|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Television Shows » Reviews » The Hills » User review

The Hills

An MTV reality television series

< read all 4 reviews

Right up there with My Super Sweet 16!

  • Dec 10, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
Anything that can be translated easily from English to literal French certainly gets an 'A' in my book. So every Monday I gravitate towards my TV and anxiously wait for "Les Collines" to come on.

I realized recently that I watch the series for the same reasons I watch MTV's My Super Sweet 16: to observe the drama of society's "upper-crust" as they "struggle" through life while decking themselves out in thousand-dollar outfits and eating at seventeen-star restaurants in Hollywood. It's just too good to pass up! Plus, who can resist watching passive-aggressive behavior at its best?

All in all, The Hills provides me with cheap entertainment like no other. If the show ever stops running, I just might have to go to Hollywood myself and start creating my own episodes, somehow. I'm hooked!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
December 10, 2008
LOL! Yeah, that's a fantastic barometer: anything that can be translated literally from English to another language. The conversations in The Hills certainly don't get much deeper than that. I watch it to improve my reading of passive-aggression.
 
December 10, 2008
You know, I can't even pinpoint WHYYY I am addicted to a show like this... maybe it's because you see them in their "real life" setting...doing "real life things" (if you can call interning at teen vogue going out to ridiculous clubs every night real things) that you feel like you know them.. plus their drama is all up in our faces so we really feel like we know what it's like to be them.. and it's kiiinndd of a mirror image of our life. except we eat at cheaper restaurants, have smaller houses, and don't get jobs that easily. And they're the same age as a lot of people who watch... so maybe we feel like we can relate and discuss their relationships/downfalls as if we were discussing our real friends.
 
1
More The Hills reviews
review by . May 28, 2009
Talking like a character from Clueless was cool in high school.  Everything about The Hills was cool when it was Laguna Beach.  After all, they were all in high school.  It was OK to be immature, drama-filled, and constantly blabbing about another friend or the new guy you're dating.    But you're done with high school, LC!!!!  Get over it.  It's a show about a bunch of spoiled college kids that get whatever they want and complain up the hoo-ha about …
review by . April 15, 2009
I been watching this show since the very beginning and i have the seasons on dvd....i dont know what it is but the drama is addicting. I guess I can kinda relate to those girls...even though im married now im still young i like to watch it with my husband on Monday nights, hes into it too. And even though i think spencer is a dooch, my husband sits there and laughs and says thats my boy ....is that normal, guys are weird.
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Ranked #108
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

The Hills is a series documenting the life of Lauren Conrad and her friends after leaving her home in Laguna Beach, California. It is a successful and popular spinoff of the MTV reality TV show Laguna Beach.
view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: May 31, 2006
Description: Los Angeles-based reality TV show documenting the life of Lauren Conrad and her friends.
Starring: Lauren Conrad

Polls with this tv show
30 Rock

TV Shows

by

America's Next Top Model

Reality TV

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists