to bring the dead back life, what would you do with said power and how would you use it? Would you use it to help people or would you just lock yourself away afraid of a lasting human connection. A young man named Ned (Lee Pace in a phenomenal performance) knows this better than anyone does, you see Ned has a special gift with one touch the young pie maker can touch the dead and bring it back to life. Ned has lived a life of solitude …
Quick Tip by . November 27, 2010
posted in The HuB
Caption
All you see these days on television are police procedural, medical drams and moronic comedies, in the last 25 years of television there have been few(and I do not use that word lightly) programs on television that have deemed themselves worthy of being called Those shows are "The X-Files"(1994-2002), "Twin Peaks"(1990-19911), "Kolchak: The Night Stalker"(1974-1975), "Millennium"(1997-1999) and Bryan Fuller's masterpiece "Pushing Daisies"(2007-2009). …
review by . December 13, 2008
this show is akin to Willa Wonka Chocolate Factory , Wizard of Oz, and Alice in Wonderland.  mix in great actors, fabulouos wardrobe (for Chuck! i love her clothes!), kooky plotlines, wacky characters, mystery, romance, and a wee bit of spook and you got yourself an incredibly entertaining show.    too bad - and i mean WAY TOO BAD  - it's getting cancelled.  if only the general public was a little less mainstream....(deep sigh).
About the reviewer
Karlyne Wang ()
Ranked #520
Fashion design student who is a bit, okay, maybe a LOT of a geek. :) I love comics, movies, tv shows, cosplaying, drawing and all manner of geekiness..     Also, I'm a proud vegetarian! … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kagami
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by kagami
About this tv show

Wiki

A television show written by Brian Fuller about a man (Ned) who can bring the dead back to life wiht the touch of a finger.  The facts are these:

 - Ned discovered his ability as a young boy when his mother had a stroke and when he touched her, she came back to life.
 - later that evening, when she kissed him goodnight, she dropped dead again.  This revealed that teh 2nd touch would make the newly living dead again.
 - at the time of the touch, his neighbor Chucks (a girl) dad dropped dead - revealing that when someone is brought back to life, another must die.

Now Ned owns a pie shop called the Pie Hole and does PI work on the side with Emerson PI whereas they go to the morgue and bring people back to life for 1 minute (without consequence) to determine how they died.  Also, he brought Chuck back to life and they are now a couple who cannot touch.



view wiki

Details

Description: Romantic Comedy Tv show
Genre: Comedy, Romance
Studio: American Broadcasting Company (ABC)

Lists with this tv show
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists