|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » The Simpsons » User review

The Simpsons

American animated sitcom created by Matt Groening for the Fox Broadcasting Company

< read all 9 reviews

I feel like they're a part of my family at this point.

  • Dec 9, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
I've been watching the Simpsons since I can remember anything at all. I was born in '85, and I know the show has been an independent program since what, '89? So I guess it's just about right that some of my earliest memories involve the Simpsons (others include the spinning wheel from The Price is Right).

For many years, each new season was better than the last. Episode plots grew more complex, and social commentary abounded in each episode. But I don't know. Sometime while I was in high school (1999-2003), they hired new writers and in my opinion, the show's status began to wane. Still, I love watching the show when I can (about twice a day) because even after all these years, each episode packs in more laughs than anything else on TV (well, Family Guy may be up there, but whatevs).

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
February 23, 2009
You know, I can't tell whether the newer episodes are getting better or if I've just lowered my standards. For nearly 4 years in college I barely watched new episodes, so I have a lot of catching up to do.
 
February 23, 2009
Awwww, I love The Simpsons, too, and I love the title of your review! I agree that they did go downhill after the hiring of the new writers, but really recent episodes have seem to have gotten better!
 
February 10, 2009
I never found this show funny, but then again I have a different sense of humor that 99% of the Earth. Family Guy is the winner!
 
December 09, 2008
I can't believe this show is still running, and I totally understand what you mean about thinking they are part of your family hahahaha!! I talk about the characters on F.R.I.E.N.D.S. like that all the time. "Remember that one time Rachel....." It is true.. I'm truly amazed how they can come up with so much funny material after so many years!
 
1
More The Simpsons reviews
Quick Tip by . August 15, 2013
posted in Pass The Remote!
This show is dead. It needs to go. I don't care how good the first eight seasons were anymore. The Simpsons has aired FAR more bad episodes than good ones now, and it's time Matt Groening just euthanized the fucking thing and put it out of its misery, and bring us back from the delusion that it's still any good.
review by . July 17, 2009
Writing a review of The Simpsons is hard.  The show has been so successful that it is practically it's own genre on television.  It has become one of the most culturally significant shows of all time (the only show I can think of that may be more so is Seinfeld).  It has spawned several catchphrases and was one of the strongest and wittiest shows of all time.  Yet there is one thing that has always been very tough to deal with concerning The Simpsons.  It is a show …
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
Lots of fans say not to watch after season 8-11 or so. But there are many awesome episodes to watch each season.
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
The show has been so successful that it is practically it's own genre on television. It has become one of the most culturally significant shows of all time. It has spawned several catchphrases and was one of the strongest and wittiest shows of all time. Yet there is one thing that has always been very tough to deal with concerning The Simpsons... the unavoidable series decline.
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Groundbreaking cartoon comedy for Fox that is still running after 20 years. Has had many hits and misses but it's early 1 thru 8 seasons are classic. Third and fourth seasons are the best.
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2009
I remember when this show came on board....innovative, creative....different at that time...fun to watch!
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2009
I pretty much grew up on this show. Mom used to not want me to watch it due to "bad influences" even though she watched it herself!
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Ranked #108
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Details

Polls with this tv show
30 Rock

TV Shows

by

30 Rock

Sitcoms

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists