|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Supernatural » User review

Supernatural

American cult dramatic television series regarding the paranormal

< read all 7 reviews

Blows The Hardy Boys Away...

  • May 29, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I became helplessly hooked on this show from the moment burning Mary disintegrated on the ceiling above her baby's crib, causing her husband and two young sons to live the rest of their lives on the road, their only home a 1967 Chevy Impala, in relentless pursuit of the thing that had taken her away from them.

Thursday nights are indeed special for me -- That's when Sam and Dean Winchester, Mary's two sons, battle ghosts, goblins, vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters, demons and a whole host of other nasty fuglies, thus giving me about as much entertainment and enjoyment as I could possibly stand!

Now 26 years old, Sam (Jared Padelecki) had never known his mother, for she died on the ceiling above his crib when he was six months old.  His brother Dean (Jensen Ackles), who is four years older, has protected and taken care of him all his life while their father, John (Jeffrey Dean Morgan), hunted for whatever killed their mother, as well as any other monster or spirit encountered along the way.  He raised his sons to follow his path, and though Sam had left the family business to attend college for a few years, circumstances eventually led him back to the hunt that has been all along his father's and older brother's pursuit.

Every episode is a mini scary movie in itself, though there is a very deeply complicated and dark mythology that has followed this series through its four seasons so far.  The fourth season, which recently wrapped up, is especially intense- building to a veritable battle between heaven and hell.

The sets and direction are far above par, and the acting is pretty incredible -- in addition to Padelecki and Ackles, there are a whole host of other actors who are, or have making regular appearances on the show over the past few years- most notable among them are Jim Beaver as Bobby, Misha Collins as Castiel, Samantha Ferris as Ellen, Katie Cassidy and Genevieve Cortese as the two personifications of Ruby, Fred Lehne as the demon Azazel, and a few others who were
quite excellent as well. 

Essentially, though, it is the story of the Winchester brothers - it is their conflicting ideals and their deep bond that is the driving force of this saga.  

Make no mistake: once one starts watching this fine show, there's just no going back!
Sam&Dean

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
September 01, 2009
I just recently learned of this show's existence. I will be picking-up seasons 1-4 on DVD and watching this season on TV. I think Fox moved "Fringe" to Thursday nights to go head to head with "Supernatural". I will watch one and DVR the other. Thanks for your great review!
 
May 29, 2009
Heh - Thank you! - Indeed, eye candy can go far in giving a show a boost-- But it's only just a part of what is so awesome about this show!! Again- Much Appreciated!!
May 29, 2009
No prob! Looking forward to reading more of your reviews! :)
 
May 29, 2009
I was just watching this as I was Lunching an hour ago!  I've been watching Supernatural on and off since it first came out.  The plot of every episode is amazing and never ceases to give me to chills. 

Doesn't hurt that Jared Padelecki and Jensen Ackles (who I've loved since Days of Our Lives!) are really easy on the eyes, too :D
 
May 29, 2009
Oh! Then you should definitely check this out!! - Thank you, by the way, for the first comment of my first ever review here :-)
 
1
More Supernatural reviews
review by . June 03, 2013
Kinda had to be here, right?       
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2013
I put off watching this show for an embarrassing amount of time just because of the number of episodes I'd have to catch up on and the HUGE fan base on Tumblr. I cant even begin to explain how EVERYONE needs to watch at least one episode of this. I've stopped calling it a "show"; it's become a way of life.
Quick Tip by . August 21, 2012
posted in SF Signal
Supernatural has been one of my all time favorite TV shows. The writers have been able to mix dark occult fantasy with humor and stories that can puts you in the mind that if monsters, demons, and vengeful spirits were really on the prowl, I would be looking these guys up. Periiod! The show continues to progress and always reaches the point where it might just jump the shark, but manages to keep in check and not put off its viewers.
Quick Tip by . April 09, 2012
i love this show and i watch it every day and i hope that it is never canceled
Quick Tip by . December 01, 2010
posted in Pass The Remote!
Caption
This has become one of favorite TV shows that mixes fantasy, the occult, familial secrets and the apocalypse rolled into one. Seasons 1-5 were just great in the way it clicked, season 6 is currently promising but feels a little unnecessary since Kripke intended the show for only 5 seasons.      Good show to practice before the upcoming SANDMAN TV series.
review by . August 09, 2010
I absolutely recommend this one. (The new season starts Fri, Sept 24!)      It has the episodic monster-hunting of X-files, mixed with the veneration of butchness and go-it-alone spirit of 24.       I enjoyed the first three seasons well enough, but seasons four and five, with the overarching Apocalypse plot, was where it really opened up and took off.       I was immediately charmed by the portrayal of angels as stiff, …
About the reviewer

Ranked #1578
Member Since: Apr 14, 2009
Last Login: May 30, 2009 03:37 AM UTC
About this tv show

Wiki

An American television series focused on the horror/supernatural genre. Creator Eric Kripke has always maintained that the "story" could be told in five seasons, and if they made it through Season 5, there would be no plans to continue the series beyond that. As of 2008, Supernatural is in its 4th season, awaiting the green light for its fifth and final season.

The series centers on the Winchester brothers Sam and Dean, portrayed by Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles respectively. Together, the brothers travel across America to investigate paranormal happenings. Their main mode of transportation is a 1967 Chevy Impala, dubbed "Metallicar." (Dean, the owner of the car, has an affinity for classic rock music.) Similar to The X-Files, Supernatural has an overarching mythology that concerns the majority of episodes. This said, there are a handful of stand-alone episodes each season that deal with an isolated, unexplained occurrence, a sighting, etc.

Supernatural premiered September 18, 2005, on The WB. The following year, the network merged with UPN to form the current CW, on which Supernatural now airs after fellow genre series Smallville.
view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: September 18, 2005
Description: American cult dramatic television series regarding the paranormal.

Polls with this tv show
30 Rock

TV Shows

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists