|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Tv Shows » Reviews » Yo Gabba Gabba! » User review

Yo Gabba Gabba

A children's television show.

< read all 9 reviews

Don't Miss This Toddler TV Treat

  • Apr 24, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
After hearing an inordinate amount of buzz about this show from moms & dads in every parenting circle imaginable (hipsters, midwest traditionals, uber-moms, etc) - I finally checked it out.  I'd been really trying to get my kid to be one of those cool adults you meet who wasn't allowed to watch any TV and hence is this amazingly well-rounded intellectual type.  Yeah, well sometimes you're willing to negotiate a bit in order to grab a shower. 

On the flip side, we really do try to minimize the amount of commercialized inane children's programing that we're subjected to -- and luckily, my daughter has a strikingly low interest in TV overall. The exceptions?  Yo Gabba Gabba and Seasame Street (which stands the test of time perfectly, and I find to be quite genious and remarkably educational - but I guess that's a seperate review) are about her only shows of interest.  Oh, and Hip Hop Harry - lest we not forget that gem (not kidding, it's another great, original take on the genre).  But I digress.

From the toddler perspective, Yo Gabba Gabba hits the mark on every level.  It's age appropriate, engaging, original, paced perfectly for their attention span, and highly educational.  It incorporates and encourages physical movement and dance as well.  My daughter even learned how to beat box -- but that's another story.  There are several segments of the show, which thread together a simplistic theme of each episode - such as Happy, Friends, or Move.  Also, each episode features a few incredibly catchy - and appropriately basic - songs that feature an important moral or lesson.  Can't really argue with "Don't Bite Your Friends," can you now? 

From the parent perspective, it's a strange trip.  In fact, you question your own sobriety for the first several episodes, which feel like you ARE in fact altered.  Nope, you've just entered Gabbaland ; )  The frequent guest spots of relevant and timely celebs from sports and music are a refreshing point of interest for moms & dads.  Also, the low budget quirkiness gives the show a nice touch that I somehow associate with Electric Company, as a child of the 70's.  And you just have to love the characters.  In general, I like the concept of making "monsters" a friendly idea for kids (a la Seasame Street) - and this bunch are another great take on that approach.  They have phoenetically easy to pronounce names, again great for the age range of the audience.  And they have relatable personalities for the kids to engage with.

Overall, if you have to be in earshot of todder TV -- this is the way to go.  I defy you to take one look at DJ Lance Ross and keep a straight face.

Yo Gabba Gabba

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
April 24, 2009
Well done. Its strange how much I get a kick out of this show.
April 25, 2009
thx! agreed - it's just warped enough to be fun for kids & parents alike ; ) I forgot to mention the random video game vignettes in my review - are those not bizarrely funny?
 
April 24, 2009
i'm going to start Tivo'ing this so i've got some loaded up when i have kids visiting... this show is classic. @Butter made me watch the entire Jack Black episode... hilarious.
 
1
More Yo Gabba Gabba! reviews
Quick Tip by . September 28, 2010
They have the best songs! and Tony Hawk guest starred
review by . September 25, 2010
My 8 month old girl and I love it.  The dancey dance guests are always cool and BIzz's Beats featuring Biz Markie is rad. I heard its produced by the Aquabats!  super rad!
review by . April 06, 2009
Yo Gabba Gabba
For new parents out there, I highly recomend giving this show a try.  Don't get me wrong... it takes a lot to get used to.  In fact, the first couple of times I watched it, I was appalled that my wife was letting our son's little mind be exposed to such peculariarness ... the show features a weird DJ guy in a bright orange suit who owns a boom box that's filled with mascot-like monsters.  These monsters live in "Gabbaland", a semi-psychadelic fantasy land, where they dance and sing …
Quick Tip by . August 24, 2010
The episode New Friends featuring Jack Black is hilarious!!
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
My 2 and 4 year old love it! So I am speaking for them.
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
This show is so bizarre! My girls and I really appreciate it, however, from a pop-culture standpoint. It's so colorful, unusual, and kooky. The characters look like something out of Ikea, and the antics like something from a Japanese game show.
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
Those things are scary.
Quick Tip by . November 12, 2009
I have no reason to tune in to kiddie shows, but I hear that @murs might be making an appearance, i gotta check it out!
About the reviewer
Melissa ()
Ranked #73
Really loyal, a little more lippy than I'd wish, love love love the beach and all things tropical, sneeze freakishly loud, love the F word, came of age in the Midwest during the 80's, get a lot … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
lyssachttr
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Yo Gabba Gabba is a children's television show.  The show features a human host, named DJ Lance Rock, and six costumed characters - Muno, Foofa, Brobee, Toodee, and Plex.   The show consists of a variety of skits using the characters and animation, including many musical numbers.  In addition, stars make guest appearnaces.  Some previous guest stars include:  Mya, Elijah Woods, Tony Hawk, and Jack Black.

DJ Lance Rock starts the fun each show with the magic words "Yo Gabba Gabba!" Five friendly monsters, Muno, Brobee, Foofa, Toodee and Plex, encourage kids to sing and dance along with the preschool series. Part animated and part live action, "Yo Gabba Gabba!" mixes cartoons and magical ideas into the musical episodes.
view wiki

Tags

Tv Shows, Television, Tv, Childrens, Kids, Children, Nick Jr, Childrens Television Program, Noggin, Childrens Tv Show, Childrens Show, Childrens Television Series, Childrens Entertainment

Details

Premiere Date: August 20, 2007
Genre: Childrens Television Program

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists