|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Series » Reviews » Twin Peaks » User review

Twin Peaks

A TV show that aired on ABC in 1991 and 1992.

< read all 1 reviews

Visit Twin Peaks for an Odd, Quirky and Fun Time

  • Mar 16, 2010
Rating:
+5
Back in the early 90's there was a huge buzz about a show called Twin Peaks.  I never did see the show then, but I knew the burning question from the show was "Who killed Laura Palmer?".   I knew I was going to check out this TV series eventually.  A show that is supposed to be different, weird, funny and downright goofy is right up my alley.

A couple of years ago I Netflixed the entire series of Twin Peaks. It took me a month or so to see it all, but it was well worth it.  I'm glad I waited all of those years to see it.  I wouldn't have appreciated the show as much or understood much of the show back when I was 20 years old.  Also, it is a great TV show to see all in a short period of time and not over a couple of seasons.  You don't want to forget a thing while watching.

By the way, you need to watch the show in this order to really appreciate it.

  1. Two hour pilot episode
  2. Season 1 - contains 7 episodes
  3. Season 2 - contains 22 episodes
  4. Twin Peaks - Fire Walk With Me movie
     

Twin Peaks was a show from the twisted mind of David Lynch about the murder of a high school girl (Laura Palmer) that turns the small town of Twin Peaks on its head. The FBI get involved because they may have a serial killer on their hands. Enter Kyle MacLachlan as FBI agent Dale Cooper.  I think he is one of the most entertaining TV characters I've ever seen. Speaking of characters, you'll see a plethora of interesting characters in this TV series (even David Lynch himself as Dale Cooper's boss).

I know this show may not be for everyone, but at least give the two hour pilot a try. If you like it you'll love the entire show. It is a show that is greater than the sum of its parts.  Twin Peaks had turned out to be one of my favorite TV shows of all time.

To give you a peek at the quirkiness of Twin Peaks take a gander at this video.  
How did they keep a straight face?  Always be on the lookout for llamas.




To give you taste of this show, below is a scene early in Special Agent Dale Cooper's unorthodox investigation of the murder of Laura Palmer.

Visit Twin Peaks for an Odd, Quirky and Fun Time Visit Twin Peaks for an Odd, Quirky and Fun Time Visit Twin Peaks for an Odd, Quirky and Fun Time Visit Twin Peaks for an Odd, Quirky and Fun Time

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
27
Well-Organized
22
Post a Comment
December 12, 2011
This was a good review about small town life and times.
 
June 09, 2010
There were so many memorable moments from this series. Who could forget that other great (future) FBI agent David Ducovny showing up in drag?
 
March 22, 2010
I did a pilgrimage to North Bend and in '97, when I lived in Seattle - saw some great sites: the bridge, the sherrif's station, the diner. will send a link to pictures soon
March 23, 2010
I've heard of people visiting those real sites and of Twin Peaks fan conventions with tours. It would be neat to see them. I look forward to seeing those pictures. Thanks.
 
March 22, 2010
Caught this in the weekly featureds! I don't think I've ever even heard of this show before, but you've peaked my interest enough to Netflix it. I watched those two youtube clips and I love crime shows and quirkiness! I also love Kyle MacLachlan (he's great in Desperate Housewives). Thanks for the heads up on this, Clay!
March 23, 2010
Cool. I've got someone else to try the show. I hope you like it. It's a show like no other. If you like Kyle MacLachlan going in I think you'll get a real kick out of this show. You're welcome.
 
March 20, 2010
Good review; I remember this but didn't watch too much of it. You should add this review to Screen Gems!
March 20, 2010
Thanks. I did add this review to the Screen Gems Community.
March 20, 2010
Thanks for that!
 
1
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Ranked #50
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Twin Peaks was a television serial drama created by David Lynch and Mark Frost. The series follows the investigation, headed by Special Agent Dale Cooper (Kyle MacLachlan), of the brutal murder of a popular and respected teenager and homecoming queen, Laura Palmer (Sheryl Lee). Twin Peaks's pilot episode was first broadcast on April 8, 1990 on the ABC Network, which led to another seven episodes being produced, and a second season, which aired until June 10, 1991. The show was set in a small fictional Washington town of the same name, and was primarily filmed in Snoqualmie and North Bend.

Twin Peaks became one of 1990's top-rated shows, a critical success both nationally and internationally. Reflecting its devoted cult fan base, the series became a part of popular culture, referenced in other television shows, commercials, comic books, a video game, films and song lyrics. Declining viewer ratings in the long-running second season led to a cancellation. In 1992, the series spawned a prequel; the film Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me, which attempted to connect the events leading up to Laura Palmer's death.

The show begins with Special Agent Dale Cooper of the FBI arriving in the small town of Twin Peaks, WA, to investigate the murder of a popular high school girl named Laura Palmer. What he doesn't know is, in town of Twin Peaks, no one is innocent. The series proved to be more than just an engaging soap opera or juicy murder mystery after the loyal audiences waited to find out ...
view wiki

Details

Genre: Mystery & Suspense
Starring: Kyle MacLachlan

Polls with this tv show

The best shows on T.V.

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists