|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » The Golden Girls » User review

The Golden Girls, Timeless and Brilliant!

  • Feb 28, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
 I have been a fan of the The Golden Girls since it initially aired on NBC.  I have consistently watched it  on Lifetime and now Hallmark and have all the seasons on DVD (I even had to order a new set because I wore out the original).  I can quote it and watch them repeatedly whenever I need to lift my spirits.

The writing is absolutely superb.  Humor is used to deal with wonderful situations in life.  These golden girls are modern, free thinkers who experience life, love, and of course sex (and enjoy quite a few cheesecakes as well).  The other amazing thing about this show is that they got away with dealing so many cutting edge topics  such as sex, impotence, HIV, gay marriage, gay rights, divorce, chronic fatigue syndrome, etc.  They did it all with humor and excellent writing.  

The acting was also top notch.  The entire cast, Bea Arthur, Estelle Getty, Rue McClanahan, and Betty White are/were all top notch performers.  They brought grace, style, wit, and amazing acting chops to each and every episode.  It is no wonder that each of them won Emmys during the shows' seven year run.

This is a truly timeless and brilliant piece of ensemble comedy on television.  The Golden Girls will live on forever!!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
13
Fun to Read
13
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
December 21, 2011
They were great as a team, as well as individually.
 
December 14, 2010
Great review! I loved watching the Golden Girls with my aunt and we always got a kick out of every show. You may also be interested in adding this to my Pass the Remote! Community.
 
June 07, 2010
I completely agree with you - I still watch the reruns to this day and my favorite episodes seem to be the ones where they eat cheesecake and talk about sex - hysterical. I agree that all four were wonderful, but Blanch played her "horny" self superbly without being crass or nasty as most women do on TV these days - very refreshing! Wonderful review.
March 04, 2012
I watch some of those re-runs myself.
 
March 18, 2010
This is a very funny show. Good job
 
February 28, 2010
Agreed!  I love this show so much!  Even though they were an ensemble cast of older ladies in the 80''s, they were totally on the breaking edge of television.  Great review, Jimmy!

By the way, I think this reviews of Betty White will make you :D
 
1
More The Golden Girls reviews
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
this a funny as hell old time classic done by some pretty funny ladies.
Quick Tip by . September 19, 2009
que? que! Golden Girls en espanol! a take-off on the tv show with a latin flavor. i wonder how st. olof stories are going to translate..
Quick Tip by . August 31, 2009
One of the funniest of the 80s - GOLDEN GIRLS - "Thank you for being a friend." transcends all age groups. Only Betty and Rue left now!
review by . December 14, 2008
I am 22 years old. I like doing 22 year old things. But I also love the Golden Girls. The show is now (sadly) off the air but reruns and DVD releases have kept my addiction live and well.    If you are unfamiliar with this fabulous documentation of elderly women then let me fill you in. The show revolves around 4 best friends living it up in Miami, who just happen to be a little past their prime. The great thing is, no one has told them this, and they continue to act like a bunch …
review by . December 15, 2008
Two words: Estelle Getty. Need I say more?     Well, I guess I should. First off, this is one of the few scripted shows I watch because the drama is great, but you can also relate to it, especially if you've ever lived with roommates. Also, Golden Girls, as others have written, is almost like a Sex and the City from the 1980s. Its four single or divorced women live together, share good times, bad times, and even tales from their love lives in a classy and dignified way.     T …
review by . December 15, 2008
I remember watching this show with my grandma.  I loved it.  I thought this dynamic bunch of woman were awesome...so they were in their golden years and I was just out of high school, but I loved every bit of it!    All 4 woman bring their own unique style to the show.  Blanche had a more seductive side to her, Rose was the simpleton of the group, then you have the more practical and more reserved Dorothy.  Then of course everybody's favorite Sofia who spoke …
review by . December 14, 2008
Yay for The Golden Girls! They make being elderly and living in Miami look, well, fun. Screw being stuck with a crotchety old husband at that age - I'd rather live with these chicks! Bonus points goes to the shoulder pads, over-use of pastels, and best of all - Blanche's "leafy" bedroom and her cheesy suitors. These ladies make me laugh every time.
About the reviewer
Jimmy LeDuc ()
Ranked #669
I am a Director/Actor/Teacher of all Things Theatre in the Twin Cities.
About this tv show

Wiki

The Golden Girls is based on the lives and interactions of four older women whom have all been divorced/widowed, and are now roommates. Bea Arthur's (Dorothy) main goal during the series is to find a companion she can relate to while her mother Estelle Getty (Sophia) adds her comical outlook and frequent "Picture This" stories. Betty White's St. Olaf-ness makes her a little corny but lovable. One thing that changes nearly every episode is whom Rue McClanahan (Blanche) is courting. She's a little too promiscuous for her own good.
view wiki

Tags

Tv Shows, Television, Tv, Comedy, Series, Tv Series, Television Show, Television Series, Sitcom, Betty White, Bea Arthur, Sophia Petrillo, Dorothy Zbornak, Rue Mcclanahan, Rose Nylund, Estelle Getty, Blanche Devereaux

Details

Premiere Date: September 14, 1985
Description: American sitcom about four divorced or single women living together in Miami.

Polls with this tv show
Ally McBeal

Hooked!

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists