|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Stargate Universe » User review

SGU Logo

Second Spin-off of the Hit Sci-fi Series Stargate: SG-1 scheduled to debut October 2, 2009

< read all 6 reviews

Stargate:Universe, with a grain of salt

  • Oct 3, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
I really do understand why some fans of Stargate are choosing not to watch SGU because of their worries over it becoming Stargate:90210.  It's been touted as bigger, better, and with a younger, sexier cast.  Then, there were worries about the handling of a lesiban relationship onscreen, and whether bodyswap communication was really going to be a good idea.   I appreciate their concerns over the various issues that have been brought up, but I felt that I needed to see it for myself before making a judgment call on whether or not it was offensive or good or even worth watching at all.

Being the big geeks that we are, Julian and I and our other sci-fi friends decided to plan a geeky Stargate party for the premiere, complete with costumes/SG t-shirts, stargate-themed food (Salisbury Steak, tater tots and blue jello, along with lemon chicken and lemonade just for Rodney and Guinness to drink) and general geekery. We even watched "Window of Opportunity," the awesome groundhog-day episode of SG-1 before the premiere started.

I'll admit, I was more excited than wary, but I want to have faith in the Stargate franchise because it hasn't failed me yet (barring the untimely demise of Atlantis). But, I did make sure not to let my excitement cloud my judgment.

Overall, I enjoyed it. It's almost not a Stargate series, because the feel of it is so different. The whole feel of the show is darker, less happy action-adventure-y that SG-1 or Atlantis, and the set and the handheld camera-work really play to that. It opens with a bang, literally, with injured refugees flying through the Stargate into a dark, unfamiliar location, all panic and confusion and no answers, which start to come as the episode goes on.

The ship is pretty neat, although not shiny and beautiful like Atlantis or the Asgaard ships, and it's largely a mystery. It's very Battlestar-esque in that the ship is old and falling apart and barely able to support life, which I'm sure will create lots of plotlines for future episodes.

I think the most interesting thing about the series is the characters. Yes, some of them are young and attractive, but so was Sam Carter in the first season of SG-1, and look how she developed as a character. I think a lot of the characters have some great potential for development and I hope they get it as the series goes on. It doesn't seem like SG:90210 yet, and I don't see that happening anytime soon.

I like Lt. Scott right off the bat, and I think he has some interesting growth ahead of him, as a green soldier thrust into a leadership position. Johannsen, the medic, is interesting too. I'm intrigued to see how they deal with the relationship between her and Ming Na's IOA committee member, Ray. I hope, in future episodes, we'll get to see a lot more development from Ming-Na's character. She's such an awesome actress, and has potential to be great.

The moral ambiguity of some characters isreally fascinating.. Dr. Rush is like no one we've seen on Stargate, yet.  He clearly has his own motives, and really only cares about the science, the discovery, about proving that he is right, but without him, the stranded Icarus Base crew is without an expert.  I love the fact that he's really the first leading stargate character who could easily be a hero or a villain.  Greer is problematic to me, though. I'm interested in his backstory, but really, did they have to make the one black dude the crazy possibly homicidal incarcerated soldier?

Overall, I think it was really cool and interesting, and I'm hoping that SGU provides some development for potentially fascinating characters in future episodes.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
16
Post a Comment
December 17, 2010
So bummed that the show was just cancelled by Syfy. I encourage you to write the studio and give 'em grief.
 
October 14, 2009
Interesting review. An adorer or Atlantis (even over the much loved SG-1), I haven't devoted to this one yet. I usually wait for these shows to come out on DVD to enjoy them at my own pace. Keep us posted on how this show develops.
 
October 04, 2009
Wow, a Stargate party, that's great. You should invite some of us Luncher geeks next time. :) I missed half the pilot so I'm reserving judgment. So far, so good.
 
October 03, 2009
Great review Love!
 
1
More Stargate Universe reviews
review by . September 29, 2009
SGU Poster
When I first heard about the premise of SGU, I wasn't thrilled.  The idea of taking Stargate and making it edgier and more accessible didn't really sit right with me.  Stargate fans had what they wanted with SG-1 and Atlantis already and with the promise of more movies, they pretty much were satisfied.  I was actually under the impression for a while that I wasn't even going to give the show a chance.  People were saying it was a rip off of Voyager with a 90210 twist.  Then …
Quick Tip by . December 17, 2010
SO SO SO SO SO bummed that Syfy just canceled this program. It's the only incarnation of the STARGATE universe of programs that I totally got into, and I'm saddened that I won't see where this journey was to end.
review by . October 07, 2009
STARGATE UNIVERSE is the third television series to spin off from the movie Stargate. It concerns a mismatched group of explorers, soldiers and civilians trapped aboard an Ancient vessel billions of light years away from Earth with no way of returning home. What sets this series apart is its darker tone, younger cast, and much more kinetic feel. The characters barely know each other let alone like each other, and spend a lot of time in the opening story hurling accusations and blame for their dire …
Quick Tip by . November 20, 2009
interesting and plausible premise from the original show, but not loving it yet
Quick Tip by . October 03, 2009
I watched the majority of the premiere. Interesting premise, being stuck on an Ancient ship with a stargate - Not in love w/the stars yet!
About the reviewer
Karyn ()
Ranked #477
Member Since: Jun 28, 2009
Last Login: Aug 18, 2011 03:33 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Dramaphile
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

SGU Poster 

Stargate Universe
which has also come to be know simply as SGU is the second spin-off series to spawn off of the success of Stargate: SG-1.  Stargate Universe will debut on October 2nd 2009 on the Syfy Channel with the three part episode/movie entitled "Air".



SGU takes place aboard the Ancient ship, Destiny, a ship that was created by the ancients in order to follow another ship that was seeding stargates in different galaxies.  In order to reach the ship, a gate address using all nine chevrons would have to be dialed, something that has never happened in the Stargate universe before.  When a team of soldiers and scientists from the SGC is attacked at a secret base, they dial all nine chevrons of the gate, leading them to the Destiny.  Now, with not enough food, air or water to survive and no way to change the ships course back home to Earth, the makeshift crew of the Destiny must find a way back home...and a way to stay alive in the process.

This new take on the Stargate franchise is aimed at both seasoned viewers as well as a new audience as well.  While the show will rely on previous Stargate mythos, viewers will not really need to know about the franchise going in.  Instead of plots on an episode to episode basis, the show will focus heavily on one main plot through out the course of that season while also focusing more on the characters than the adventure and exploration aspects.  While the show takes on a more...
view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: October 2nd 2009
Genre: Sci-Fi
Studio: MGM
Original Air Date: October 2nd 2009, december 17, 2010
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists