|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

True Blood: The Complete Third Season

The complete third season of the popular HBO series based on the Sookie Stackhouse books.

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Jun 26, 2011
There are very few TV shows which manage to get better and better with each season. True Blood has proven that it is one of those shows. Following the strange supernatural events of the second season, the third season picks up where the last one left off and it doesn't disappoint. Certainly the darkest and most disturbing season for viewers, season three is also the most dramatic (or traumatic for the characters) as each character experiences a horrific revelation about their past or realizes how powerful the dangers are that surround them. This is the year that for the residents of Bon Temps, the shit hits the fans... and the fans of True Blood should love it.

There's a lot more focus on characterization and plot in this season and less focus on sex and violence (though there is still a decent amount of both). In this season we see into Bill's bloody past and discover some of his motives, we see into Eric's past and realize that he's not as villainous as we had thought, we see into Sam's past and for the first time get a glimpse of his regrets and his secrets, and for everyone else we become all-too aware of how flawed they are as people. There's also a revelation about Sookie and where her powers come from that should open up the series' mythology quite a bit, not to mention the addition of werewolves into the show's creature cosmology.
And poor, Tara who has had nothing but hell to go through continues her downward spiral of trauma, depression, and desperate survival. But overall, season three deals with the effects of what has come before. If each season had a theme, the first season's theme would be "There are more things on Heaven and Earth... than are dreamt of in your philosophy" in which the existence of vampires and shape-shifters is revealed. The theme of the second season would be "Everybody is a freak of one kind or another" in which it is revealed that each character has ties to the supernatural and that each new encounter leads to more and more occult connections. The theme of the third season would be "All that has come before has lead me to where now I stand" in which all the events of the past two seasons culminate and reveal that things are only going to get worse before they get better.

I have no idea where this series is going, which is kind of refreshing since genre TV is often so predictable, and I like that the show manages to make an edgy, violent, sexy, supernatural soap opera out of constantly pulling the rug out from underneath its viewers. That kind of drama is rarely done well and True Blood does it bloody well.
Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
9
Post a Comment
June 30, 2011
Yep! I had to stand up for this season quite a bit against murmurs that it was losing its steam after the season of Maryann. I love this show as you know ;p Great QT, Count!
June 30, 2011
Even with the mediocrity and silliness of the Maryann subplot I think that season 2 moved the show forward and helped to set up most of the drama for seasons 3 and probably 4 too. Plus, I love the way that season 2 helped to develop the Sookie/Bill/Eric love triangle that's been getting more focus recently in the series and I really liked how they evolved the Jessica character.
 
June 27, 2011
I adore True Blood. I've actually read all of the Charlaine Harris novels, but the TV series takes it to a place more dark and sexual than the books are willing to portray. For the no holds barred approach I'd pick the TV series over the books any day, though they do often leave some details out. EG - Lafayette was technically written out long ago but has proven his worth as a interesting character on the show.
June 27, 2011
Yeah, I can't imagine Lafayette's absence from the show, so it's hard to believe that Harris killed him off so early on in the books. That's one of the reasons I have been a little hesitant about reading the novels. I love the series' combination of social commentary, sex, violence, mystery, comedy, and melodrama and from what I've gathered the books focus more on humor and mystery, similar in a fashion to the Janet Evanovich books.
June 28, 2011
Okay, so no disrespect to the author because she's worked extremely hard to get where she is, but I'd stick to watching the show instead. Every season seems to be based on a book, and not only does it get more interesting, it seems to pull elements from future books in the series in preparation for the next season. I don't think reading the series will give you any more insight other than what is going to happen between Sookie and Eric.
June 28, 2011
Oh, no disrespect to the author at all because she invented this world from disparate genre elements and wove it all together brilliantly, but having said that I agree that the show improves upon the concept and takes it into a dark, sexier, and more interesting place.
June 28, 2011
I completely agree!
 
June 26, 2011
agreed. I bought this on Blu and never regretted it.
June 26, 2011
It's definitely my favorite season thus far and it's got me rabidly anticipating the DVD of season 4.
 
1
More True Blood: The Complete Third... reviews
review by . August 10, 2010
posted in True Blood
Season 2 was a litte disappointing as the focus of the storyline got away from the vampires.  This season has introduced some new creatures (werewolves and other shape shifters) but has mainly focused on the TB vampire lore.  Bill has been kidnapped and is the clutches of the Vampire King of Louisianna.  Eric has asserted his power and has usurped his Queen.  Sookie's powers are being expanded and we learn that mind reading is only a small sampling of her powers.   …
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
posted in True Blood
The season is off to a rollicking start as Bill tries to escape his kidnappers only to fall into the clutches of werewolves!
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

The third season of the television series True Blood premiered on June 13, 2010, simultaneously on HBO and HBO Canada and will contain 12 episodes, bringing the series total to 36. It loosely follows the plot of the third novel of The Southern Vampire Mysteries, Club Dead.
view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: June 13, 2010
Description: The third season of the popular HBO series based on Charlaine Harris' "The Southern Vampire Mysteries".
Genre: Mystery & Suspense
Studio: Home Box Office (HBO)
Original Air Date: June 13, 2010 - September 12, 2010
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists